Hi Boardites, not sure many of you know this but next month Jamaicans.com will be celebrating 20 years online. We are planning a special video to show at a few locations next month and need your help. If you have a story on how Jamaicans.com impacted you can use your mobile phone and record it and send to me. If the file is too large use google drive or dropbox. I need these stories by November 20th. If you choose to write instead please email me or post it here. Stay tune for details on the planned celebrations. Thanks
Jamaicans.com 20th Celebration - Need Your Videos and Testimonials
This is a sticky topic.
Jamaicans.com 20th Celebration - Need Your Videos and Testimonials
Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.comTags: None
- Stuck
i signed up and shortly after, i found out that the mother of my father-in-law's business partner made PZ's parents wedding cake. I stayed for the company, as I was a SAHM living in the land of guns and peaches far away from my people (well my people are about an hour's drive away but me is a woman that doan love fi drive
I signed up when I moved to the boondocks and lost my Jamaican accent in the interim. Reading the jokes and stories on the site improved my accent greatly and have met lovely people on this site. I have met a few relatives on here as well
Thank you Xavier for reconnecting Jamaicans all over the worldIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Thanks for the testimonials. Would any of you be willing to do it in video. You would send it to me via https://www.wetransfer.com/ to info(at) jamaicans (dotcom)
Let me know.Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
I will be guest today at 7:40 pm on the "Moving Forward" hosted by Irwine Clare on Irie Jam Radio 93.5 FM (New York) or iriejamradio.com. I will be talking about Jamaicans.com celebrating 20 years.Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
Happy Anniversary!!!
I didn't realize how much I missed these dancing purple bananas (or plaintains?) My profile says I joined in 2001 but I think it was way before that. I think I found my way here because I was looking for a patois dictionary. First people I remember of course were Xavier and Marcia and R+ and Grandma and Pepper and QK. A little later I remember Bim and Jah, Wendy, Jazz, Kingy, and many others who would have me DWL. The online bashments were hysterical!
Long time Miss Mention (hey girl)
Whooaaaa.... 20 Years Bawssman!!
Congratulations!!
For many years Jamaicans.com was a HUGE part of my daily life. This is where my online family lives.
So many memories, it's hard to know where to start.
When I first came here, the whole look was different and I was new to the whole forum thing. I originally came here looking after a new friend said... "Jamaicans say Irish girls are rude..." My sister & I were stunned!!I said: When have I ever been rude to you?!?!
He then explained it and I said Oh... well then you're off the hook....
Turned out he was kinda right about that.
I came & read more often and then started posting bits here & there... dis group pon yah nah easy enoh... an ie tek time before mi tun mad juss like di ress a di ppl.
Then came the first Ja.com Bashment in Elizabeth NJ. I had to go and meet my new friends.
So... I sent a PM to JamaicaDreamin, who I knew lived nearby, but we had never met and had only minimal interactions on the board. I told her I was going to the bash & asked her if she wanted to go & share the ride.
She said yes and we've been best buds ever since.
We took our first trip a yaad together in late 2001 and eventually bought a likkle piece of heaven in Treasure Beach and the rest is history.
At that bash we met J.com Royalty in person.
Grandma2 was the first to greet us at the van window!! I will never forget that. Mi good good fren!!
From there it was pure fun & love... QueenB, Jazz, CountryGal, JahLive, Kingy.... the list goes on.
After the party I think it was Jahlive's house we went to for more shenannigans... I think it was Capo88 who was feelin frisky when he asked me "Do you have any black in you?"
And I said "Not right now, but if you play your cards right.... "
He obviously didn't
Then G2, hostess of "The Morning Ride" made the mistake of inviting me to Canada to visit her & her family. I told her be careful what you ask for, but she did anyway.
That was where I met not only her family, but a good portion of the Canadian massive!
ReggaePlus, Mountaingal, HighOctane, YaadieFiLife, Dahjah, Jkid and our beloved administrator... Marcia
Marcia told me she drove all the way out from Mississauga to hear mi chat inna patwa!
I told her I was sorry she wasted the trip cos even doh mi write ie ok, mi cyaan speak none of it less mi soun like a farrina tryin fi chat lakka yaadie. Mi miss her still...
And mi still love mi some G2!!
Then there was the Awesome Bronx bash hosted by CountryGal and then the Florida Bash hosted by di big bawssman himself... Lawd mi ave some amazing memories of all the people I came to know an love, all from dis likkle forum.
Eventually I took on the moderator position for several years. Not always easy, but definitely fun. Respck to mi fellow mods like Pepper & Nanook & Kia an you know who you are.
And mek wi tek a moment fi remembah Sweetsop... Gone but never forgotten.
We had a lot of play time here.... Wendy's writing & humor.... Road trips an court cases an always sintin a gwaan wit dat madooman!!
And then there was "The Morning Ride"
I got up early every weekday, juss fi be deh when G2 open up di shop an serve up coffee an breakfast an start mi day wid a smile!! Lawd mi did sad when di shop lack.
I could go on all day about the years and the memories and mostly the people who I have met in cyberspace and in person who are still part of my life and mean the world to me.
I wish I could still get to all the pictures posted on "MyFamily"... back in the day before we could bombard J.com with photos of bashments & trip reports.
