What I did like about the show tho, is that it was different. It wasn't the usual stupid stupid stupid crap - loud mouth tourists, "yah man", cliff diving,"irie", blah blah blah. All those have their place (I suppose) but JA is so much more.
Anthony Bourdain next show bout Jamaica
eat a food for today mentality
when the big man dem a try pay fi dem private jet (a la instagram
and eat food, and a try pay dem gyardener suh him can eat a food, them not really thinking of the future and/or repercussions. them just know seh dem gwine to get PAID.
Originally posted by Yuriatin View PostTrue - but what kills me about the situation in JA, is that it's US, selling it out to people who dont even LIKE us! Giving away our OWN land.
Lame episode!
Other than pointing out that Jamaica and its people are the prime example of exploitation and supporting the ridiculous stereotype that all black Jamaican men do little more than drink and smoke ganga, what was the point of this show?Last edited by My Looh; 11-17-2014, 01:17 AM.
Right on sista ...
Sadly, nothing will change. Will only get worse.
Originally posted by Gen View Posteat a food for today mentality
when the big man dem a try pay fi dem private jet (a la instagram
and eat food, and a try pay dem gyardener suh him can eat a food, them not really thinking of the future and/or repercussions. them just know seh dem gwine to get PAID.
But not going anywhere Gen - I say is enough - u say is enough - but it never stops - it wont.
We're not just letting other nations rape us, we're robbing and killing each OTHER on the rock. We have no respect fi one anedda. Amongst other things.
Originally posted by Gen View Postyes long time this a gwaan, but enough is enough
drastic and radical
measures needed to end this sheggery
the citizens not quite at that point yet.
Originally posted by Yuriatin View PostBut not going anywhere Gen - I say is enough - u say is enough - but it never stops - it wont.
We're not just letting other nations rape us, we're robbing and killing each OTHER on the rock. We have no respect fi one anedda. Amongst other things.
Braddie has worked for Chris for decades. I thought everyone knew that. Who do you think was Executive Producer for a number of the films in which he has acted? He was associate producer or producer on some of those films. This is common knowledge.Originally posted by seemiyah View PostI don't know if he work for him, they said his friend but he is a well known actor
Interesting that the role he played in the Perry Henzell film No Place Like Home filmed in the 1970s but not released until months before Perry Henzell died is exactly what has happened to him in real life. Soh it go. Is there anything wrong with a Jamaican working with high profile organizations like Palm Pictures and Island Outpost?
Last edited by Tropicana; 11-19-2014, 03:51 AM.
Point of the show? The North coast will be wall to wall resorts all the way from Mobay to Port Antonio. It will be a service economy and there won't be much of a role for local people to play other than in low paying jobs.Originally posted by My Looh View PostLame episode!
Other than pointing out that Jamaica and its people are the prime example of exploitation and supporting the ridiculous stereotype that all black Jamaican men do little more than drink and smoke ganga, what was the point of this show?
Ironically, those who do qualify for and manage to get high paying positions will be criticized as sell-outs...can't win.Last edited by Tropicana; 11-19-2014, 03:41 AM.
somewhat disappointing
I am a great fan of Anthony Bourdain, but I was somewhat disappointed in his latest Jamaica episode. The fact that there are vast differences between Jamaica's rich and Jamaica's poor is not new news. The fact that Jamaica is becoming a predominantly service oriented economy driven by Tourism is nothing new, and it is not something that is unique to Jamaica. So apart from some great footage of the actual Jamaican landscape, and a delightful encounter with some local women with fantastic food at a Beach (latter part of show) I cannot really say that I understood or even enjoyed the show. The super rich have always flocked to Jamaica, so the fact that there are some millionaires and billionaires willing to visit and to invest is nothing new. I saw nothing of any consequence in his segment with Mr. Lee Chin, or Chris Blackwell, they are both businessmen who have joined forces with legions of others, both local and foreign who have sought to exploit the full potential of Jamaica's tourist Industry opportunities. Whether we agree with their style or method or motive is immaterial to the fact that their enterprises will bring great wealth to a few, and a handful of jobs to a few others, so in that sense providing employment opportunity must be seen as a positive.
