Who remembers shopping at Times Store on King Street? I loved that store when I was a school girl. I seem to remember a Bata shoe store nearby where Daddy would insist on buying those ugly and indestructible Clarks shoes.
I know I am aging myself here.
Last edited by Peasie; 11-14-2013, 12:21 AM.
Reason: Fixed typo
xmas was nice to walk up and down the plaza, and see what kind of trinkets were on sale.
parents only did that with us once. a guess dem couldnt tek the crowd
i remember the Bata store
a juss the other day mi a seh this pickney lucky a nuh the tuff bata shoes dem she haffi wear guh school. back then my school shoes last the whole year, and if mi foot never grow too much, it guh into the next school year as well
Who remembers shopping at Times Store on King Street? I loved that store when I was a school girl. I seem to remember a Bata shoe store nearby where Daddy would insist on buying those ugly and indestructible Clarks shoes.
I know I am aging myself here.
i have heard my elders talk of such a place...they used to come in for the country to shop there. used to have a nice toy selection i hear and some kind of soda fountain
dont remember it but do remember the bata store & shoes... and a later time period .. Used to get the roach stompers tough shoes that if mi neva outgrow could prolly still wear today
For some reason, Daddy felt we were safer in Times Store than on the Plazas. There was only one big department store with one entrance. He gave the door guard (gyaadie) some money to keep an eye on the six of us and to "mek sure di baby stay wid Peasie." Plus half of di sales people knew mi fadda and therefore kept an eye on us.
Once Daddy left, we went straight to the soda fountain and ordered grill cheese and ginger ale - delectable luxuries! Then we split up in groups of two, meet up, change up who to shop with whom (depending on whose Christmas present we were shopping for). We always end up in the books section. I remember the Hans Christian Fairy Tales book mi buy fi mi likkle sisters. As my brother got older, he would buy one-present-for-the-entire-family and spend his money on matchbox cars.
For me, King Street was about one pair of school shoes, khaki and other school apparel at Nathan's, Issa's and Hanna's. Times Store was for books and also for toys if I had my own money. It was also the Santa Claus store.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.