Present: Mi deh deh, or mi deh yah.......................Future: Mi ah goh, or Mi wi goh...................Past: Mi did goh deh, or Mi goh deh.....................
Present: Mi deh deh, or mi deh yah
Future: Mi ah goh, or Mi wi goh...................
Past: Mi did goh deh, or Mi goh deh.....................
OKay let me try another verb
Present: Mi nyam, she nyam, im nyam, you nyam, wi nyam , onoo nyam, dem nyam
Future: Mi ah goh nyam
Past: M did nyam
Past Negative: Me nevah did nyam
Present Negative: No noh nyam
Future Negative: Mi naw go nyam, she naw go nyam, im naw go nyam, wi naw go nyam, onoo naw go nyam, dem noaw go nyam
Let us now take a look at some of the grammatical features of Jamaican Patois.
1. SUBJECT-VERB AGREEMENT
Sentences in Jamaican Patois are built like English sentences in that, there is a subject, a predicate (or verb), and an object. However, there is no subject-verb agreement in Jamaican Patois. The verb does not change with the subject. Let us look at the table below.
Mi run
I run
im run
he runs
shi run
she runs
Wi run
We run
Dem run
They run
Unu run
You all run
eyah run
it runs
Yu run
You run
2. Formation of Plurals
One common method of forming plurals in standard English is by adding 's' or; 'es' to the end of a word. (e.g. toy-toys, class- classes etc..)
However, in Jamaican Patois a word can be pluralized by adding 'dem' to the end word or, inserting 'nuff' or a number at the beginning of the word.
Plate dem
Plates
Baby dem
Babies
Pen dem
Pens
Teacha dem
Teachers
Book dem
Books
Nuff banana
Many bananas
Ten bwoy
Ten boys
NOTE: In Jamaican Patois, the letters '-s' or '-es' do not necessarily denote plurality as is shown in the examples below:
Waan shoes
A shoe
Waan drinks
A drink
3. USE OF PRONOUNS
In Jamaican Patois:
There is no differentiation in the use of pronouns to show gender. The pronoun 'im' can mean both or either 'he' or 'she'.
There is no distinction between subject and object.
Female - im frack look gud
Her frock (dress) looks good
Male - im fada gaan
His father is gone
Subject - mi a guh
I am going
Object - come fi mi
Come for me
Denoting a 'person' in Jamaican Patois differs from Standard English in the following ways:
Person Speaking (first person)
‘Mi’ or 'wi’
'I' or 'we'
Person being spoken to (second person)
'yu' or'unu'
'you' or 'you all'
Person being spoken about (third person)
‘im’ or ‘dem’
“he /she” or “them”
There are no possessive pronouns in the Jamaican Patois such as your, her, his, its, ours and theirs, for example:
Fi mi backle
My bottle
Fi yu backle
Your bottle
Fi dem backle
Their bottle
4. USE OF THE COPULA
The copula is a connecting word; for example, in Jamaican Patois the copula is the letter 'a' which is used for the particle as well as for the continuous tense.
For example:
Im a run
He is running
Im a guh fi it
He is going for it
Mi a teacha
I am a teacher
5. USE OF REPETITION/REDUPLICATION
In Jamaican Patois:
Repetition is used for degrees of comparison as well as emphasis; for example, using Jamaican Patois to talk about how big a child has become:
Di bwoy big, eeh!
The boy has grown
Fi real, im big-big!
For real, he is very big
A true! Him get big-big
It is true, he has gotten big
Repetition is also used for emphasis or to increase intensity or number; for example:
A tru tru
It’s true true
It is very true
Yuh mus cum tideh-tideh
You must come today today
It is important that you come today
Some words form by reduplication show character traits, for example:
nyami-nyami
greedy
Chakka-chakka
Untidy
fenkeh-fenkeh
Weak, poor
6. USE OF DOUBLE NEGATIVES
In Standard English it is never acceptable to use double negatives such as 'nobody does not'. However, in• Jamaican Patois double negatives are accepted.
Mi nuh have nun
I don’t have none
I don't have any
Shi don't have nothing
She doesn’t have nothing
She doesn't have anything
Dem don't live dere nuh more
They don’t live there no more
They don't live there any more
Mi nah guh.nuh weh
I am not going no where
I am not going anywhere
Nobady neva see’m
Nobody never saw him
Nobody saw him
Nobady nuh live ova deh
Nobody doesn’t lives over there
Nobody lives over there
7. COMPOUND WORDS
Compound words are commonly used in Jamaican Creole; for example:
Han miggle
Hand middle
The palm (of your hand)
Hiez-ole
Ear hole
The ear or the auditory passage
Bwoy Pickney
Boy Child
A Young boy
Foot battam
Foot bottom
The sole (of your foot)
Nose-ole
Nose hole
Nostril
Yeye-Wata
Eye Water
Tears
Yeye-ball
Eye ball
Eye
8. Tense
Unlike Standard English, in the Jamaican Creole, the verb does not change. Instead a new word is introduced and placed in front of the verb; for example:
Present Tense:
Mi guh
I am going
Di ooman a guh a town
The woman is going to town
Im a cum
He is coming
Mi a cum
I am coming
Past Tense:
Mi did guh
I went
Di ooman did guh a town
The woman went to town
Im did cum
He came
Mi did cum
I came
In Jamaican Creole, past tense is formed by using one of the following three words: 'en', 'ben' and 'did', whereas in Standard English the verb is changed or "e" or "ed" is added ; for example, collect-collected, run-ran, buy-bought, etc…
By now you probably have a basic understanding on the differences between Jamaican Patois and Standard English, for a more detailed guide, you can check out our how to speak Jamaican Patois series.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.