True story
My m-i-l was at her home in FL talking on the phone with ar dawta when she literally saw lightning zig zag through her living room. Needless to say she hung up the phone
I have a fond memory of my brother and I playing on the veranda during a heavy thunderstorm. As a wicked piece a lightening flash, di two a wi mek one big chuck off; like wi a Steve Austin inna some bag of cement that were stacked up in a corner. To this day, any time I see a lightening, I remember that childhood episode and laugh to myself.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Ms Exced</div><div class="ubbcode-body">not to use umbrella </div></div>oh yes. dis one.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SandiF</div><div class="ubbcode-body">As a wicked piece a lightening flash, di two a wi mek one big chuck off; like wi a Steve Austin inna some bag of cement </div></div> @ di two of unno.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">When you were growing up, what did you hear you should or should not do during a lightening storm?
We had to unplug all electrical appliances except the refridgerator </div></div>
God is talking.
Get off the phone or lightening going to come through the phone line and strike you in the ear.
Stop cooking.
Get in the bed.
(My mom still gets in the bed till this day. Oh, and she will also stop in the middle of cooking.)
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SandiF</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Not to be in an open field.
I had not heard it growing up, but there might be some truth to this one.
When I was in school, two students at UNO got struck walking across an open field. I always thought you get struck from the top but it struck a tree and traveled the ground and blew them right out their shoes.
True story. They didn't survive. I still pick my feet up off the floor when there's lightning and thunder.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Ms Exced</div><div class="ubbcode-body">not to use umbrella </div></div>
I only use all plastic umbrellas, but I came up with that one on my own. It just doesn't seem right to be walking around outside holding a metal lighting rod up over my head.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> i guess if you have braces you may need to head inside as well </div></div>
BOAL ... eida dat or mek sure yuh tap kin yuh teet when lightening a strike
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.