Planning a Trip to Spain
Re: Planning a Trip to Spain
It is the bit to the North West Spain.... All great dictators come from there.. Franco, Fidel.... the North West Spain.. Where Spanish people go on Holiday
Major town is La Coruna..... Home of Deportivo... It is extremely green and it is part the Celtic Fringe.. Until I was ten I thought that bag pipes were a Gallego instrument....
thanks Wahalla.
I dont know how far north I will get. Again, it depends on my budget since there are so many cool places to see.
Now that Marielle and Geneva mentioned Morocco, it does seem smart to fit in a bit of Africa since I will be so close
Someone else had recommended Portugal as well. Too many decisions
Truthfully, my original trip idea was to eat and cycle my way thru Italy and Southern France
As you can see that has changed a bit 
Marielle, you have given some great idea already. Thanks so much
I did find a map last night that shows the high-speed train routes thru the region as well. Since I will be travelling alone, I dont think long road trips would be the best solution. Shorter routes should be fine though.
I found out that it is over 1,100km to drive from Barcelona to Jerez, so it might make more sense to fly into Madrid like you suggested and do the Seville to Jerez route instead.
1,100km is really no big deal driving wise here in Canada
but I am sure Spain doesnt have paved, double twinned roads all the way thru like we do. So that would be a slower and possibly more bumpy ride!
Hello Nylah,
It is a wonderful idea to visit the Andalucía region during mid fall.
The weather is perfect at this time of year.
I think that you are on the right track by staying in Jerez de la Frontera
You are being given some very interesting and valuable information
on this thread. Give me a couple days to dig up some more details for you.
I was born, raised, educated and love my paradise birthplace of Jamaica.
Now I live in another paradise called Spain.
Here are some pictures of Cuenca. The small city outside of Madrid where I now live.
Automatically change your Windows desktop background and Mac wallpaper from a curated 5,000+ HD & 4K library. A real upgrade from Windows Slideshow and Windows Spotlight. Free trial; works on Windows 10/11 and macOS.
We are only a short 90 minute distance from the capital, Madrid.
You are welcome to come to our “fairy tale city”, where you
will eat the best meals that the Spanish cuisine has to offer.
Here is the link to a show in Jerez that is well worth the time to enjoy.
In my humble opinion it is the best attraction in Spain.
Way above all the museums, monuments and cathedrals that all tourists visit.
ROYAL ANDALUSIAN SCHOOL OF EQUESTRIAN ART.
Staying in an apartment will be much more economical
and when you make friends with the owners then you will
learn even more about the culture and the Flamenco dancing.
Renting a car can be fun and allows you freedom of movement.
However, the public transport system here is fantastic.
Also, you will meet, talk and interact with a lot
more people by using the train and bus system.
Please PM me if you need more info.
See less and enjoy more is my motto when visiting Spain.
Here is my story for today.
THE ROSES.
As my particular story unfolds you will all see why this title is so appropriate.
When we wake up each morning no one knows
in which direction our destiny will guide us.
That morning I walked out the house and headed
towards the local stationary store about ten minutes away.
Upon entering the store I made the usual greeting
to the owner and everyone in general.
This is a typical custom in the Spanish culture.
It may sound simple but if you do not make this
gesture then you are regarded as uncultured.
My ears soon picked up the sound of an American accent.
My eyes locked onto two foreigners trying
to ask the proprietor for a Mont Black pen set.
LLadró porcelain figurines or Mont Blanc pens are
the most popular items that most tourists ask for.
I smiled to myself and quietly offered to help as a translator.
I know the owner well and these two
visitors did look decent and respectable.
If I could do both parties a small favour maybe
someone else would do one for me later on in life.
This is my philosophy and hopefully the world will become
a better place if we all contribute something positive.
After the pen set purchase was finalized, Doug had the
facial expression of a young boy with a brand new toy.
His eyes were bright and gleaming and
his lovely wife Amy was so happy for him.
The conversation led to other topics and I soon realized
that they were a real nice couple that was recently married.
I offered to show them where we lived and to join us for coffee.
My wife felt most comfortable in their company so we decided to
show them our tiny fairy tale city of Cuenca in the hills of Spain.
We were all enjoying ourselves so much that time flew by
and they explained to us that it was time for them to
check out of the hotel and carry on with their journey.
This was a pity as we had considered inviting them
to a tiny restaurant on the outskirts of the city.
A place where tourists never get to, unless they are lost.
They disappeared inside the walls of the huge monastery
which had been converted into a five star hotel.
There are about 300 of these Paradores throughout the entire country.
Each one more beautiful than the other. No two are alike.
We waited outside as we wanted to guide them in the
right direction towards their next destination of Barcelona.
We were so pleasantly surprised when we saw these
two bright beaming smiling faces staring out at us.
No luggage and holding hands like young kids in love.
They confessed that they were also having a great time
and had decided to take us up on the offer to stay
another night and see what destiny had in store for them.
Most tourists love to come to Spain and insist on dining
at some place that is listed in the Michelin guide book.
Big mistake.
Look for the local citizens and find out where
the small family owned cook shops are located.
You cannot go wrong. They are the best ones.
Doug and Amy are witnesses to this fact.
We shared fillet mignon and slices of fresh salmon.
Both with a special sauce created by our friend the chef.
Once again the time went by so fast.
We chatted and walked to places that maybe
they would have never discovered by themselves.
Before long it was time for dinner.
We introduced them to the Spanish style of doing this.
Walking from bar to bar. Bar hopping.
No, we are not winos but just love to enjoy this Spanish custom.
At each bar we were given a beer or a
shot of wine together with a small aperitif.
This is now called a Tapa.
Here you pay for the drink and the tapa is free.
Any bar that does not offer you this
free tapa would be out of business in a week.
However, there are some bars that serve
specialty tapas and these are usually rare items.
The last stop for the evening was one of these places.
Doug tasted all the tapas and enjoyed every one.
One in particular was especially good and we did
not have the heart to confess the contents to him.
The night ended at about one a.m.
and both my wife and I were sorry
to say goodbye to this couple.
A week went by and we did not hear from them at all.
We began to worry that they had gotten lost again
and never reached their destination
Especially after they had eaten and enjoyed
the sheep’s young and tender testicles.
A most unique and delicious tapa.
To our great relief a courier appeared one day with a note
and a small package containing eighteen red roses.
Thank you for showing us how ‘to stop and smell the roses’
Our brief time with you was the highlight of our trip to Spain.
Since that time, they have had three children
one dog, moved house four times
and we still keep in touch with our friends “The Roses”…..
But are happy that we can still keep in touch
although our distances are so far apart.
I gave this story a title as this is the warm and friendly
nickname that my wife and I gave to our friends Doug and Amy.
Besides, it does sound better than “sheep’s testicles”. LOL
I just woke up from a much needed nap to find this
The story you posted is wonderful and is the kind of experience I am looking for. I had a few friends say dont bother with Spain because it is too "touristy" now but that isnt the experience I am looking for.
My love for all things flamenco means I want a more honest and authentic experience while there. I met a wonderful Spanish woman at a Flamenco Festival in Toronto last year, and she is who inspired me to stay in apartment and stay off the beaten path to explore her beloved Spain! She gave me the courage to travel myself to the region and explore it on my own.
Now, I am hooked.
I will definitely PM very soon with some questions.
Thanks
<span style="font-weight: bold">I gave this story a title as this is the warm and friendly
nickname that my wife and I gave to our friends Doug and Amy.
Besides, it does sound better than “sheep’s testicles”. LOL
thank you for the chuckle and the smile
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nylah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
in mid-fall.
I have narrowed down the area fo interest to southern Spain: Jerez, Granada, Vejer etc. The furthest north I plan to venture is perhaps Barcelona.
I want to stay away from all the tourist areas. So, if those of you that have been to Spain, please to come with your suggestions and ideas
is how mi juss seeing this
Spain...mi LOOOOOOOVVVVVVEEEE that country fi real.

