im new to jamaicans.com and I have questions but i cant find answers anywhere else. I was wondering how to say free your mind in the jamaican language.
free your mind
Re: free your mind
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: WannaBaRasta</div><div class="ubbcode-body">im new to jamaicans.com and I have questions but i cant find answers anywhere else. I was wondering how to say free your mind in the jamaican language. </div></div>Free yu mine
welcome to the board wandaberasta
The national language of jamaica is english. Therefore we would say free your mind the same way - the only difference is that our accent is different, than say, the british, americans, and other english speaking countries.If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">welcome to the board wandaberasta
The national language of jamaica is english. Therefore we would say free your mind the same way - the only difference is that our accent is different, than say, the british, americans, and other english speaking countries. </div></div>
she's lying. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bexbad.gif[/img]
it's actually: "YUSH!!"
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: pug05201</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Kia, I have been reading here for a while. You are not speaking english or spanish or american. You are speaking Jamaican.
Take my word for it. </div></div> When I go to maine and they refer to [d]doah yaad [/b] instead of 'garage', I did not think it was another language. i justthought u=it was a local addition toi th elanguage. If we don't speak english you seem to be very skilled at our language. The introduction of a few words and the mispronounciation of others does not make a language.
doah yahd....is not the garage.
it's just the yard adjacent to your door...it's the same as the front yard...or the back yard....don't ask me why we call it the doah yahd...we just do. ayuh...that means yes.
just clarifying for the non"english" speakers.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: loops</div><div class="ubbcode-body">doah yahd....is not the garage.
it's just the yard adjacent to your door...it's the same as the front yard...or the back yard....don't ask me why we call it the doah yahd...we just do. ayuh...that means yes.
just clarifying for the non"english" speakers. </div></div> Thanks for claryfing ...And I thought I understood 'Maineglish' i mean egckush with a Maine accent.!! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70392-silly.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: runninrebel</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Hey,wuts up everyone,....... im concidering a trip to JAMAICA this summer probably in the mountain reigon (NW?).....anyways, im looking for an "up close and personal" experience. are there locals to stay with?.....also whats the word on the "herb"...? </div></div>The "herb" is illegal in Jamaica same as it is in your country....unless is Amsterdam yu deh
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: TanyaZeen</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: runninrebel</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Hey,wuts up everyone,....... im concidering a trip to JAMAICA this summer probably in the mountain reigon (NW?).....anyways, im looking for an "up close and personal" experience. are there locals to stay with?.....also whats the word on the "herb"...? </div></div>The "herb" is illegal in Jamaica same as it is in your country....unless is Amsterdam yu deh </div></div>
Welcome to Jamaicans.com runninrebel. Is which herb you asking about? Di one wi use fi washout?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Compray</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Di one wi use fi washout? </div></div>
Senna is readily available, inexpensive, even free if you ketch the wild one and very effective in removing fecal effluent from one' system. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
Compray, yu dah man. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/notworthy.gif[/img]
(((Compray and Sue))))
Thanks for the laugh..needed it today.... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/notworthy.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/notworthy.gif[/img]
[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70458-applaud.gif[/img]
hello, I am a white male in his late 20's from Houston Tx., and I am planning to visit Jamaica this summer, I am looking foward to relaxing with locals and enjoying the finest of the ......shhh..anyways I have been readin some locals can be pretty agressive with visitors especially white ones..I have also heard of occasional roadblocks where your stronglly encouraged to share your money ...and potentially any point along the way if you slow down especially entering Negril...how true is all this, I dont believe everything I read so this is a good place to be exposed to different perspectives....thanks