It’s not widely known in the U.S. that several ethnic groups, such as Germans, Italians, Russians and the Irish, were excluded from whiteness and considered non-white as recently as the early 20th century.
During the US Civil War the Irish were taken and forced into the military, unless they had the cash to buy out of such forced induction. Irish by many, were thought as sub-human.
During WW1, towns founded by German immigrants actually had German town names and German street names changed because of German hatred. There is documented reports of Germans hunted down and hanged, just because they were German.
There was plenty of prejudice to go around in the US.
Humans are tribal by nature. They don't like what is different than themselves.
Many whites of German ancestry living in the allied nations anglicized their names in the early 20th century.
ie. ... someone with the last name of Weber (Germanic spelling) would change their name to Webber or Weaver.
In the end however, be they Irish or German, their children and grandchildren would not inherit the inequality of racism for the simple fact that they are white. As unfair as their treatment was it cannot be compared to the treatment of blacks who continue to have to live with the BS that is racism to this very day and beyond.
oyinbo luv pushinn diss argument ann now sum blakk defendinn even iff itt politicallee weaken blakk peeps
Dis makk me laff...You're agenda is always threatened by the truth. History is history. History neither weakens or supports any group. It's simply a past occurrence. Discussing ethnic groups other than blacks that were treated unfairly does not lessen the severity of what happened to blacks.
During the US Civil War the Irish were taken and forced into the military, unless they had the cash to buy out of such forced induction. Irish by many, were thought as sub-human.
During WW1, towns founded by German immigrants actually had German town names and German street names changed because of German hatred. There is documented reports of Germans hunted down and hanged, just because they were German.
There was plenty of prejudice to go around in the US.
Humans are tribal by nature. They don't like what is different than themselves.
and then came the point where they were granted white status and treated equally, something people of color in the US, particularly black people are still fighting to attain
WW2 German prisoners were used as slave labor on US farms. I just read an article in a Md county news paper that has an eye witness (as a child) of such an incident.
doan baddar go deer cah germany practice ann refined dem tortures inn africa pon blakk peeps fore dem used dem pon da jews. plus da jews were cansidared non- oyinbo widd blakk blood
You need to provide a reputable source for such. I'm always open to new information. I could not find anything on this subject. This is why I have trouble believing things that you post. You either make things up, or use tabloid news sources.
Link?
Ok, I found this book...and that's it. Germany's Black Holocaust, 1890-1945: The Untold Truth!
There is nothing on the web on this subject...odd?
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.