Anyone out there who attended Oberling High during the mid to late 60's?
Oberlin High School
Re: Oberlin High School
I was a boarding student. Did you know Miss B who had a 'likkle' shop down the road by the girls boarding dept? She used to sell the best sprat and bread. When Miss G went to bed at night some of girls would steal out of the dorm, go down to Miss B shop and buy bread and sprat (usually on a Friday night). Then we would go back to the dorm and have a feast without makin too much noise. Lot of fun!
i go there weneva i go to Ja..up to LT dat is..i knew the Pinnocks, the Reynolds,Lattibudieres,Ximines,Hutchinson,Sims,Clo ugh,Harrisons, Robertsons, Prendergasts, u name dem, mi know of di fambily an know some veddy well...
it has grown but has changed....not small country village any more...at one time lots of crooks from Kgn took to hiding up in the hills...even made it in the news wid shootings etc
but the HS Oberlin, u would not recognise it...Richmond Nelson who was an early graduate became the Head Master after Rev Wellborn...he was also elected head of the Worldwide Council of Churches...anyhow he used his clout and influence plus the connection with the Disciples of Christ church and i believe the mother college here in the States who first founded r funded the HS , and he got massive building projects done...the compound stretches from the original school over to the boarding school and all that land in between....
the school is doing well both academically an in the sports realm too...u would be proud of ur ole HS..fi real...I believe a Miss James is still the Head Mistress..she took over from Mr Nelson...
u know that the Hawthornes who have dat bakery up in the Mount Charles area , above the HS going uppppp the hills close to Border, they r the same who own that patty franchise bizniz in the US...he has funded his old school very well also...
yeah man, nuff tings gwane up dere...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: rosebush</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
What year were you in Lawrence Tavern? I haven't been back for many years. I probably would not recongize it now.<span style="font-weight: bold"> by the way do you know any of the Pinnocks?</span>
i meant to ask before but forgot...would that be the lady who was a longgggggg time post mistress up dere...there r many Pinnocks yes, but i was wondering if it was her set u remembered?
I am excited beyond measure! All the info yu gi mi mek mi feel like I was back at OHS. I went to school with all the Robertsons, some Cloughs, some Pinnocks, lattibeaudere and others. I left OHS in 1967 But I have relatives from Deeside in St Mary and Luna(lots of family) but that's not where I grew up. I wish that someone would choose to organize a reunion. I have completely lost touch with all my school mates. All this travelling has its disadvantages. I have been away for so long ,I dont even remember the names of some of the places.