Most people cannot handle walking around with a cloud of gloom and doom over their heads 24/7. On a personal level some of us may manage stress by meditation, exercise, a glass of wine, or a glass of wray and his nephew. On a national level, we Jamaicans will cheer on our countrymen and women that are doing well. It's simplistic (and kind of insulting) to think that the brief moments we take to cheer for Tessanne or Bolt or Shelly or the Bob Sled team, turns us into idiots and makes us forget what is important.
Tessanne-mania is a national embarrassment say columnist #teamtessanne #thevoice
Originally posted by CeaBee View PostMost people cannot handle walking around with a cloud of gloom and doom over their heads 24/7. On a personal level some of us may manage stress by meditation, exercise, a glass of wine, or a glass of wray and his nephew. On a national level, we Jamaicans will cheer on our countrymen and women that are doing well. It's simplistic (and kind of insulting) to think that the brief moments we take to cheer for Tessanne or Bolt or Shelly or the Bob Sled team, turns us into idiots and makes us forget what is important.
Well said, and I'll keep cheering, it also brought duty berry front and center
Originally posted by CeaBee View PostMost people cannot handle walking around with a cloud of gloom and doom over their heads 24/7. On a personal level some of us may manage stress by meditation, exercise, a glass of wine, or a glass of wray and his nephew. On a national level, we Jamaicans will cheer on our countrymen and women that are doing well. It's simplistic (and kind of insulting) to think that the brief moments we take to cheer for Tessanne or Bolt or Shelly or the Bob Sled team, turns us into idiots and makes us forget what is important.
^^
this
In my town there are flags of almost every country because we the furniture capital of the world. The Jamaica flag was one street off Main Street. In week when Tessanne won it moved to the Entrance of Main Street. Might have been planned before, but it was timely.Originally posted by CeaBee View PostMost people cannot handle walking around with a cloud of gloom and doom over their heads 24/7. On a personal level some of us may manage stress by meditation, exercise, a glass of wine, or a glass of wray and his nephew. On a national level, we Jamaicans will cheer on our countrymen and women that are doing well. It's simplistic (and kind of insulting) to think that the brief moments we take to cheer for Tessanne or Bolt or Shelly or the Bob Sled team, turns us into idiots and makes us forget what is important.
We could never pay for the Ad Tessanne's run gave to Jamaica. Still grounded in reality, when she was given the choice of the SUV, she mentioned our bad roads. This writer of the article I have never seen on crime, human rights, bad roads, bad government and/or the price of bread. Suddenly we are now told we should be worrying about Civil Rights and the price of breakfast.
Bad mine an grudgeful, is all it is. Remind I of the so Jamaica Flag wavers here, who appoint themselves super-moderators, don't want to see reality about Jamaica, but never fail to post the worst or say the worst about individuals carrying on their daily lives.
Daughter of late St Lucia PM scores in 'Top Chef' final
Thursday, February 06, 2014 | 8:38 AM
CASTRIES, St Lucia (CMC) -- The St Lucia Tourist Board (SLTB) has extended "heartfelt congratulations" to Nina Compton-Millar, on her proud representation in the final of the popular American reality TV show ‘Top Chef’ on Wednesday.
"Although not emerging Top Chef, Nina’s performance is being celebrated not only by herself and her immediate family, but indeed all of St Lucia and particularly by the hospitality industry.
All the St Lucians in my house were cheering her onOriginally posted by Tuff Gong View PostDaughter of late St Lucia PM scores in 'Top Chef' final
CASTRIES, St Lucia (CMC) -- The St Lucia Tourist Board (SLTB) has extended "heartfelt congratulations" to Nina Compton-Millar, on her proud representation in the final of the popular American reality TV show ‘Top Chef’ on Wednesday.
"Although not emerging Top Chef, Nina’s performance is being celebrated not only by herself and her immediate family, but indeed all of St Lucia and particularly by the hospitality industry.
http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/lates...op-Chef--finalWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Island people represent!Originally posted by Tuff Gong View PostDaughter of late St Lucia PM scores in 'Top Chef' final
http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/lates...op-Chef--final
i agree with the article in so much as the country , per usual, has made too much about it….good ting she was living there already, or we would have forked out for a trip, like di actor from that advertisement…..we r reduced to a nation of the abstract as our reality is sooo brutal….fehOriginally posted by Emperah View PostI agree wid nuff a wah him seh.
I said from de stawt she was goin win and stated mi reasoning pan it.
Highpoint, NC ?? I need to visit one day.
Originally posted by Tuff Gong View PostIn my town there are flags of almost every country because we the furniture capital of the world. The Jamaica flag was one street off Main Street. In week when Tessanne won it moved to the Entrance of Main Street. Might have been planned before, but it was timely.
We could never pay for the Ad Tessanne's run gave to Jamaica. Still grounded in reality, when she was given the choice of the SUV, she mentioned our bad roads. This writer of the article I have never seen on crime, human rights, bad roads, bad government and/or the price of bread. Suddenly we are now told we should be worrying about Civil Rights and the price of breakfast.
Bad mine an grudgeful, is all it is. Remind I of the so Jamaica Flag wavers here, who appoint themselves super-moderators, don't want to see reality about Jamaica, but never fail to post the worst or say the worst about individuals carrying on their daily lives.
whappen, yuh still deh upstate ??