Hi, I'm Daffodil and and I'm new on this forum,
I'm from Italy and I was looking for help with the translation of the song Cheap Thrills by Sia feat Sean Paul.
Here Sean Paul sings in jamaican patois, I've been trying to translate it using this dictionary: http://jamaicanpatwah.com/ but I'm still struggling with a sentence, please jamaican friends help me!
This is the verse I'm talking about:
Me an u girl, u an me
Drop it 2 di floor (he's referring to the booty here, am i right?) an mek mi see your energy because
Mi nah play no hide an seek
Wah fi see di ting u have weh mek me feel week girl (THIS IS THE SENTENCE, my attempt is:
Want to see the thing you have weh (?) make me feel weak girl)
Cause anytime you wine an kotch it (I found out wine and kotch are two forms of dancing)
Di selector pull it up an pull it pon repeat girl
I'm nah touch a dollar in mi pocket
Cause nuttn in this world ain't more dan what you worth
I've problems translating the word "weh", because in the dictionary the traduction is "where" but in a lot of popular expressions like "weh we a go do?" it's translated as "what", and anyway I don't see how either of them could fit in with the meaning... please help me and share your knowledge of this language!
Thank you from Italy!
I'm from Italy and I was looking for help with the translation of the song Cheap Thrills by Sia feat Sean Paul.
Here Sean Paul sings in jamaican patois, I've been trying to translate it using this dictionary: http://jamaicanpatwah.com/ but I'm still struggling with a sentence, please jamaican friends help me!
This is the verse I'm talking about:
Me an u girl, u an me
Drop it 2 di floor (he's referring to the booty here, am i right?) an mek mi see your energy because
Mi nah play no hide an seek
Wah fi see di ting u have weh mek me feel week girl (THIS IS THE SENTENCE, my attempt is:
Want to see the thing you have weh (?) make me feel weak girl)
Cause anytime you wine an kotch it (I found out wine and kotch are two forms of dancing)
Di selector pull it up an pull it pon repeat girl
I'm nah touch a dollar in mi pocket
Cause nuttn in this world ain't more dan what you worth
I've problems translating the word "weh", because in the dictionary the traduction is "where" but in a lot of popular expressions like "weh we a go do?" it's translated as "what", and anyway I don't see how either of them could fit in with the meaning... please help me and share your knowledge of this language!
Thank you from Italy!