Originally posted by Peasie
Sunday School Memory
I have 2 memories of Sunday school. I good and one bad.
Bad - We had Sunday school in the afternoon at 4:00pm. It was the exact time that Sunday Matinee on JBC was on. I missed many Sunday mantinees
Good - There were only Sunday school teachers around so we had a little bit more freedom. Also enjoyed the walk with my brother going to the church.Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
tanya, did you grow in country in a community where nuff people didnt have tv (like i did)? i often wonder if the excessive churching was a a replacement for (or a form of) socializing.Originally posted by diabolical_Tanya View Post
I think UKBlacklady lived my life sunday all day, Sunday evening till 11pm some nights, Wednesday night prayer meeting, Saturday evening choir practice or youth meeting and various goh a sick people yaad fi pray fi dem any evening of the week (or many)
that comment made me think... But i would counter with has the increase electrification and increase in available TVs dampened the enthusiaism for the church in rural parts of Jamaica ? I dont belive it has...Originally posted by mountaingal View Posttanya, did you grow in country in a community where nuff people didnt have tv (like i did)? i often wonder if the excessive churching was a a replacement for (or a form of) socializing.
And i wonder if as there is little opportunity for middle age women to socialise outside the church in rural Jamaica....so they go for the company of multiple women....
Rum bars are not the remit of women of godly character... even the most righteous man will stop at a rum bar for a beer and companionship on occasion....socially it is frown on for women in my experience....
U know i should have commented on this before.. Walking home at round 1 pm toward Santa from Gilnock that could be considered cruelty... Santa was described by a teacher of mine as Hells Kitchen... ichurch was about the same distance from home as school was - just over two miles each way - but going to school morning and evening never exposed you to sunhot the way the travel from church did. also the road to gilnoch lacked tree cover under which to rest and shelter.Last edited by Wahalla; 03-14-2014, 01:04 PM.
Dwon look suh surprise, mi noh discriminate. Mi was also an Alter-Boy in another life. Mi attend church ah God, Pentecostal, an Catholic, hav even stuck mi head inna Jewish, an Muslim edifices, plus ah few oddas denominations. Before yuh ask. No, mi was not searching. People invited mi or mi goh wid odda family membas.
By di way, whe di heck yuh mean, "Wha Happen"?
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostWait a second J-Kid? YOU used to go to Sunday School too? What happened?
Last edited by j-kid; 03-12-2014, 12:34 PM.
No memories of Sunday school, but I remember one time we went on a bus outing and as we were travelling back to the building that night the bus driver got blinded by some car lights and ran off the road. It was real scary!
Thankfully no one got seriously hurt.
My Sundays were spent first at Jones Town Gospel Hall and then Torrington Christian Church. My favorite memory was at Torrington Church because all the doors were left wide open and most Sundays the best breeze would blow through the church. Oh yeah, and sometimes going to people howse fi nyam dinna!
I agree with this
Sundays here, now. I am in the house by 1 or 2, and that is it for me. not stepping foot outside fi the rest of the day. so i'ts not country life, but it's quiet.
the hassling and the hackling on a sunday is not me.
after church in JA, it was Sunday dinner around 2 is, and then a quiet rest of the afternoon watching tv or reading or just on the verandah. Supper at 6 or 7.
Originally posted by mountaingal View Postthanks, peasie. what i loved about my childhood was the rhythm of life, and of doing things that everyone else was doing. even today part of me yearns a bit for the total quiet and peace of a country sunday.
Originally posted by Gen View PostI agree with this
Sundays here, now. I am in the house by 1 or 2, and that is it for me. not stepping foot outside fi the rest of the day. so i'ts not country life, but it's quiet.
the hassling and the hackling on a sunday is not me.
after church in JA, it was Sunday dinner around 2 is, and then a quiet rest of the afternoon watching tv or reading or just on the verandah. Supper at 6 or 7.
Oh yes. Sunday dinner was always early and my parents would go to their bedroom for a nap together. Some of us napped in our rooms too. Later all of us would watch Disneyland on JBC and Daddy would make that red herring ting where im trow white run and light it, den add onion, scotch bonnet, and whatever else and wi eat it wid water crackers
Nothing, and I mean NOTHING, in the world can compare to nice Sunday afternoon breeze in KingstonOriginally posted by trhs1979 View PostNo memories of Sunday school, but I remember one time we went on a bus outing and as we were travelling back to the building that night the bus driver got blinded by some car lights and ran off the road. It was real scary!
Thankfully no one got seriously hurt.
My Sundays were spent first at Jones Town Gospel Hall and then Torrington Christian Church. My favorite memory was at Torrington Church because all the doors were left wide open and most Sundays the best breeze would blow through the church. Oh yeah, and sometimes going to people howse fi nyam dinna!
it jogged mine of Summer holidays in Christiana and Sundays at Zorn Moravian Church.