I am still determined to meet meet Tigrrr and Kiwi.And make our dream team trip a yaad a reality!!
I'm pushing 60 years old, I have a lot of memories and the memeories from this place are among the fondest most cherished.
Who knew an online family could mean so much!!
Big shout outs to AAAALLLA di people who did mek dis place what it was, what it is and what it is still to become.
Xavia sah, mi wan say tonks fi gi wi dis place.
Best wishes for many more years of continued success and giving Jamaicans and those who love Jamaica a place to come and meet and share and argue and laugh and even find looooove.
JAMICANS DOT COM TO DI WORL!!
https://youtu.be/Hs43M_Y9vc4
Last edited by QK13; 12-05-2015, 02:24 PM.
where are you
Originally posted by j-kid View PostMi originally signed up strictly fi di laughs (Jamaican style jokes). I needed some stress reliever while at work. Stayed, because I saw where I could positively contribute, and give back to my Jamaican community.
Qk
Originally posted by QK13 View PostWhooaaaa.... 20 Years Bawssman!!
Congratulations!!
For many years Jamaicans.com was a HUGE part of my daily life. This is where my online family lives.
So many memories, it's hard to know where to start.
When I first came here, the whole look was different and I was new to the whole forum thing. I originally came here looking after a new friend said... "Jamaicans say Irish girls are rude..." My sister & I were stunned!!I said: When have I ever been rude to you?!?!
He then explained it and I said Oh... well then you're off the hook....
Turned out he was kinda right about that.
I came & read more often and then started posting bits here & there... dis group pon yah nah easy enoh... an ie tek time before mi tun mad juss like di ress a di ppl.
Then came the first Ja.com Bashment in Elizabeth NJ. I had to go and meet my new friends.
So... I sent a PM to JamaicaDreamin, who I knew lived nearby, but we had never met and had only minimal interactions on the board. I told her I was going to the bash & asked her if she wanted to go & share the ride.
She said yes and we've been best buds ever since.
We took our first trip a yaad together in late 2001 and eventually bought a likkle piece of heaven in Treasure Beach and the rest is history.
At that bash we met J.com Royalty in person.
Grandma2 was the first to greet us at the van window!! I will never forget that. Mi good good fren!!
From there it was pure fun & love... QueenB, Jazz, CountryGal, JahLive, Kingy.... the list goes on.
After the party I think it was Jahlive's house we went to for more shenannigans... I think it was Capo88 who was feelin frisky when he asked me "Do you have any black in you?"
And I said "Not right now, but if you play your cards right.... "
He obviously didn't
Then G2, hostess of "The Morning Ride" made the mistake of inviting me to Canada to visit her & her family. I told her be careful what you ask for, but she did anyway.
That was where I met not only her family, but a good portion of the Canadian massive!
ReggaePlus, Mountaingal, HighOctane, YaadieFiLife, Dahjah, Jkid and our beloved administrator... Marcia
Marcia told me she drove all the way out from Mississauga to hear mi chat inna patwa!
I told her I was sorry she wasted the trip cos even doh mi write ie ok, mi cyaan speak none of it less mi soun like a farrina tryin fi chat lakka yaadie. Mi miss her still...
And mi still love mi some G2!!
Then there was the Awesome Bronx bash hosted by CountryGal and then the Florida Bash hosted by di big bawssman himself... Lawd mi ave some amazing memories of all the people I came to know an love, all from dis likkle forum.
Eventually I took on the moderator position for several years. Not always easy, but definitely fun. Respck to mi fellow mods like Pepper & Nanook & Kia an you know who you are.
And mek wi tek a moment fi remembah Sweetsop... Gone but never forgotten.
We had a lot of play time here.... Wendy's writing & humor.... Road trips an court cases an always sintin a gwaan wit dat madooman!!
And then there was "The Morning Ride"
I got up early every weekday, juss fi be deh when G2 open up di shop an serve up coffee an breakfast an start mi day wid a smile!! Lawd mi did sad when di shop lack.
I could go on all day about the years and the memories and mostly the people who I have met in cyberspace and in person who are still part of my life and mean the world to me.
I wish I could still get to all the pictures posted on "MyFamily"... back in the day before we could bombard J.com with photos of bashments & trip reports.
I am still determined to meet meet Tigrrr and Kiwi.And make our dream team trip a yaad a reality!!
I'm pushing 60 years old, I have a lot of memories and the memeories from this place are among the fondest most cherished.
Who knew an online family could mean so much!!
Big shout outs to AAAALLLA di people who did mek dis place what it was, what it is and what it is still to become.
Xavia sah, mi wan say tonks fi gi wi dis place.
Best wishes for many more years of continued success and giving Jamaicans and those who love Jamaica a place to come and meet and share and argue and laugh and even find looooove.
JAMICANS DOT COM TO DI WORL!!
https://youtu.be/Hs43M_Y9vc4
Yeah babe, mi alright.Travelling quite ah bit, in different regions. Time ah catch up wid mi, but mi still good fi now. By di way, mi e-mail is still di same. How di family doing? Gi mi ah dingle, or drop mi ah line soh wi can ketch up.
Originally posted by grandma2 View PostJkid been looking for you hope you're good