so much so that I lived there for almost 2 years.
sigh....i miss it so bad sometimes.
dont know what you are into, but Madrid is cool, especially if you are into art.
I lived in Cadiz (a beach town...
come on now, give me a break
) and Seville.
Cadiz is a poor town with high unemployment, but really cool people.
Seville is a college/university town.
6 months from now is summer. Understand that Southern Spain heat aint NO JOKE fi real.

Mi kinna get on OK wid summer months, but some of the time the heat even overtook me.
But I learned how to work a hand fan though

Some of the best food on the planet, I've had in Spain. If you can check out the wineries while in the south.
As for Northern Spain, took a few day trips to Barcelona. I didnt care too much for the city. Plus the folks spoke this weird mix of Sprench
Oh and they always talked about succeeding from Spain and forming their own country.
Anyhow...you need one guide? mi services are available for a very nominal fee of....ummm...room inna you luggage. mi promise fi small up miself so mi can fit.
ILP, you are too funny
I had no idea you lived there for awhile either! That is very cool.
I know my limits and I cannot take the heat, so that is why I specifically choose the fall
So you didnt care for Barcelona? I really will rethink my choice between Barcelona and Madrid then. Madrid seems to be preferred. I cant be artsy when I am ready
so that is what will motivate my preference.
I am going for the flamenco, food, gardens, art history and pretty scenery. That is all I want
Jerez de la Frontera is only 20 mins from Cadiz (according to google) so I am just in the middle of planning a day trip right now
As for room in my luggage, you and Kurlie can battle that out
Wow, Curtis......
another Jamaica man in spain.......!!
I have a Jamaican friend living in Ibiza.
Oh and by the by, the spanish roads are very good nowadays - no more donkey tracks
(well, not the coast road on Costa del Sol......awful).
But there is a high speed highway (with toll) from Malaga airport to the south (of Estepona).
I'll take it, but you owe me naught