Originally posted by blugiant
did busta mash up jamaica?
amaica is a middle-income, oil-importing country that attempted diverse economic development strategies during the 1970s and 1980s. Jamaica had the second largest GDP of the Commonwealth Caribbean, behind only Trinidad and Tobago, an oil-exporter. The island's GDP for 1985 was US$1.7 billion, or US$940 per capita. The major sectors of the economy were bauxite (see Glossary) and alumina (see Glossary), tourism, manufacturing, and agriculture. Bauxite and alumina, in particular, set the pace of Jamaica's postwar economic growth through new investment and foreign exchange earnings. Bauxite production declined rapidly in Jamaica in the 1980s, however, because of the prolonged recession in the world aluminum industry, global oversupply, and the departure of multinational producers. Tourism declined in the 1970s, but recovered between 1980 and 1986, thus becoming the second most important sector of the economy. Manufacturing, a quite diversified sector, underwent structural changes in the 1980s when production was refocused on exports rather than on the domestic market. Agriculture, the heart of the Jamaican economy for centuries, has been in relative decline since World War II.
Jamaica enjoyed rapid growth rates during the 1950s and 1960s as the bauxite industry boomed. Real GDP growth averaged about 4.5 percent during these two decades. Economic growth was sporadic and weak from 1972 to 1986, however. Indeed, the Jamaican economy did not register two consecutive years of significant growth during that period. Between 1973 and 1980, the island experienced seven consecutive years of negative growth. The economic downturn in the 1970s demonstrated the highly mobile nature of both labor and capital in Jamaica, as skilled labor and investment capital left the island. The democratic socialist government of Michael Manley from 1972 to 1980 was popularly blamed for the poor performance during the 1970s (see Political Dynamics, this ch.). Nevertheless, Manley's successor and conservative political opponent, Edward Seaga, was also unable to turn the economy around during his first six years in office. The economy experienced sporadic and unsustained growth in the early 1980s. GDP declined by 4.5 percent in 1985 but rose again in 1986 by more than 2 percent. In the mid1980s , the Jamaican economy was about where it was in 1980 in terms of real GDP. Negative growth in the 1980s was generally attributed to the acute decline in the world bauxite market.
Most Jamaicans enjoyed a relatively high quality of life when compared with their neighbors. For example, in the early 1980s, Jamaica's physical-quality-of-life index computed by the Overseas Development Council was higher than that of Mexico and Venezuela and equal to that of Trinidad and Tobago. Nevertheless, Jamaica still suffered from severe social problems resulting from the skewed distribution of the country's wealth, often said to be the legacy of colonialism and slavery. For example, in 1960 the top 20 percent of society received 61 percent of the national income, and after independence income distribution continued to worsen. Land tenure was also highly inequitable. In 1961, the year before independence, 10 percent of the population owned 64 percent of the land; this pattern continued in the 1970s, despite the implementation of a land reform program. Less than 1 percent of the country's farms covered about 43 percent of the land in 1978. Jamaicans in urban areas had much more access to piped water, sanitary plumbing facilities, and high quality health care than their rural counterparts. These disparities in income and service were believed to have widened even more as a result of the austere economic policies of the 1980s.
Jamaica was hardly immune from the structural economic problems affecting other developing countries in the era. Beginning in the mid-1970s, inflation was generally double-digit, caused primarily by the increase in world oil prices, expansionary fiscal policies, and entrenched labor unions. Chronic unemployment and recession coexisted with high inflation during the 1970s, causing stagflation. Unemployment averaged roughly 25 percent during the 1975-85 period, affecting women and urban youth the hardest. The country also faced rapid urbanization as economic opportunities in rural areas deteriorated. In 1960, about 34 percent of the island's population was considered urban, but by 1982 that figure had risen to about 48 percent as opportunities in rural areas declined. Like other countries in the Western hemisphere, Jamaica quickly compiled a large external debt in the 1970s and 1980s; by the end of 1986, it amounted to US$3.5 billion, one of the highest per capita debts in the world.
This makes me laff . How can data come from one side or the other? How can facts come from onside or the other?Originally posted by Tropicana View PostYes there is PNP blood in the genes but unlike many on here I present data and information from BOTH sides so that we can have an objective look at the situation and sort out fact from fiction. I stated that the video was clearly biased but also made some valid points.
you men you present opinion from both sides.
