So the child was on Spring Break and we decided to head to Malaysia, just so we could all see someplace new.
When we went to Sri Lanka last year (oops mi just remember that mi nuh post that trip report yet
) we were sorry that we didn't stay an extra 2 days so this time we booked for the entire week.
We really just wanted to rest and relax and decided that Langkawi seemed to offer more of that than anywhere else (based on internet descriptions and reviews).
The plan was to leave Friday night at 11:55 from Mumbai have a stopover in Kuala Lumpur and get to Langkawi at 9:25 Saturday morning.
Well things didn't quite work out that way. We arrived at the airport at the prescribed time.. stood in the looooong line - only to be told when we get to the counter that the flight has been cancelled due to technical difficulties and we won;t be able to fly out until midday Saturday.
We try to get on another flight but to no avail - it's late and all the flights are booked etc. - they offer to send us to a hotel room for the night but we refuse - we live in Mumbai so a hotel room is useless we would rather go back home.
We now try to find out if we will get our connection the next day into Langkawi - at this point we are concerned about paying for a day we won;t be able to utilize and also losing our reservation entirely. We are told by the Malaysia Airlines representative that we DEFINITELY will connect with a flight leaving KL at 8:30 the following night for Langkawi
We are also told that they will give us an upgrade for the return journey.
So back home we go and fall into our beds at around 2 AM or so...
When we went to Sri Lanka last year (oops mi just remember that mi nuh post that trip report yet

We really just wanted to rest and relax and decided that Langkawi seemed to offer more of that than anywhere else (based on internet descriptions and reviews).
The plan was to leave Friday night at 11:55 from Mumbai have a stopover in Kuala Lumpur and get to Langkawi at 9:25 Saturday morning.
Well things didn't quite work out that way. We arrived at the airport at the prescribed time.. stood in the looooong line - only to be told when we get to the counter that the flight has been cancelled due to technical difficulties and we won;t be able to fly out until midday Saturday.
We try to get on another flight but to no avail - it's late and all the flights are booked etc. - they offer to send us to a hotel room for the night but we refuse - we live in Mumbai so a hotel room is useless we would rather go back home.
We now try to find out if we will get our connection the next day into Langkawi - at this point we are concerned about paying for a day we won;t be able to utilize and also losing our reservation entirely. We are told by the Malaysia Airlines representative that we DEFINITELY will connect with a flight leaving KL at 8:30 the following night for Langkawi
We are also told that they will give us an upgrade for the return journey.
So back home we go and fall into our beds at around 2 AM or so...