Originally posted by mountaingal
2011 Jamaica Bucket List
This is a sticky topic.
Next trip to Jamaica should be a heritage trip... visit places like Bushy Park aqueduct, Colbeck Castle and the Taino museum out by White Marl... there's another Taino museum, located in St Mary... visited there a long time ago. Anyone has ever been to the mineral spa in Rockfort? Is it still in operation? Rockfort itself has a very interesting history. We have many historical places of interest, curious whether the govt are preserving some of these historical places.
Originally posted by SandiF View PostNext trip to Jamaica should be a heritage trip... visit places like Bushy Park aqueduct, Colbeck Castle and the Taino museum out by White Marl... there's another Taino museum, located in St Mary... visited there a long time ago. Anyone has ever been to the mineral spa in Rockfort? Is it still in operation? Rockfort itself has a very interesting history. We have many historical places of interest, curious whether the govt are preserving some of these historical places.
i havent seen anything taino related in jamaica - i'll put that on my list. thanks, Sandi
I have been to Portland but like to stay a full week at least in Portland..
Would like to explore more of the eastern parishesIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
I went here a couple times back in the 80's ...did not even know he name of the place
its the headwaters of the rio bueno in st ann
Dornock River Head Rising, St. Ann
its you turn up towards clarke's town from discovery bayWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
By far, Portland is my favourite parish... A few times driving from St Andrew to Portland, instead of heading into the general direction towards Annotto Bay, we went... I think north-east onto smaller road then head straight east. We were in some of the most beautiful areas... naturally it was all in the Blue Mountain range areas... ended up on dead end roads which locals told us "nutten nuh down dey so ... a dead end man, yu fi turn back" lol! Somehow we got into Moores Town. I'll have to dig up the pictures but that day mi sey man, Jamaica a really God bless country... the nature scenery was out of the world. If there is a heaven, mi feel sey it was right in that area. I could do that trip again.. we were lost but I was navigating and making notes.
Originally posted by kia027 View PostI have been to Portland but like to stay a full week at least in Portland..
Would like to explore more of the eastern parishes
that look like a Cotton tree... if I'm not mistaken
Originally posted by RichD View PostI went here a couple times back in the 80's ...did not even know he name of the place
its the headwaters of the rio bueno in st ann
Dornock River Head Rising, St. Ann
its you turn up towards clarke's town from discovery bay
Originally posted by SandiF View PostBy far, Portland is my favourite parish... A few times driving from St Andrew to Portland, instead of heading into the general direction towards Annotto Bay, we went... I think north-east onto smaller road then head straight east. We were in some of the most beautiful areas... naturally it was all in the Blue Mountain range areas... ended up on dead end roads which locals told us "nutten nuh down dey so ... a dead end man, yu fi turn back" lol! Somehow we got into Moores Town. I'll have to dig up the pictures but that day mi sey man, Jamaica a really God bless country... the nature scenery was out of the world. If there is a heaven, mi feel sey it was right in that area. I could do that trip again.. we were lost but I was navigating and making notes.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....