Originally posted by Peasie
Coal Fire
Originally posted by RichD View Posthow much area would they need? what about the environmental impact of the required battery storage and maintenance of same?
significantly less than the transportation/ maintenance costs of coal and/or oil.
I am suggesting it is better to go with energy sources that are environmentally friendly (wind/sun) than damaging coal, oil. When people in the St Catherine and elsewhere on the main island start getting sick, it is all good? Look at the asthma rates due to Alpart mining in St Elizabeth & ManchesterIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Originally posted by kia027 View Postsignificantly less than the transportation/ maintenance costs of coal and/or oil.
I am suggesting it is better to go with energy sources that are environmentally friendly (wind/sun) than damaging coal, oil. When people in the St Catherine and elsewhere on the main island start getting sick, it is all good? Look at the asthma rates due to Alpart mining in St Elizabeth & Manchester
there already is a oil fired plant just across the bayWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
First off no one knows what the Chinese are intending to build at Goat Islands, not even the Comrade Minister it seems.
One Coal Fired Plant might not kill off all Jamaicans, but very likely, anything cheaper than JPS will be duplicated in some shape or form. Whether it be expansion of Goat Islands Coal Plant and/or JPS themselves delving into Coal.
The fact that were are poor and we are an Island should cause us to pause when gifts that are historically proven to be damaging to the environment are offered. Who is going to pay for the clean up in case of accidents or even regular waste discharged during the operation of these plants.
Typical of the Comrades they create a problem then take full advantage of it. It was Dr. Davies and his Comrades who allowed JPS to operate run down, inefficient, power generating equipment. It was Dr. Davies and his Comrades who destroyed the Jamaican Economy, now they are using JPS rates means of allowing a Coal Fired Plant and the run down economy to coerce Jamaicans to accept the sell out of Goat Island.
As Dr. Davies once said the Chinese have to employ who they want to complete the Western Leg of the Highway project, because Jamaican Workers are lazy and inefficient. Comrades never let a bad situation go to waste, when they see dolla/yen sign.Last edited by Tuff Gong; 03-03-2014, 04:03 PM.
One of Jamaica's leading physicists and an expert in climate change has blasted as fundamentally flawed, Government's endorsement of the use of coal-generated electricity for its planned logistics hub, sections of which are to be sited at Goat Islands.
"People in the know, including myself, are very much concerned about coal, not just because coal worldwide contributes much toward the dangerous consequence of climate change but mostly because of the health risks that it poses," Professor Anthony Chen told persons gathered for yesterday's official launch of the Chinese Cultural Association at 22 Barbican Road in St Andrew.
"The by-products of coal include carcinogens (substances capable of causing cancer), mercury, highly radioactive material and black smoke, all very harmful to the health of people, especially those living near to the plant," disclosed Chen, a joint recipient of the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize, who is also president of the cultural association.
His comments come after Transport Minister Dr Omar Davies sought to assure Parliament last Tuesday that the use of clean coal would be economically and environmentally practical.
Said Davies: "Given the high cost of electricity in Jamaica, CHEC (China Harbour Engineering Company Limited) proposes its own coal-fired generating plant to provide lower-cost electricity for the project."
However, Chen, who works in climate change and energy studies at the University of the West Indies, Mona, rubbished that statement, arguing: "If it is by coal, it will not be what is called 'clean coal', because the cost to clean coal, using various scrubbing mechanisms, will make coal an expensive option, making it more expensive than gas (liquefied natural gas - LNG)."
At between 38 and 42 US cents per kilowatt-hour, Jamaica's cost of producing electricity is among the highest in the world.
Meanwhile, the renowned scientist also made it clear that he was not against the inclusion of the Goat Islands in the logistics hub, but called for more transparency from the State.
"People are speculating, and we need more data from the government, more transparency," he said.
"Minister Davies made a speech last week, and I really haven't had the chance to really go through it, but what we need to know is how does the Goat Islands fit into our development and we need to know more about the environmental impact, and we need to know the real cost-benefit analysis, how it's going to benefit us."
Room for improvement
On the question of the promised environmental impact assessment, Chen insisted that much more needs to be done by way of a strategic environmental assessment and development plan which would incorporate a long-term cost-benefit analysis.
He argued that for the planned assessment to be truly effective, Government must share its investment plan on the logistics hub with the public, showing how it will fit into the country's long-term development, as well as explaining how it will be sustained.
"We wish the Goat Islands project to be successful and the genuine fears to be laid to rest because of the good it can do for Jamaica. As long as all the proper procedures are carried out to satisfaction, it should succeed," he said.
[email protected]
Originally posted by RichD View Posthow much worse is coal that the current oil fired plants?
couple undar water generators ann wind farm ann noo keed fe mess upp da enviorment inn jamaica
guess china waan fe polute jamaica air like dem smog chinese cities
tiyad aff dem eediat sellout jamaicans politrixxstahs. boat da jlp ann pnp ar a disgrace
UOriginally posted by blugiant View Postguess yuh buyinn da attention. bout kleen coal
couple undar water generators ann wind farm ann noo keed fe mess upp da enviorment inn jamaica
guess china waan fe polute jamaica air like dem smog chinese cities
tiyad aff dem eediat sellout jamaicans politrixxstahs. boat da jlp ann pnp ar a disgraceWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
This week end i had a long conversation on the hub question with a knowledge connected fellow who has been an enthusiastic for a long time..there is alot of fuzzy logic out htere. The conversation started from me recalling the Luana project which started out as a project of this scale... the idea is not simply a transhipment harbour, Extention of Kingston harbour.. but a breakers yard, a dry dock for ship repairs St Thomas, manufacturing hub adjecent to goat island, Verhanham field......
course some one will comment that u cant take Wahallas word that the man i spoke to is knowledgable is connected...and she will need a cousin to confirm what I wrote here .....
- It is a done deal from the government and opposition perspective... I questioned if it was a done deal from a Chinese harbour perspective ? Then there is a question of financing the entire project ????
- From a bizness perspective, the principal selling point for this capital intense project is the stability of the Jamaican political system... and an issue that i have mentioned... Jamaica changes governments without the messy nihilisim of Ukraine
- I asked who will operate the harbor Goat island once the Chinese Build it... He suggested i come and run it in jest... but the long and short it is still not clear who will run it... Every one says Chinese Harbour but they are an engineering firm......
- apparently Chinese Harbor and a consortium (unclear who the consortium) were offered to buy Kingston container port and adjecent land but they said it wasnt fit for purpose....they did not want a brown field site they wanted a green field site
- Coal from the US is currently cheaper and will fall as the us converts to gas my comment...
- I am concerned that if they use coal,they will use Best Available Technology ?... Coal fire technology with scrubbers and carbon capture is possible to have a coal station with as low impact as a gas fire station. However this will deployed, not clear... I have been reading that the chinese have been building this style of power plants...
- To operated the hydrulics lifts systems that a harbour requires alot of power, high density concentrated power ... the use of solar energy while wonderful would not be operationally fesible...
- There I asekd if there is a concept of design document ie what they are going to build... that hasnt been made available, but the government is saying that it needs a Enviromental Impact assessment, how ccan they do an EIA without see the operating concept
- There is a multifaceted project... Some one else un named will start Verhnham Feild but who hasnt been identified...A dry Dock and
- A industrial park will be built adjcent to goat island
- Cuba is building a similar facility at Mariel Harbour something i mentioned on here previously. Course unno know what Mariel is famous for....
- He doesn't believe and the driving force behind the Hub that the Nicaraguan Canal is feasible....
Last edited by Wahalla; 03-04-2014, 05:35 AM.