Dont mess with the science bizness....
interview with an Obeah man
bomohs
Originally posted by Wahalla View Post

Great to see some Jamaican scenery from that vantage point..
I have question..a
Has anyone ever seen a rich obeaman...in Jamaica
In Asia, they are rich....and you can't tell...by just looking.
Really...
I met one here once, very friendly genial well dressed, well spoken fellow.
I used to see him on Fridays...
We used to speak for about ten minutes at a time
We became very close and once he told me he liked the distinctive manner in which I dressed.
So I told him I was changing my wardrobe and had a number of the items that he liked still in boxes and if he would accept them, I would gladly let him have them.
He said yes
The next time I saw him I gave them to him
He liked them and wore them and others who saw him figured he got them from my tailor because no one dresses the way I do .
We kept speaking for a long time..
Then I travelled and returned.
I never saw him again
By the time I saw him next it was about a year.
I asked him what was the matter with him and he said he was sick...
I helped him in a chair as he was walking with a cane now.
Then I went elsewhere to deal with other matters
That same evening one local guy came to me and said...
I saw you helping your friend.
I said who?
He said the bomoh...
I said what..
He said the bomoh.
I said who is a bomoh
He used his elbow to point...
I thought it strange...
Normally Asians use their thumb to point...
I thought hmmm
Then I asked someone...
What is a "bomoh" ?
He laughed...
I said what...
He said they are Asian magicians...
I said like tricks
He said no like real magic..
I said black or white
He said there is no white magic
He said why do you ask
I said I think I know one
He said who..
I described this very tall, well dressed, wellspoken man that looked so and so.
His face became pale...as if all the blood was just removed and he sat down.
So I sat down too...
I said what is the matter.
He said.
That is one of the scariest and worst one here.
Cruel and deadly
I sad naw...
Him
He said yes....
I described him again...
He said yes that is him
He asked How did you know him
I said, I met him at this place...
He said was it a Friday.
I said yes
He said did you see him every Friday after that
I said yes why
He said he only appears on a Friday
I said appear!!!
What do you mean appear?
He said show up
I said what are you saying.
He said he does strange things
He will just seem to appear beside you and then just seem to not be there
But no one sees him unless it is Friday
I said there must be a reason
He said of course - but better not take anything from him.
He said did you give him anything or did he give you anything
I said I gave him
The guy said don't take anything from him if he gives you...
I said why
He said, you never know what he is giving you or what will follow you home.
hmmmmm
So the next Friday, you know I had to go to see him...
Yup, true, I never noticed before.
I turned around and there he was, sitting on a chair in same place...but he was not there when I went in
I shook his hand greeted him and I said I never saw you.
He said I saw you come in.
I said yes, where.
He said here.
I was here. he said
I said no, you were not.
He smiled and yes - I will tell you what you did....
I said go ahead
He said you did this and this.
I said correct, but where were you.
He said here
I said where
He said right here
H seemed to be enjoying himself and smiled
Hmmmmmm
I said Ok...
I left and went to get some green tea all the while looking at him and got one for him I never took my eyes off him all the time
When I went back to the chair, no one was there.
I never saw him leave
But there was a small bottle on the chair...
I asked someone if they saw the man who was on the chair.
They asked which chair.
I pointed to the chair.
They said, what kind of question is that
That is where you were.
Only you were there.
I said no...
There was someone else and I described him
Again this other person looked scared and refused to talk and left.
Now I am thinking, who was I talking to and who was this guy...
Everyone I described him to, said leave him, avoid him, don't take anything from him
Two persons even said he was dead years ago...
Oh and the bottle of cologne. that was on the chair
It had disappeared...
I found it in my car later when I drove out...
I eventually threw it in a fountain...
Not threw threw, just accidentally dropped it there.
Of course I did not stop going to the place on Fridays...
I stopped completely for a long while.
The next time I went...I saw him...
He said...you did not like the cologne...

I told him I only used old skool western cologne
He said what are the names
I told him....
I have not been there since...
No I am not scared, far from it.
Let's say I have enough cologne and am not in the mood of accepting colognes from strange men
I am just uncomfortable with this state of affairs.
Everything was OK until I was told the following
He was dead
He came from a long line of bomohs
His father used to do the same thing at the same place.
The clincher came when they asked.
Did you ever notice that even when the place is filled that place is still empty.
You mean you never wonder about it.
I say no.
He said...people don't sit there only you
But we know you too like everyone will soon stop sitting there.
Hmmmm
Like I said I have not been there since and I am not scared.
It is just uncomfortable that others do not see him...
And he can put something in my locked car
And he seems to be there and I don't see him
If I see him again.
I will tell you how it goes down
Last edited by bigabroad; 01-29-2015, 12:42 AM.
Dum Farriners
I missed this in the video first time around.Originally posted by Xavier View PostDWL...here is the video
See the obeah lady cussing an going on bad.
There is a lesson here.
When you go to a country, learn the customs etc, and use a local before you try to deal directly by your farrin
self with locals. Maybe if the witness (read odda client) was not there, this lady may also have warmed to the video light, maybe...
It can kill you.
Usually smart people use a local as the go-between in everything..." Take me to your leader" approach.
These people from Vice just jump braps inna local Jamaica culture and wid obeah pipl at dat.

Pipl don't call the professionals of this august and respectable industry "Obeah man and Woman"
These Vice pipl can only come from one place. They have this entitlement approach.
Hey Ownafidiyawd
Thanx for stopping by man, best of good cheer.
PPS
Unuh notice how the first Obeah run in fi di video light an promote himself....
Jaycan hilarious!
Great point. It did not seem they did any real research (the internet would not help) on the topic. It also seems the Obeahman standing at the side of the street was staged as the drove up...you can see it by the cameraman taping them as they drove up.Originally posted by bigabroad View PostWhen you go to a country, learn the customs etc, and use a local before you try to deal directly by your farrin
self with locals. Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com

Interesting and Incisive..
I did not even think about this.
Originally posted by Xavier View PostIt also seems the Obeahman standing at the side of the street was staged as the drove up...you can see it by the cameraman taping them as they drove up.
After you said that, I looked on the whole thing again. Both parties look like that have foreknowledge of something.
I am thinking only the meetup with obeahwoman was not scripted or expected.
And you are correct too.. Internet would not be very helpful on this at all.

Thanx a lot for that additional heads-up
I certainly missed that, there are lessons in it for me.
boss!