I normally don't write out a whole desiderata but this time I will make an exception 
My flight arrived in Mo Bay 15 minutes ahead of schedule. Immigration and customs was breeze and I made it through the departure door with my 4 luggages, which did not include laptop, camera, and back pack. My husband does not believe in traveling lightly, even when he is not on the trip with me. But I could not resist not taking down essential things as clothes, boots, tins of cashew, bags of raisins, and tins of poppy cock for my relatives and friends, bags of flash lights and all kind of oddities as gifts. It was my second time breezing through MBJ Intl Airport for the month of December and it felt exhilirating to be back in Jamaica, again.
As usual, once as I'm out the departure door, this one taxi guy always recognises me. "Yes my girl. You back again. Welcome home. Wey yu husband dey? Him nah travel wid yu dis time? Be safe on yu trip." I swear I do not know this guy but he *always* without failure recognise me and never fail to hail me up. You know, Jamaicans never fail to not recognise a face, so it's always important to say "whappen dey papa", even when you don't know the person. Took me a while to adjust my eyes to Libby! Bless that woman. She had my car all ready and waiting for me. The little Betsy, a real trooper who never fails me..... I'll tell you more on that later. But I was now on my own and had a long drive into Portland.
I made sure I went over my items... digicel phone... check. All luggages packed away... check. Car doors locked.... check. JA$ handy... check. I made my first call to my aunt in Portland to let her know I landed and will be at her home the following day. Then called my friend Sharon who lives in Boscobel to let her know I was on my way. I decided to stay with her for the night instead of driving all the way into Portland. Once as I hit the road, I felt like I had not left Jamaica at all! I was back into the groove of driving on the roads, passing motorists and I eventually got stopped outside of Duncans, Trelawny for speeding. LOL!! Damn! I had left my US driver's license at home and my JA license was expired!! The officer came over and looked at me. I took out the car papers, thankfully everthing is current and handed it to him. He perused the documents, didn't even ask me for my license and handed the papers to me. His only words "Ms Sandra... drive carefully and welcome home." I flashed him my best smile and was on my way this time being careful to not getting stopped. I expected some traffic check point in the Ocho Rios area and I was right... and I got stopped again. Damn, if I keep speeding, I may end up with a ticket or two. Somehow the police in Jamaica go easy on female drivers. It was the same routine traffic stop and with a warning to go easy on the gas pedal and welcome home. This time, I definitely obeyed all the rules of the road and stayed within the speed limit. I was in Ocho Rios in less than an hour and a half and made my way up to Sharon's house way up on a big hill... road bad nuh heck but I found my way. I kept noticing that the car made an odd clunking noise each time I had to negotiate a left turn.........
I was too hyped up and hungry to rest. Sharon house was as comfortable as ever and the water was damn cold. I swear you could've heard me screaming a mile away once as that cold water hit my skin. Yikes! Country life and I loved it. We managed to climb on top of her flat concrete roof to catch up and watch the ocean view from the distance. Of course, both of us being dreadfully afraid of polly and croaking lizards made our way back down by nightfall. Since I was starving and she had not cooked, we head out on the street for food. That night in Boscobel with Sharon was relaxing and it felt so good to be home. I had time to call my husband and let him know I made it, called up the cousins and aunts and my girlfriend in Kingston and gave them my eta. That night, I slept like a log.
By daylight the next day, I was back on the road on the way to Portland.....
pics are coming....

My flight arrived in Mo Bay 15 minutes ahead of schedule. Immigration and customs was breeze and I made it through the departure door with my 4 luggages, which did not include laptop, camera, and back pack. My husband does not believe in traveling lightly, even when he is not on the trip with me. But I could not resist not taking down essential things as clothes, boots, tins of cashew, bags of raisins, and tins of poppy cock for my relatives and friends, bags of flash lights and all kind of oddities as gifts. It was my second time breezing through MBJ Intl Airport for the month of December and it felt exhilirating to be back in Jamaica, again.
As usual, once as I'm out the departure door, this one taxi guy always recognises me. "Yes my girl. You back again. Welcome home. Wey yu husband dey? Him nah travel wid yu dis time? Be safe on yu trip." I swear I do not know this guy but he *always* without failure recognise me and never fail to hail me up. You know, Jamaicans never fail to not recognise a face, so it's always important to say "whappen dey papa", even when you don't know the person. Took me a while to adjust my eyes to Libby! Bless that woman. She had my car all ready and waiting for me. The little Betsy, a real trooper who never fails me..... I'll tell you more on that later. But I was now on my own and had a long drive into Portland.
I made sure I went over my items... digicel phone... check. All luggages packed away... check. Car doors locked.... check. JA$ handy... check. I made my first call to my aunt in Portland to let her know I landed and will be at her home the following day. Then called my friend Sharon who lives in Boscobel to let her know I was on my way. I decided to stay with her for the night instead of driving all the way into Portland. Once as I hit the road, I felt like I had not left Jamaica at all! I was back into the groove of driving on the roads, passing motorists and I eventually got stopped outside of Duncans, Trelawny for speeding. LOL!! Damn! I had left my US driver's license at home and my JA license was expired!! The officer came over and looked at me. I took out the car papers, thankfully everthing is current and handed it to him. He perused the documents, didn't even ask me for my license and handed the papers to me. His only words "Ms Sandra... drive carefully and welcome home." I flashed him my best smile and was on my way this time being careful to not getting stopped. I expected some traffic check point in the Ocho Rios area and I was right... and I got stopped again. Damn, if I keep speeding, I may end up with a ticket or two. Somehow the police in Jamaica go easy on female drivers. It was the same routine traffic stop and with a warning to go easy on the gas pedal and welcome home. This time, I definitely obeyed all the rules of the road and stayed within the speed limit. I was in Ocho Rios in less than an hour and a half and made my way up to Sharon's house way up on a big hill... road bad nuh heck but I found my way. I kept noticing that the car made an odd clunking noise each time I had to negotiate a left turn.........
I was too hyped up and hungry to rest. Sharon house was as comfortable as ever and the water was damn cold. I swear you could've heard me screaming a mile away once as that cold water hit my skin. Yikes! Country life and I loved it. We managed to climb on top of her flat concrete roof to catch up and watch the ocean view from the distance. Of course, both of us being dreadfully afraid of polly and croaking lizards made our way back down by nightfall. Since I was starving and she had not cooked, we head out on the street for food. That night in Boscobel with Sharon was relaxing and it felt so good to be home. I had time to call my husband and let him know I made it, called up the cousins and aunts and my girlfriend in Kingston and gave them my eta. That night, I slept like a log.
By daylight the next day, I was back on the road on the way to Portland.....
pics are coming....