Hello everyone, nice to be here. Love this website! I've joined so that I can get some advice from the JA experts. I visited Jamaica (from the UK) about five years ago and had a great time. I'm visiting again this October and would welcome any advice on places to visit. I was mainly Kingston, Blue Mountains and North East Coast last time. This time me and a couple of mates want to see the West and the South. I'm not really into the big resort holidays - I'd rather be somewhere quiet and laid-back. In particular, I'd like to visit Accompong. One of your contributors has posted lots of information on Accompong, Cockpit and the Maroons on here but hasn't posted anything lately from what I can see. Will probably have own trasnsport but could do with a guide / somewhere to stay. Any ideas?
Accompong
Re: Accompong
I live about a mile west of Accompong, where I'm completing a campground/guesthouse.
For info re Accompong, check cockpitrepublic.com, a new site being developed with the help of the current U.S. Peace Corps worker.
Feel free to contact me if you want more info.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: tony k</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I live about a mile west of Accompong, where I'm completing a campground/guesthouse.
For info re Accompong, check cockpitrepublic.com, a new site being developed with the help of the current U.S. Peace Corps worker.
Feel free to contact me if you want more info. </div></div>
Using US peace Corps worker to helo in creating a camp ground in Jamaica is a bad idea.
Jamaicans will behave like it don't matter to them, but you are making bad vibes. Jamaica has been involved in th ePeace Corps since it's inception,and they are very wary, when they are doing social work ,much less developing a business.
I just hope that this is not true.
Ur smack the support for division in th ecountty with this <span style="font-size: 14pt">Cockpit republoc </span>
Like they did with Korea,Vietnam, panama,Dominivan Repiblic,and we could name many others.
these are country that their creation was the act of the US. this is the same modus operandi used to create these break away instiogating division of people so important to the US involvement in the world?.
Doc yu know why mi like read yu stuff.. yu spell as bad as mi!!!!
And yu so cynical... Yankees are always needed.. imagine Jamaicans thinking they can develop themselves.. such arrogance.. Such uppity natives... Yu remeber dat time dem yankee come help wi ??? And wi riot at Vernnham feild ???? How dare wi question the reasons for yankee behaviour and dreams....
I always think of Johhny Clegg and Savuka Broken English....
Yep old Johnny was a white man playing at being Zulu but he got the sentiment right....
dr. dud, My campground has nothing to do with the peace corps or any other arm of the us government other than the irs which wants my money!
I've leased 4 acres from the Accompong Maroon council for 30 years. it is a closed end lease, and everything i've built goes back to the council to do as they see fit when I'm gone. I came to Jamaica almost 4 year ago to get away from bushland.
The peace corps guy is HELPING local people with the website, have you checked it out?---him nuh start it--zeen--come check we out, see wagwan.
respect, tony k
First came the traders, then the missionaries then the slave traders then the conquerorers then the colonisers.....
A pattern as old as history..... A mixed metaphor for the development of the matrix.. There were Greeks leasing properties in Troy after all.....
Beware of Greeks bearing gifts need to be tempered for the pattern of development of us natives.....We are capable of our own perspective rather than a simple mimic of the liberal yankee who comes to be our saviours.