what's your hobby/obsession what's in your basement?
13003182937973000055904.jpg the german lady head one couldn't be passed up, likewiise the tangerine.
I bet you figured out which oneOriginally posted by SamChabs View PostNice, which one is from Botswana

I have resisted many giraffe tchotchkes over the years except these. Clockwise starting with the large spotted one on the left:
1. Carved wood. Botswana. Purchased 27 years ago at Philadelphia Art Museum.
2. Bronze. Purchased at Home Goods store in Florida somewhere.
3. Shaped from a recycled soda can. Malawi (I think?). Purchased at Museum of Natural History, Washington DC.
4. Carved stone. Malawi (I think?). Purchased at Museum of Natural History, Washington DC.
5. Leather. Italy. (I saw a shoemaker making these from scraps in his store in Amalfi and could not resist
6. Wood letter opener. Friend purchased for me in Tanzania.
Last edited by Peasie; 01-20-2013, 04:36 PM.
Love the giraffes.
My hobby (which I don't do often) is photography so nothing is in the basement...it is on the hard drive...Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
Less messier! what i do is when I become overwhelmed, well I lay stuff off on my kids and they won;t know it`s a meis vandeer rohe or an eimes or marcel bbruer chair, they`ll just love it if they look at it and they think it`s cool, without knowiing what it is. and if they want it, it belongs to them because I just keep getting more stuff. that`s the whole fun.Originally posted by Xavier View PostLove the giraffes.
My hobby (which I don't do often) is photography so nothing is in the basement...it is on the hard drive...
the way i shop is in old thrift stores out in small towns. someone empties grandmas`old farm house and lo and below i have a salt cellar which they had before the days of iodized salt.
oh didn't know yuh do furniture as well, I love the flea markets.
eames
Originally posted by Suesumba View PostLess messier! what i do is when I become overwhelmed, well I lay stuff off on my kids and they won;t know it`s a meis vandeer rohe or an eimes or marcel bbruer chair, they`ll just love it if they look at it and they think it`s cool, without knowiing what it is. and if they want it, it belongs to them because I just keep getting more stuff. that`s the whole fun.
the way i shop is in old thrift stores out in small towns. someone empties grandmas`old farm house and lo and below i have a salt cellar which they had before the days of iodized salt.