In Bashment, I started a post about Luke Flynn, Errol Flynn's grandson, who is one of the guest Lee-Chin's dinner on the show.
Anthony Bourdain next show bout Jamaica
any news relating to the sale of the beer is going to be widely reported in the business news here in the US and around the world. the sale might have been in the gleaner/rjr as a small couple sentences. I cannot see where they would advertise widely the sale of a brand affilated with jamaica, kinda like air jamaica foolishness.
as a sidebar when peter a teef him nah tell nuhbaddy seh him a teef
disclaimer: my use of the word teef here is in no way related to the 2 sales mentioned above.
bourdain tackles each country from an ANGLE that he chooses, so far no one knows the criteria. from what I have seen it depends on his prior visits to the country, historical yadda yadda yadda etc.
the show on the congo was extremely depressing. if you can find it watch it. Jamaica was light hearted compared to other segments.
Originally posted by RevMakky View PostThanks for enlightening me, I did not know that Red Stripe is owned by Guiness and Wray is now owned by Campari, and it's a sad reflection I guess on the lack of real news emanating from Jamaica as far as the foreign media is concerned. I try to keep up with the news in Jamaica online, and occasionally via the RJR video Feeds. However, the facts you relate just bear witness to the fact that it appears that time and time again Jamaica seems to have sold herself out to the highest bidder. I think my disappointment with the show is that in my opinion the show came across as being being depressing, and perhaps there is a reality in that the many, including myself, do not want to face.
people need to stop focus on Bourdain n listen to wat Chin , Blackwell n Carl Bradshaw said….what they said were the crux of the show n the reason Bourdain concluded that who will be able to live in Paradise….Chin wants his part to be high end…back to the days when the jet setters came…..Blackwell agreed that the island's future was in service tourism….he added that he could foresee hundreds of the developments he was doing….Bradshaw in stifling the one fisherman who took the chance to speak up n speak his mind, Bradshaw if u to believe the translation n of course when u hear his patois remark to the man, people kill people fi tell the truth…..n then he went on along with others to tell the man to not seh wat him was saying in the interview….so who will speak for the people…they cannot speak for themselves because u see how my man controlled the dialogue like him is fisherman himself….i have long said that this was the slippery slope we were on…it is not that i am anti tourism..it is that the formula does not work…we give long term concessions so that the taxes we need to do for the nation, they r not realized….so we r where we are , with the latest announcement that the govt will seek to borrow yet US$1BILLION….n some have the nerve to say that the fact that we can now get credit again, shows some progress…..whoaaaaaaaOriginally posted by Gen View Postany news relating to the sale of the beer is going to be widely reported in the business news here in the US and around the world. the sale might have been in the gleaner/rjr as a small couple sentences. I cannot see where they would advertise widely the sale of a brand affilated with jamaica, kinda like air jamaica foolishness.
as a sidebar when peter a teef him nah tell nuhbaddy seh him a teef
disclaimer: my use of the word teef here is in no way related to the 2 sales mentioned above.
bourdain tackles each country from an ANGLE that he chooses, so far no one knows the criteria. from what I have seen it depends on his prior visits to the country, historical yadda yadda yadda etc.
the show on the congo was extremely depressing. if you can find it watch it. Jamaica was light hearted compared to other segments.
Evan dem just a try shoot the messenger Bourdain and ignore the message.
That Bradshaw guy is a piece a work, felt like I was watching some kinda godfather movie. And the fact that cameras were rolling never even stop him \0/ from gwaan like mafia. him nuh have no behavior whatsover.
As for slimy Blackwell, yuh can just picture him a rub him 2 hand dem together at him grand plan for the coast. only consolation is that him soon meet him maker
agreed, no one is anti tourism, but there has to be a balance and Jamaica nuh seem to know how to do that.
Originally posted by Gen View PostEvan dem just a try shoot the messenger Bourdain and ignore the message.
That Bradshaw guy is a piece a work, felt like I was watching some kinda godfather movie. And the fact that cameras were rolling never even stop him \0/ from gwaan like mafia. him nuh have no behavior whatsover.