Try to differentiate between opinion and fact.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
sumting believed to be troo iss a factOriginally posted by RichD View PostThis makes me laff . How can data come from one side or the other? How can facts come from onside or the other?
Try to differentiate between opinion and fact.
opinions ann facts ar based pon beeleefs
yuh need fe studee wat jamaica did to garveyOriginally posted by Tropicana View PostI haven't seen any evidence that Busta and Norman squelched Black Power. I heard it was Hugh Shearer. If you have evidence to the contrary....look forward to seeing it.
They can’t kill Rasta now
By Mark Wignall
I was attending KC for a little over three months when the JLP government – led by its neo-colonialist, paternalistic, dictator of a prime minister, Alexander Bustamante – unleashed the full weight of the Jamaican security forces on Rasta in Coral Gardens, on the outskirts of Montego Bay. That was on Good Friday, April 12, 1963, and the national infamy became etched in our history books as the Coral Gardens incident.
Long before that, Busta’s more intellectual cousin, Norman Manley, then premier of Jamaica, had issued warnings against Rasta. In 1960 after the capture of Cladius Henry, for treason, and his wild son, Ronald, for murder/sedition, Manley said of Rasta, “These people – and I am glad that it is only a small number of them – are the wicked enemies of our country. I ask you all to report any unusual or suspicious movements you may see pertaining to the Rastafarians.”
No one really knows if Leonard Howell, the Gong, was the original Rasta but what we do know is that he was the first to have a Rasta organisation, a direction and a settlement at Pinnacle in the St Catherine hills. This settlement was given its validity by the remarkable strength and personality of this “new Marcus Garvey” – Howell, and his teachings of Rasta.
It came at a time – in the 1930s, 1940s when Jamaican black people were submerged in a landscape of whiteness, mother country, rule Britannia. It came at a time when most of our black people who were lucky enough to be exposed to tertiary education lapped it all up, only to be later sucked in by the system as they sold out the black poor and the powerless to the whims and fancies of the high brown, near white margin gatherers and politicians, and locked the gates on them. Even Busta’s letters to The Gleaner in the 1930s which made him a champion of the poor were a far cry from his (“laaw and aarda”) leadership which pitted the police against the constantly oppressed poor.
In 1959 I was a nine-year-old child living at 11 Newark Avenue off Waltham Park Road. Nearby on Rosalie Avenue lived Cladius Henry, who called himself “Repairer of the Breach” and who was a firm believer in repatriation. In 1960 he wrote to Fidel Castro the following: “We want to go back home to Africa; if we are not welcomed back with love, we will go anyway, in hate, as we were brought here. If we cannot go in peace, then we must go in war.”
Rosalie Avenue was raided where dynamite and crude weapons were found. He was tried and sentenced to 10 years in prison.
While I attended Trench Town and Jones Town Primary schools I saw my first Rastamen. The term “dreadlocks” which came about at the end of the decade of the 1950s was not yet in vogue. “Beardman” was the name given to them and, much to their delight, they were greatly feared by the public. Of course, we fear most what we know least of, and so we saw them as “black art man”, evil and alien to our culture even though we had no idea then that they were miles ahead of us who were overzealous “apers” of the colonial way.
In Helene Lee’s seemingly well-researched book, The First Rasta, she places the Coral Gardens Rebellion on Good Friday, April 12, 1963. According to the book, it all started the day before with a Rastaman named Rudolf Franklyn.
“Franklyn, the son of an estate watchman, was a ‘beardman’ who squatted in the hills above Coral Gardens. The story goes that he was cultivating his small garden, and one day on his way back from the field he stopped at a gas station to ask for a glass of water. Instead of giving him water, the attendant sprayed him with gasoline and threatened to light a match if he didn’t leave.”
Readers may find the behaviour of the pump attendant strange, but we have to bear in mind that the time was 1963, one year after “independence” and three years after Ronald Henry, son of Cladius Henry, had, with his gang of warriors, shot and killed two soldiers. Young Henry and three of his comrades were later hanged.
In 1963 Jamaican black people hated themselves. Black girls wanted “pretty hair” men, and black men wanted white girls or “red” girls as the term “browning” was not yet invented. That both hardly ever got what they wanted only served to harden the self-denigration. Rastamen were at the bottom of the barrel.
