Math Brains...solve this one...
True, technically multiplication goes first. There's a reason why I questioned myself though...Originally posted by RichD View Postbut there is rules bout which operation to do first? dont brackets change the order
how the rule go? BODMAS?
I remember! It reminded me vaguely of this problem that I saw somewhere else: 48÷2(9+3) = ?
Originally posted by kia027 View PostBODMAS? I learned PEMDAS
Please Excuse My Dear Aunt Sally
Parentheses, Exponents, Multiplication, Division, Addition, SubtractionIs BOMDAS - multiplication before divisionOriginally posted by RichD View Postsame ting
Brackets Orders Multiplay/divide add subtractIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
hmmmOriginally posted by CeaBee View PostI have another one. that someone posted on FB and I disagreed with her answer. Never want to start nuh fight wid her on her page though
3*(5+8) - 2 squared/4+3
3*(5+8) - 2E2/4+3 -- assumes 2E2/(4 + 3) because no space was between the 4+3
3*(13) - 2E2/4+3 --- Parentheses
3*(13) - 4/4+3 --- Exponent
39 - 4/4+3 -- multiplication
39 - 4/7 -- solve (4+3) -- but this violates pemdas
Ans 38 and 3/7ths
3*(5+8) - 2E2/4+3 -- assumes 2E2/4 with the + 3 not part of the fraction
39 - 4/4 +3 -- multiplication
39 - 1 +3 -- division
39 +2 - addition of (-1+3)
41If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Originally posted by CeaBee View PostI have another one. that someone posted on FB and I disagreed with her answer. Never want to start nuh fight wid her on her page though
3*(5+8) - 2 squared/4+3Mmmm...the problem is poorly stated <grin>Originally posted by kia027 View Posthmmm
3*(5+8) - 2E2/4+3 -- assumes 2E2/(4 + 3) because no space was between the 4+3
39 - 4/4+3 -- multiplication
39 - 4/7 -- solve (4+3) -- but this violates pemdas
3*(5+8) - 2E2/4+3 -- assumes 2E2/4 with the + 3 not part of the fraction
39 - 4/4 +3 -- multiplication
39 - 1 +3 -- division
39 +2 - addition of (-1+3)
Off the top of my head I am going with 35 because for the second half, at face value, 2E2/4 = 1, then + 3 = 4.aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon
even when you use the associative property the answer is still 41Originally posted by Diplomat View PostMmmm...the problem is poorly stated <grin>
Off the top of my head I am going with 35 because for the second half, at face value, 2E2/4 = 1, then + 3 = 4.
it is 39 -1 + 3
38 + 3 = 41
Agreed IF the initial assumption (2E2/4 with the + 3 not part of the fraction) is correct.Originally posted by kia027 View Posteven when you use the associative property the answer is still 41
it is 39 -1 + 3
38 + 3 = 41
aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon