<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">This 2010 article suggests that the best careers for the future are in:
as all of those careers are non wealth creating....` </div></div>
Why is it important to create and build wealth? What if that is not what one wants? </div></div>
People have pointed out on here that the buying power has declined as time goes by.. this is the issue of value... and the decline of wealth...It is all dielectical materialism after all...
Wealth as tradability of congealment of labour.... At the moment the west is creating very little.. An economist comment that " we cannot survive by cuttign each others hair".. A case study would be to compare the decline of manufacturing as in real value jobs in Jamaica from the 60's and compare it to the rise in the service jobs in the US and Europe in the last twenty years.. real wealth creation has shifted to China and asia in it in exorable trip westwards...I note that tehre seems few people on here that do any jobs associated with creation of products.. Darjah I beleive is in that..
The right in the US have an interesting comment when taken in isolation.. Goverments dont creat wealth (including local, municipal goverments).. They only service.. yet goverments in Europe and US are growing in terms of proportion of the economy.. contrast that with the emerging economies where wealth is generated.. India, China, Russia, Brazil there is an increase in private sector with lower proportions of people working for the goverment...
The service sectors then service both the privately employed consumer and the public employed consumer.. We are left with a spiral of decline in value...
Doc has mentioned this I beleive in the past...it is basic economics,ie what is the value of western currency is devaluing constantly and this is the battle of the G20...
Reading that I expect that all will react in horror and claim that I am anti-goverment.. Again I give goverments two functions to provide security and infrastructure (including health, roads eduction) ...But the growth of goverment is frighteningly fast in the west.. the wealth creators private sectors are being bleed by the services that goverments provide......Each job a goverments creats eliminates a primary weath creation job, but this is masked by the creation of service jobs to service the needs of the goverment employees after all they need their hair cut as well...So as the wealth creators run west wards ot cnina ect, the tax burden becomes more and more concentrated on the few remainign "real" wealth creator... it is the decline of economies and the Japanese seen it as there economy matures..
Naw the future is farmer, engineers, scientist (not computer scientist), doctors, lawyers and the west is competing with the best that India can produce at half the salary.. But change is a coming....and I postulate that we will see the Indians and chinese recruiting the best from the west in twenty years time... I am getting the occasional call from them...
Not wanting to create wealh is declining leading to declining of life style.. Tehre is an arrogance that the fortunes of the west cannot be elimiated by the basic rules of production, consumption supply and demand...
but unno know mi ah eddiat fram time...mi stupid an uneducated.. We are doomed I tell you doomed!
this is what I have trouble with -- where is the wealth creation in China? Which industry or is it individual wealth? China, yes is growing but I do not necessarily see wealth creation there... perhaps mi need to do more reading...
<span style="font-style: italic">why yu love refer to yourself as an eediat?</span>
look at the increase in amount of air condtion units, increase in meat consumption, increase in amount of cars.. Each time a pin is made and sold by a chinese company weath is being created... Services dilute weath, manufacturing and natural resources create wealth...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">But create wealth for whom? And at what cost to those who are not the owners and operators of the capital?[/size] </div></div>
working for a securities/mining field makes me shake my head sometimes. most of africa is owned by *foreign* entities who can go in and rape all the natural resources. some may say, well it gives the *natives* jobs. but they have no real stake in anything.
i don't really know how all this works, but why do the governments allow such free hand to foreigners? aren't there africans who can mint their own resources?
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.