Do you agree with the Jamaican Observer calling the Jamaican Bobsledders a "Flop". The headline reads "US skating pair break world record, Jamaican bobsledders flop". They achieved so much just getting back to the competition.
Jamaican Newspaper calls the Jamaican Bobsledders a Flop #jamaicabobsled #jambobsled
Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.comTags: None
Plenty people don't like to say it but yes i think they were a flop..i think the driving was very low quality. sure your sled might not be the fasted and you realistically cannot compete with the big money high tech teams but i think you need to be at the level that you can at least control what you have.
I was disappointed.
i don't have full grasp on the world of bobsledding to know the depth of the competition and have an idea of how many other teams they had to actually beat out to qualify...or if it was just a matter of making a certain time during the season.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
good questionsOriginally posted by CeaBee View PostWhere do they practice? Do they still live in Jamaica? and if so are they able to get enough time to practice (i.e: practice in snow and conditions that are close to what they will encounter at the Olympics)
but nuh mek up any excuses for dem
no manOriginally posted by RichD View Postgood questions
but nuh mek up any excuses for dem
me just saying that while it's good to follow your dream ..they prob also need to be realistic. If them not in a place where them can practice with snow, then the chance of them placing or being on par with other teams is pretty low.
the real floppers here is the paper for calling them that
i don't know the criteria for "qualifying" but if they qualified then they were considered "contenders"
is like one of the guys seh "we are serious contenders"
they had to scramble at the last minute to bring the sled up to par with the rest of the teams, blade problems and all kinda crasses plague them... luggage lost, snowstorm mek them miss the connecting flights to sochi and had to miss practice run on the course
Now that the team is officially at Sochi, Jamaica's tourism board is doing its best to get people pumped for the competition by releasing "The Bobsled Song" — a tune with an amusing and pixelated video meant to be synced up and played alongside the Jamaican team's run.

Dem come lass... Dem flop....Originally posted by Xavier View PostDo you agree with the Jamaican Observer calling the Jamaican Bobsledders a "Flop". The headline reads "US skating pair break world record, Jamaican bobsledders flop". They achieved so much just getting back to the competition.
u can rationalionalise with oh the odds, they are better funded, they have more practice, the machine was late, they over came the odds, but the fact remains they came last....if htey had come second to last tht could be rationalised... it is like a man who hits his wife because she swore at him.... he still hit her... We came last.....the mitigation does not matter...
go revist an interveiw with Dudley Stokes the original driver of the real cool runnings.... He admitted he made a mistake and it was not equipment failure as per the disney documentary...
you can only improve if you acknowledge your short comings.... in sports, in life and in buisness...Last edited by Wahalla; 02-18-2014, 02:00 PM.
With a time of 1:57.23, they are a full 4.41 second behind the leading Russian pair.
The two man bobsled competition got underway on Sunday, as Russia jumped out to an early lead with a time of 56.25 seconds in their first heat, while Jamaica brought up the rear, finishing their first run in 58.42 seconds. Things didn't get any better in the second heat for Jamaica, with Watts and Dixon completing the course in 58.81 seconds.
The combined time of 1:57.23 in their first two heats means the Jamaican team sits in last place and almost five seconds behind Russia, who completed their first two runs in 1:52.82. The final two heats take place Monday, and the overall combined time through four heats determines which teams take home medals.
Last edited by Gen; 02-18-2014, 02:03 PM.
was this like when eddie the eagle qualify for ski jumping..or when the girls from afghanistan and yemen qualify for olympic 100M ?Originally posted by Gen View Postthe real floppers here is the paper for calling them that
i don't know the criteria for "qualifying" but if they qualified then they were considered "contenders"
is like one of the guys seh "we are serious contenders"
31 Fatima Sulaiman DAHMAN YEM 13.95 32 Tahmina KOHISTANI AFG 14.42 When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
is not a Jamaica observer story ..dem probably just have dem feed set up to cary and story out of sochi that sey jamaicansOriginally posted by Peasie View PostThe Observer is too outta awdah to publish that headline
would be interested to see if that was in the print editionWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....