Have you ever heard the Jamaican term “...bad like-ah yawz" . Do you know where the term "yawz" comes from and what the word means. Make a guess before clicking on this link.
...bad like-ah yawz (meaning)
Tags: None
Re: ...bad like-ah yawz (meaning)
Badder than yaws mean - bad no hell -- Yaws used to some form of disease on chickens long, long ago when I was a chile. Dem used to ketch the chickens and pick off the yaws I think they bathe the chicken in some sort of mixture of jeyes and lime water. They also used to refer to people with bad foot as having chigga and yaws.
Yuh know yuh stuff...Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
Well I always thought yaws was something like leprosy
that can disfigure facial features??
It was definitely a skin condition that affected a number of Jamaicans in the old days. It was very hard to cure (before anti-biotics) and so if you were bad like yaws you were incorrigible (incurable).
btw mi membah hearing bout fowl yawz tuh
Yes, man...this a old time saying and still used today.
Yaws is a terrible chronic infection that affects the skin and bone which left untreated it spread and becomes worse; hence the term "bad like yaws". I think yaws, today is very much treatable and perhaps easily eradicated.
When we heard the term "bad like yaws", you know sey it badda dan bad. lol!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Xavier</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Have you ever heard the Jamaican term “...bad like-ah yawz" . Do you know where the term "yawz" comes from and what the word means. Make a guess before clicking on this link. </div></div>