Thanks for done-ing although as my counterpart stated it was rather abrupt but di picture dem nice and mek me want to visit Malaysia, dem should pay you for the free advertising!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: seemiyah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Thanks for done-ing although as my counterpart stated it was rather abrupt but di picture dem nice and mek me want to visit Malaysia, dem should pay you for the free advertising!
Hey Jazz, I am only on page 2 and I am sitting here cracking up. Love your way with words.
"Dine with puss" and Mr. looking for rackstone to fling at them, the visual is killing me with laughter, I know you did not find it funny at all, I am laughing at how insane that the puss was in the restaurant to begin with.
I am waiting for my late breakfast/lunch to come out the oven. I hope there is no more nastiness about puss eating from plate and jumping on the table.
Also love your trip reports! I really need to check out this section more often.
like sisterctry - just joined the ride too!
on yahoo's list of 10 countries where retirees live large, Malaysia is 3:
<span style="font-weight: bold">Malaysia</span>
The country's My Second Home retirement benefits program for all foreigners is a great draw, but so is the quality Internet access, cellphone coverage and roads. It also helps that it's dirt cheap. A sea-view apartment with a pool and gym on Penang Island goes for $1,000 a month, and big-budget movies usually premiere here, are shown in English and go for about $4. Oh, and there's plenty of English being spoken as well.
Wow! Found this again and no coincidence - I haven't been on here in ages - cos tomorrow I'm flying to KL on.... Malaysian Airlines
Will be on Langkawi for Easter
3 nights in a B&B/hostel type place - great reviews on Tripadvisor - for the grand total of 26 Euro!
I've heard good reports about MA. Just didn't want to spend 19 hours at Dubai airport stopover on the way back with Emirates....
Will also be in KL (couple days, mainly for transitting), Malacca, Tioman (even more exotic than Langkawi and no tourists, just a few backpackers) and hopefully the Cameron Highlands.
Wow! Found this again and no coincidence - I haven't been on here in ages - cos tomorrow I'm flying to KL on.... Malaysian Airlines
Will be on Langkawi for Easter
3 nights in a B&B/hostel type place - great reviews on Tripadvisor - for the grand total of 26 Euro!
I've heard good reports about MA. Just didn't want to spend 19 hours at Dubai airport stopover on the way back with Emirates....
Will also be in KL (couple days, mainly for transitting), Malacca, Tioman (even more exotic than Langkawi and no tourists, just a few backpackers) and hopefully the Cameron Highlands.
WOW Marielle - that sounds fantastic!!! I pray your experience will be the polar opposite of mine with Malaysian airlines
You have to come and give us your trip report... we only went to Langkawi.
Oh my goodness, just seen this again. I forget about Ja.com cos I'm hardly ever here...;-(
Yes, did go to Malaysia, did fly M.A. - no problems at all - and had a fantastic time! What a country! Beautiful nature, friendly people (who don't hussle for anything), great food, really cheap (2 euros for a huge plate of food). The food is Malay, Chinese, Indian and Baba Nonya, which is the mixed-culture of Chinese merchants marrying Malay women since the 1400's, when they first arrived.
Loved Langkawi, the only drawback is there is no public transport, it's all taxis.
Loved KL, what a buzz. Lots to do and went up to the top of the Petronas Twin Towers.
It's great for shopping too. Central market, KLCC shopping mall (in the Twin Towers) - even had lunch with Pimms in Harrods dahling!!
Loved the bird and butterfly parks too. And little India.
There's a great Reggae Bar in KL, in Chinatown. Very relaxed and lovely people working there - uniform: Bob Marley t-shirts.
Tioman was amazing. Just jungle down the mountain to the beach with a few huts to stay in. (and a few beach bars for at night). It was bliss.
Malaka was amazing, huge China Town, night market every weekend night, amazing food, lovely temples and some great museums. My friend had been before and knew the people running the Jazz cafe. We had some good times there.
Our hostel was fabulous. Two roof gardens and a lovely young couple running it.
Just spotted this. Yes it's an old thread but it is the first I am seeing it and I am dying to go to Langkawi.
When I was in KL last, I met a British photo-journalist from National Geographic I believe it was. We ran into each other almost every day in the lounge and had some great talks. The night before I left KL, he told me he was going to Langkawi in advance of some work there. He goes in selects the locations for the shoots and has a team of photographers who work with him. He invited me to postpone my trip back to Canada and spend the weekend with him. As I am not the whorish, baggy dropping type, I turned him down. Guess I will have to get there on my ow dime when I can afford to pay for it miself.
Thank you for sharing this. It's a good reminder that I had better save. It's supposed to be absolutely glorious but expensive. Any tips for stretching the budget?
I really want to go to Tioman too. I have been to KL, Genting, Cameron Highlands, Kuching, Melaka, and Penang. Loved all of them but especially Kuching and Cameron Highlands. I believe Wahalla has been to some of these places too.
I have never sensed any tension in Malaysia and I am always with local people when I go there.
There are huge tensions in Malaysia......
Dont get me wrong I like Malaysia....But it is a nation with racial, ancestral and ethnic tension at its heart.... if u are a Bumi u are at the top pf the pile.. They do hide it well... but people of Hindu and chinese there are huge issues....
I was trying to recruit trainees and u do not have access to the best candidates......
I have never observed it and I have been there almost 20 times. I have been in multi-racial groups and everyone seemed to get along. I see far more diversity in the executive suite than I do in Canada for example. I guess it is all relative and it depends on what one is comparing it to.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.