Originally posted by Gen View Post
As for slimy Blackwell, yuh can just picture him a rub him 2 hand dem together at him grand plan for the coast. only consolation is that him soon meet him maker
agreed, no one is anti tourism, but there has to be a balance and Jamaica nuh seem to know how to do that.
we could alway get credit.Originally posted by evanovitch View Postwith the latest announcement that the govt will seek to borrow yet US$1BILLION….n some have the nerve to say that the fact that we can now get credit again, shows some progress…..whoaaaaaaa
yuh haffi si the announcement for what it is ..is not dat dem a add $1 Billion to the debt stock. dem need to pay of what is maturing nowWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Who is bourddain ??????Originally posted by evanovitch View Postpeople need to stop focus on Bourdain n listen to wat Chin , Blackwell n Carl Bradshaw said….what they said were the crux of the show n the reason Bourdain concluded that who will be able to live in Paradise….Chin wants his part to be high end…back to the days when the jet setters came…..Blackwell agreed that the island's future was in service tourism….he added that he could foresee hundreds of the developments he was doing….Bradshaw in stifling the one fisherman who took the chance to speak up n speak his mind, Bradshaw if u to believe the translation n of course when u hear his patois remark to the man, people kill people fi tell the truth…..n then he went on along with others to tell the man to not seh wat him was saying in the interview….so who will speak for the people…they cannot speak for themselves because u see how my man controlled the dialogue like him is fisherman himself….i have long said that this was the slippery slope we were on…it is not that i am anti tourism..it is that the formula does not work…we give long term concessions so that the taxes we need to do for the nation, they r not realized….so we r where we are , with the latest announcement that the govt will seek to borrow yet US$1BILLION….n some have the nerve to say that the fact that we can now get credit again, shows some progress…..whoaaaaaaa
I disagree with the mode of development proposed by Blackwell and his cur dog a once famous actor who bullied on video the fisherman...
I liked the entrepreneurs that Jamaicans have, and in their hands i feel confident of our future. This is something i have often repeated when our communists apologists frequented the board... in our initiative i see our future ... not blackwell and chin corportate world....but the fishermen and the cooks man who try a ting ... any one else noted how they sparkled like stars on tape.... Blackwells vision is not one that i share... lines of villas neatly corrupting the enviroment... the coastline managed with bull dozers..But then i am more comfortable in the hills not the coast...
our future is not a facsimile of what is proposed... that will fail. Both Chin and Blackwell are wrong..... what they are proposing is essentially Bahamas or Barbados...That will not work in Jamaica not for at least three generations...
I think we dont need to stop Blackwell and Chin..They are simply wrong and will fail.. Much the same way we had to stop the mode of development proposed by JonCal...
and the fishermen and cooks are our future.....In their over washed " brown from use" clothes .. not the polo players... not the castle builders...
Couple months back there were some bond issues that were not fully subscribed.... from the UK...Originally posted by RichD View Postwe could alway get credit.
yuh haffi si the announcement for what it is ..is not dat dem a add $1 Billion to the debt stock. dem need to pay of what is maturing now
It is simply the interest rate they have to pay....
So how we gwine to pay the interest much less the principal pon dat US$1B....sigh....
anyhoo, memba wat the fisherman said...the proposed project gwine to see them the former residents having to have ID to enter the area....dat is y dem want to buy the road dat lead deh weh children walk go school...so with similar projects as Chris SEH him envision, Jcans gwine need SA fi do bk the favour we did wen we led the fight against apartheid....cause wid dat deh model plus the other high end project fi di whole a Portland , we in chubble....it is not far fetched that Jcans in the future will not be able to go to the beach in an island nation
it wont be apatheid.. the exclusitory wont be skin colour but money... interestingly i see those who would chose to live there from yankidom would see themselves as liberal... conservatives would more likely stay at home!Originally posted by evanovitch View PostSo how we gwine to pay the interest much less the principal pon dat US$1B....sigh....
anyhoo, memba wat the fisherman said...the proposed project gwine to see them the former residents having to have ID to enter the area....dat is y dem want to buy the road dat lead deh weh children walk go school...so with similar projects as Chris SEH him envision, Jcans gwine need SA fi do bk the favour we did wen we led the fight against apartheid....cause wid dat deh model plus the other high end project fi di whole a Portland , we in chubble....it is not far fetched that Jcans in the future will not be able to go to the beach in an island nation
There are those wjo seek to imulate us into a version of their ideal.. destroy our diversity be they muslim, christian, yanki, kamunist... it only occured to me lately how diverse a people we are in terms of how we see the world....Last edited by Wahalla; 11-24-2014, 11:21 AM.
dat is the vicious cycle we in.Originally posted by evanovitch View PostSo how we gwine to pay the interest much less the principal pon dat US$1B....sigh....
all they doing is putting off paying the principal..dem borrow last year ...now dem borrow again to pay off what dem borrow last year ..and next year dem will borrow to pay off what dem borrow this year.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....