<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: dahJahPawtTwo</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">: if you take a picture anywhere the gps location pops up on the map </div></div>
Den de 3 black SUV surroun yuh </div></div>
<span style="font-size: 17pt">"Big Bredda" is watching!</span>
The iPhone is a nice thing still but Apple needs to recall them, until that happens mi lose a lot of respect for them. The iPhone customers saved this company and now they are being ignored.
Wasn't I just saying that someone at Apple needs to face the music over the iPhone 4's "death grip" fiasco?
Come Friday morning at 10 a.m. Pacific, the top brass at Apple — including, I would hope, Jobs himself — will step up to the microphone in the hopes of putting the "death grip" saga to rest.
Like many corporate giants before it, Apple is now finding itself on the hot seat for stonewalling when it comes to a pretty obvious defect in its highest-profile product.
If the scale of it all — it's just a phone, not an environmentally disastrous oil spill or a life-threatening auto defect — seems utterly ridiculous to you, well, you're not alone.
Something tells me that Steve Jobs & Co. feel surprised and indignant about being at the center of this particular controversy, which they'd hoped to explain away with a tale about a faulty signal meter and a simple software update. (The coming update, by the way, reportedly does nothing to improve the iPhone's reception, although it makes the reception bars look a little taller and prettier.)
Ridiculous or not, though, the brouhaha is real and growing bigger by the day. Here's what I'm expecting and/or hoping to hear Friday.
1. A detailed explanation for the iPhone's reception problems
The iPhone's "death grip" problems (which seem to strike when the iPhone 4 is held near the lower left corner, especially with the hand touching a tiny gap in the iPhone's steel antenna band) have been well documented by Consumer Reports and other reviewers and publications. So far, though, Apple has acknowledged only that "almost any mobile phone" will lose some reception when held "in certain ways." I'm expecting Apple to go into far more detail about how the iPhone 4's external antenna works, along with hard data to either prove or refute the claim that reception degrades when the new iPhone is held the "wrong" way.
2. A spirited defense of the iPhone's external antenna design
Don't expect Steve Jobs or anyone else to throw the iPhone 4's stainless-steel antenna band under the bus. Even if Apple admits to some signal loss when the iPhone is held, uh, incorrectly, I'm sure Jobs and/or his lieutenants will insist that overall, the iPhone 4 boasts better wireless reception than any previous iPhone. They're a proud, stubborn bunch in Cupertino, and they're not going to diss their latest iPhone openly.
3. An admission that the coming software update won't fix the 'death grip'
Apple never said that its promised firmware update for the iPhone 4 (which could arrive as early as Thursday) would improve the iPhone 4's reception, but it sure gave the impression that the update (which will supposedly fix the iPhone's "totally wrong" formula for calculating the number of reception bars to display) would at least make the perception of the "death grip" go away. Bloggers, however, have already demonstrated that they can replicate the death grip even after installing a beta version of iPhone firmware 4.1. Regardless, Apple execs will probably go into more detail about what the new update does — and doesn't — do.
4. Free Bumpers for everyone
All along, experts and even Apple itself have said that using a case—like Apple's $29 Bumper cases — would cure the iPhone's "death grip" woes. Many have called for Apple to just hand out Bumpers with every iPhone 4 purchase, and I'd be floored if Jobs & Co. didn't announce plans to do so starting Friday.
5. An extension for iPhone 4 returns and/or support
Here's another easy way for Apple to assuage would-be iPhone customers spooked by the "death grip" drama: extend the window for returns from 30 days to ... I dunno, two months? Three would be generous. And they should emphasize that there won't be any questions or restocking fee. Another option would be to extend the iPhone's limited warranty from a year to, say, 18 months, but I doubt Apple will go that far.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.