Helene Lee continues: “Franklyn got mad and the attendant called the police, who arrived and shot him several times. They left him for dead at the Montego Bay Hospital. But Franklyn wasn’t dead and the doctors did all they could. They even installed an intestinal prosthesis that saved him.”
After treatment Franklyn was charged for resisting arrest and was sentenced to six months in prison. All he wanted was a glass of water. Instead he was shot, smashed up inside and imprisoned. After he left prison, in his mind, he had many wrongs to right.
“Living with an artificial bowel was not a joyful prospect, and Franklyn felt he didn’t have much to lose. He gathered five of his brethren, ‘sufferers’ who were as frustrated by daily humiliations as he was, and they began preparing weapons – straight machetes sharpened on both sides, spears forged from concrete reinforcing rods, missiles made from shells filled with cement, cutlasses stolen from a banana plantation.
“On Thursday April 11, 1963, the six Rastas appeared at the gas station at dawn. The night watchman swore he was a Rastaman too, and gave them a spliff of herb, so they let him go. But they hacked to death a white driver who happened to stop, and then they set the station on fire. They went to a nearby motel, murdered a hapless guest, and then retreated to the hills. The Rose Hall estate overseer was their next victim, having just put his goats out to pasture.”
Franklyn and his friends were eventually shot and killed during that “Bad Friday” upsurge of violence while all over the island, Rastamen were being rounded up, beaten by the police and shorn of their hair. Many went into hiding.
Today 42 years later, nobody in Finland or Brazil or Lesotho or Japan knows who Norman Manley or Busta was. Their cronies have named them national heroes while their heirs and successors have continued to delay and deny justice to the poor and powerless.
Worldwide, everyone knows about Bob Marley and Rasta. We Jamaicans made it, gave it to the world. The “rasta head” entertainers in Jamaica know nothing about 1963. Why? Eighty per cent of them are fake, cartoon Rastas.
I disagree with you. Facts are facts. How you interpret them is opinion and belief.Originally posted by blugiant View Postsumting believed to be troo iss a fact
opinions ann facts ar based pon beeleefs
when you talk bout using stats to lie is not a fault of the stats it's the fault of how the user choose to interpret them. The numbers are stil the same.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
busta ann norman studee garvey ann imm movements wen dem were inn merikka. dem copy a latt aff imm arguments ann dat oww dem knew oww fe appeal to poor jamaicans. inn dat way dem were influence by garvey butt dem fear garvey appeallinn to blakks jamaicans so dem butt barriers inn imm wayOriginally posted by Tropicana View PostI haven't seen any evidence that Busta and Norman squelched Black Power. I heard it was Hugh Shearer. If you have evidence to the contrary....look forward to seeing it.
look upp da meaninn aff facts. yuh juss reminded mii aff wen mii run dat argument pon a prof inn college woo disagreed widd mii until mii showed imm dat meaninn inn wan dictionaryOriginally posted by RichD View PostI disagree with you. Facts are facts. How you interpret them is opinion and belief.
when you talk bout using stats to lie is not a fault of the stats it's the fault of how the user choose to interpret them. The numbers are stil the same.
imm juss gave mii A ann admit dat imm might disagree widd mii fact butt imm cyaan sey mii argument invalid
number ar da same butt can be used to draw two diffarant factual canclusions proving dat facts ar subjective.
itt like yuh askinn two diffarant people wat thyme itt iss butt boat aff dem look att dem watches ann give yuh too diffarant thyme. since boat aff dem basinn awf dem watches dem boat right accardinn to dem watchesLast edited by blugiant; 03-23-2014, 12:26 PM.
Yuh like to play with words. But the definition you play with don't hold when yuh dealing with numbers.Originally posted by blugiant View Postlook upp da meaninn aff facts. yuh juss reminded mii aff wen mii run dat argument pon a prof inn college woo disagreed widd mii until mii showed imm dat meaninn inn wan dictionary
Come come now, we all know that information can be selectively edited, presented and spun to make one's POV look better.Originally posted by RichD View PostThis makes me laff . How can data come from one side or the other? How can facts come from onside or the other?
Try to differentiate between opinion and fact.
