Where does the expression "tun up" come from? Suddenly it's everywhere. I notice young people are using it a LOT.
I assume it has something to do with music.
To me its the new "Gwaan guh do it" or "wheel and cum again"
"Tun up" slang for turn up
Yes it has its roots in music and radio, Young people think music and radio is best enjoyed when its "tun up" (loud)...
So most things can be "tun up" meaning its is good or better
As with most things in music it also has sexual connotations...especially in dance hall
Of course you knew all that already.
See also "Shell down" the new "Mash it up"
The most tricky creole (patois) slang term to define is "Gideon" as its meaning has to do with context and usage.
Have you ever heard that one and do you know its meaning???
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.