In my view Jamaica's greatest resource are it's people who are truly unique and exceptionally talented, what they need to do is form cooperatives, pool their energies and resources steering clear of the Gov't and try to fund their own projects. Brand Jamaica will sell anywhere, but it must be done by Jamaicans themselves- not their Government or the tiny few who have been running the show thus far.
Not the best show I've ever seen on Jamaica but I thank Tony Bourdain for going there and showing some of the less travelled parts to a larger audience. (oh yes...Carl Bradshaw!- words fail me so I guess I'd better shut up) Again, it's no secret that Jamaica has great beer, and great rum, showing how the rum or beer is made perhaps visiting the D&G plant would have been far more enlightening especially to an audience that has now become quite fond of Red Stripe and Appleton Rum- the scene in the bar was just a waste of airtime, and even Mr. Bourdain himself seemed at times completely lost for words. No problem though.....Mr. Bradshaw, seemed to have a lot to say and didn't mind filling in the blanks!
And Red Stripe is owned by Guiness while WRay is owned by Campari..Originally posted by RevMakky View PostI am a great fan of Anthony Bourdain, but I was somewhat disappointed in his latest Jamaica episode. The fact that there are vast differences between Jamaica's rich and Jamaica's poor is not new news. The fact that Jamaica is becoming a predominantly service oriented economy driven by Tourism is nothing new, and it is not something that is unique to Jamaica. So apart from some great footage of the actual Jamaican landscape, and a delightful encounter with some local women with fantastic food at a Beach (latter part of show) I cannot really say that I understood or even enjoyed the show. The super rich have always flocked to Jamaica, so the fact that there are some millionaires and billionaires willing to visit and to invest is nothing new. I saw nothing of any consequence in his segment with Mr. Lee Chin, or Chris Blackwell, they are both businessmen who have joined forces with legions of others, both local and foreign who have sought to exploit the full potential of Jamaica's tourist Industry opportunities. Whether we agree with their style or method or motive is immaterial to the fact that their enterprises will bring great wealth to a few, and a handful of jobs to a few others, so in that sense providing employment opportunity must be seen as a positive.
In my view Jamaica's greatest resource are it's people who are truly unique and exceptionally talented, what they need to do is form cooperatives, pool their energies and resources steering clear of the Gov't and try to fund their own projects. Brand Jamaica will sell anywhere, but it must be done by Jamaicans themselves- not their Government or the tiny few who have been running the show thus far.
Not the best show I've ever seen on Jamaica but I thank Tony Bourdain for going there and showing some of the less travelled parts to a larger audience. (oh yes...Carl Bradshaw!- words fail me so I guess I'd better shut up) Again, it's no secret that Jamaica has great beer, and great rum, showing how the rum or beer is made perhaps visiting the D&G plant would have been far more enlightening especially to an audience that has now become quite fond of Red Stripe and Appleton Rum- the scene in the bar was just a waste of airtime, and even Mr. Bourdain himself seemed at times completely lost for words. No problem though.....Mr. Bradshaw, seemed to have a lot to say and didn't mind filling in the blanks!
Why do you all get excited by a yanki doing a show about Jamaica ? And then get disappointed when he badly tells you what you already know or should know ??? His audience is not you... if you want to know Jamaica listen / watch Jamaican news not CNN ! you do know that transparency international rate Jamaican press higher than the US press ??????? some things we do very well....
Either I missed that section or I don't know what Lee Chin currently looks like. This is what I think he looks like.Originally posted by RevMakky View PostI saw nothing of any consequence in his segment with Mr. Lee Chin, or Chris Blackwell, they are both businessmen who have joined forces with legions of others, both local and foreign who have sought to exploit the full potential of Jamaica's tourist Industry opportunities.

What did he say. I posted the full video dung soh but I have not had time to watch it.
Here it is again.
Oh please do tell do tell. Do tell.Originally posted by RevMakky View PostNot the best show I've ever seen on Jamaica but I thank Tony Bourdain for going there and showing some of the less travelled parts to a larger audience. (oh yes...Carl Bradshaw!- words fail me so I guess I'd better shut up)
I have never even heard him use the F word in my presence and I have spent some one on one time with him, even taken him shopping. But then I have that impact on people. Even those with the worst potty mouth don't cuss bad wud round me.
So when im did pop out and start fe

I couldn't believe it. Mi was....
Last edited by Tropicana; 11-20-2014, 12:18 PM.