Po-lice ticket man for riding outside of bike lane
but why not go to court with the video or something showing all the obstruction in that particular bike lane why him wasn't using it...rather than pay the ticket?Originally posted by Peasie View PostHe did the right thing. Pay the ticket first. Then file a complaint.
Hope this goes viral. I'm going to pass it on to my bicycle courier in my family and let him pass on to his worldwide bicycle posse.
Good story
Last edited by CeaBee; 10-07-2013, 08:30 PM.
i went once for a speeding ticket...and got a lighter fine than if i did just pay it.
I assuming that if him have time fi mek video of himself falling over tings, him coulda also find the time to mek a video that directly address why him wasn't using that specific lane and carry it go court.
anyway my work here is done.
:tip hat:
wat yuh seyinn peasieOriginally posted by Peasie View PostHe did the right thing. Pay the ticket first. Then file a complaint.
Hope this goes viral. I'm going to pass it on to my bicycle courier in my family and let him pass on to his worldwide bicycle posse.
Good story
yuh waan da man fe pay da ticket furst ann admit dat imm guiltee den file a complaint. widd dat typa eveedence imm fii present itt to da judge ann moas fair minded judge woo dismiss da ticket
but isn't taking it to court is one of the legal options?Originally posted by Peasie View PostJust something I learned while working ...
Obey first, (legally) grieve later
... I could be wrong *shrug*
if you pay, which is in effect pleading guilty to a summary offence, what recourse do you have after the fact?When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Here is how things would go in my local court:
Citizen: Your Honor, I and I have received a ticket for riding my bicycle outside of the bike lane. I would like the opportunity to explain why I was not in the bike lane at that precise moment in time.Welcome to the County Court
Prosecutor: You have cash to pay the fine?
Citizen: Well, I would like to avoid paying a fine – but the ticket say $50.
Prosecutor: Yes, $50. So how much money you have?
Citizen: Can I take this opportunity to explain about the bike lane?
Prosecutor: How much time to you need to pay the fine? We can continue the case for $25 administration fee.
Citizen: I would like to state that I was unable to ride in the bike lane sake of all kinda obstructions and obstacles languishing in the bike lane. In fact, I have a DVD recording of said bike lane that I would like the court to view.
Prosecutor: Objection! Answer the question please – do you accept the court’s offer to continue for a $25 fee?
Citizen: Well no, I would like to resolve this matter today and with no additional fees.
Prosecutor: Your Honor, the defendant is contemptuous. Prosecution moves to continue this matter for 60 days with the defendant paying all applicable court costs and treating staff to lunch, in addition to the $50 ticket and a victim/witness fee.
Citizen: But there were no victims!
Judge bangs gavel: So ordered! Case continued until December 23rd. And don’t come into my court without the money.