Going shopping at Constant Spring malls and Half Way Tree in the late hours of the night.
Painting the house, hanging new curtains at the windows, white washing the front gate and walls and trimming you and your neighbours trees at the front.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: WeNdY</div><div class="ubbcode-body">- Di bigges feast of di year wid fry chicken, oxtail, curry goat, roast ham and beef, and rice and gungo peas.
- firecrackers a buss all bout di place (always mek mi hert jump ouuta mi chess )
<ul style="list-style-type: disc">[*]As a young girl listening to RJR report on the arrival of Santa Claus from the North Pole at Palisadoes airport and then having Daddy give out long kissteeth with, "Pere choopidniess dis! Is smaddy dem dress up an fly im from Montego Bay" [*]Mommy experimenting with cornmeal pudding . God bless har, but shi couldn't bake desserts to save har life! [*]One Christmas Mommy roasted a suckling pig. Di ting scared the bejesus out of us! But it was a hit with the adults.[*]Waiting until 12:01 AM to open Christmas presents and acting surprised (some of the presents wi did open, play wid dem, den close dem back up and try re-tape di wrapping). Now that I think of it, I'm sure my parents knew what we were up to ... they just didn't care [/list]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Ms Exced</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
new curtain and spread </div></div>yes yu right...mi still do dat every year
new frock fi xmas Sunday church
going to kgn fi buy presents every year di same ting thank god my parent were so gracious perfume an powda puff set fi mummy an a tie fi daddy.
daddy a cuss because di light dem tangle up an seh how THIS YEAR him going to mek sure dem put away properly soh dis noh happen nex year (this happened every year)
di evalasting house cleaning.
di evalasting mekking of black cake
di eva lasting house cleaning.
drive goh a Kgn fi drop off cake a sorrel to various family (((Granpa))
drive goh a St bess fi drop off cake an sorrel ((Granma))
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Vegas</div><div class="ubbcode-body">and how could i leave out going beach pan boxing day and killing a next goat </div></div>
Yes. Beach on Boxing Day with left over rice and peas, ham, macaroni and cheese And Baby Cham
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> wait deh a no from mi granny a pickney jonkanoo stap gwane....u cyan used dat fi describe xmas in JA nemore Wendy. get wid the program.
Likle girl .. dem still have jonkanoo in a some rural part of Jamaica.
- Mi memba mi granny use to stock up har shop wid Red Label wine and it done by Chrismus morning. People use to come buy flour, shuga, butta, big gil a cokanat aile and one bakkle a Red Label wine
- reggae carols playing throughout the neighborhood.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.