I want to buy a cell phone for my father-in-law but I want to be sure that it will work in JA. I am not going to activate any monthly plan or anything I am just buying the phone alone. Which phones will work in JA?
buying a phone in US for JA
Re: buying a phone in US for JA
You cannot buy one from the dedicated service providers. YOu need an "unlocked" one. Queen B got hers over the internet. However, I had mine "unlocked" to use in Ja. and it didn't work. SO I would hate for you to go to the expense and then run up against that. Seems I remember Queen B having reception problems from time to time. I advocate buying them IN Ja for use IN Ja. Works better for me that way.
right ... I have been tossing the phone thing around for years now ...
first stop pon my next reach ... the Digicel Store ...
Starrie ... I agree - after holding out for this long ... and questioning and "Googleing" ... the best plan it to just buy one on the Island.
too risky to try to buy "unlocked" ~ "re-furbished" and then hope for the best.
What Marilyn said! I bought mine so cheap it wasn't worth any hassle to go through to try to convert my own. It was only around 25.00 or something for the phone and a sim card with some minutes. Not sure you will find the best deal online. There used to be a Digicell booth right at the airport but the phones were much cheaper in Negril at the Digicell store across from the Sunshine Plaza.
As far as digicell vs c&w, I have found that digicell has better coverage in remote areas. But...things may have changed since I have been there.
Get an unlocked quad band phone if your FIL uses Digicel. If it's C&W, it'll work with Tri-band.
If you're buying thru a a carrier (TMobile, VZW, AT&T) then u will need tohave them send you the unlock code. You can also purchase unlock codes over the net. Or u can just buy an unlocked tri or quad ban phone on ebay.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: StarGirl</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I want to buy a cell phone for my father-in-law but I want to be sure that it will work in JA. I am not going to activate any monthly plan or anything I am just buying the phone alone. Which phones will work in JA? </div></div>
Which samsung do you have?
Is it tri or quad band?
All the triband phones I've had NEVER worked on digicel, but always on C&W.
I bought a quad band phone last week. Called Tmobile, they sent me the unlock code. I slipped my digicel chip in an voila. It works [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img]
Samsung Quadband A437.
I was chatting phones with Jaith on her pre-trip visit. She uses T-mobile ... they gave her the instructions to "unlock" over the phone when she explained what she wanted - yada yada.
I called AT&T ... I explained the same senerio as her ... I was told because AT&T now offers "international plans" ... they would NOT give me the "unlock code" ... so - I am fiddling round within my service plan web page ... and - I stumble pon a page of instructions to ..
"Unblock SIM Card" .... a PUK Code: ...... it is an 8 digit code ~
do you suppose THIS IS WHAT I NEED????
oh yes ..... also - I was googling for a Digicel SIM card on line ... I found one ...
I took my phone apart ... and the SIM card I have looks IDENTICAL to the one offered .... same sort of "mapping" on the back of the card - etc. ~
yes, u need the unlock/subsidy code. Mine was an 8 digit # as well.
I usually tell Tmobile that I do a lot of traveling so I need my phone to be unlocked so I can use other chips when I am out the country instead a racking up high LD rates.
Friends will call me from ja an say they just got a phone from merca/UK an need it to be unlocked and I do it. I've unlocked phones all over the world [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] an tmobile nuh question mi yet [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/notworthy.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Laurel</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Samsung Quadband A437.
I was chatting phones with Jaith on her pre-trip visit. She uses T-mobile ... they gave her the instructions to "unlock" over the phone when she explained what she wanted - yada yada.
I called AT&T ... I explained the same senerio as her ... I was told because AT&T now offers "international plans" ... they would NOT give me the "unlock code" ... so - I am fiddling round within my service plan web page ... and - I stumble pon a page of instructions to ..
"Unblock SIM Card" .... a PUK Code: ...... it is an 8 digit code ~
do you suppose THIS IS WHAT I NEED???? </div></div>
I unlocked my T Mobile as well, and not ONE phone call went through.
OK ... I am one step closer!!!
I called again - said the same thing that Bizi said ... and I was offered a positive response!!
the lady told me I had to fax in a written request, along with proof of purchase copy within 48 hours .... and I would get the instructions e-mailed to me ...
hmmmm I use my check card Visa for EVERY purchase .... and I usually do not keep reciepts ... but - I can track the purchase off my statement..
DANG ... I can not find the purchase on my Visa checkcard statements on line - cuz they only go back so far as November 13 .... and I probably made the purchase on November 8 ~
came back from lunch ... and in my e-mail box were the instructions and the code ....
YeeHaa!!! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/yahoo.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/yahoo.gif[/img]
BUT - I only get 5 tries till it LOCKS UP PERMANENT BY AT & T.
and I could not seem to get it right ...
so - I called ... this next man told me I had to insert the new SIM card chip and then enter the codes and pin numbers ....
so - if it does not work ... I will just buy a phone ...
NUFF messing about!!! BUT - I want to try ~~ [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/proud_jamaica.gif[/img]
YES!! That is important. U HAVE to put in the digicel card first then it wil ask for subsidy code an u enter the 8 digit #.
Don't try to unlock it with ur ATT sim card in it [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/eek.gif[/img]
Don't forget, cell companies dont make any money if you don't buy a plan so the cost for an "unlockable" phone may be pretty expensive. A friend of a friend traveling to the US from Ja bought a razor phone (AT&T) last year and got it unlocked, but the price of the phone was almost $300.00. He said it should be cheaper here in the states. With everyone carrying Razors, I assumed there must be a cheaper outlet to buy the phones.