I notice you are not willing to admit to any of the faults of the JLP or any or the positives of the PNP. At least I present both sides.
rich D....one lesson i learnt over the years is that educated people simply cut and paste and are unable to look critical .. er the Descartes principleOriginally posted by RichD View PostI disagree with you. Facts are facts. How you interpret them is opinion and belief.
when you talk bout using stats to lie is not a fault of the stats it's the fault of how the user choose to interpret them. The numbers are stil the same.
icy mint economics... in 71 the price of an icy mint was 4 for 1 cent it went to 2 for 1 cent in 72) ....today one icymint costs twenty dollars... (icy mint is interesting to me because it taught me to share, one icy mint with 4 of your friends.. the reason y i beleive in Jamaicans....)
a middle income house costs 14000 Jamaican dollars (three bedrooms in Kilsome) today it costs 14 million... a tank of gas today for an SUV costs 14000 dollars....according to Chang in an oped peice last week in the Gleaner ...
JAMAL was a failure sorry.......it started we were told by Manley (and yes i remember the speech I wanted to go find a illiterate person and teach them i was about 11 then, literacy was 85% up from 63 % at independence and 50% in 1955... But take the numbers we were presented...63% in 74 because we know wahalla tell lies and since the numbers come from a cut and paste from the internet by a kanadian they must be true....now we have literasy rate of 85 %... But what is forgotten is that along with Jamal there was compulsory education compulsory.....
So given that every child born since 1962 should have had an education at some point the simple demographic is that only those age over 52 should be illerate...given that the i believe less than 20% of Jamaica is age over 50....that is 550000 people... if these 63% of these were literate before Jamal....27% of them are illerate....that is 148500 illiterate.... 5.4% of the total population...
so how do we have an extra 10% illiterate ? Either the claims of Jamal is a lie or the school system since independence is unable to even maintain the level of literacy....
We had Jamal we had compulsory education... but we have 15 % illteracy ????? my teadher friends tell me that a greater proportion schoolers placed in the second tier secondary schools (former Junior secondary are functionally illiterate)
according to the CIA we have a GDP growth of -0.50 this year better tjam italy and Finland so celebrate!!!!!! however both Finland and italy have better GDP's than Jamaica....
and we are 121 or 118 in terms of GDP where were we in 1962 ?
... We can blame Busta for that one ?
maybe my father and mother taught me wrong if u borrow money u have to pay it back at tghe agreed rate... the reason any country goes to the IMF is not for pleasure it is the borrower of last resort because you cannot get money any cheaper from private sources. ...in exchange for that money the IMF has to look at what you spend the money on....And they cut bloated civil service first then subsidies.....or should the IMF lend money and not expect payment back ?????
But historical numbers; GDP in this case per capita.....This is based on mean GDP in US Dollars not median..in 1980 1314 USD.. in 2014::::::::: 6339.31 USD.... These are world bank numbers quick search on the intenet on the IMF site....
Great better has come!!!!!!!!!!whopie we rich to ramgoat.. tings better!!!!! ====== lead us to the promised land.. push out unno chest... is not Busta fault!!!!!!
Just one minor fly in that ointment.... sum of the average inflation based on the consumer price index is 612%.... that would mean based on the average GDP for the equivalency in 2014 to 1980 in terms of our countries productivity... the GDP should have been 8041.00.. our productivity is falling! (it is actually worse than that, but for the sake of simplicity)
Actually my analaogy for the icemint economics makes alot of senses looking at these numbers!!!!!!! in 72 i cy mint cost 0.50 cents ok round up 1 icymint one cent , in 1994 one icy mint cost 100 cents, in 2014 one icemint cost 20000 cents... so 200000% inflation in the last 42 years! if we went back to 71 it would be 80000% inflation....
Note GDP is the goods and services produced by the country... more interesting should be the average (median not mean) salary numbers! if it does not reflect these changes then there is a lie within the macroeconomics..
But Wahalla is is a lying stupid miseducated warlock better has come......It strikes me we are screwed based on these trends... in fact Chang makes an interesting anaolgy in his oped peice following this tred does that means in 2044 a tank of gas will cost 20 million Jamaican dollarsLast edited by Wahalla; 03-24-2014, 07:36 AM.
the key is being able to separate the facts from the spin on the facts. That way it doesn't matter who is presenting the story the facts remain the same.Originally posted by Tropicana View PostCome come now, we all know that information can be selectively edited, presented and spun to make one's POV look better.
I notice you are not willing to admit to any of the faults of the JLP or any or the positives of the PNP. At least I present both sides.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
just because one or both of them have based their conclusion on bad information does not make their conclusion "right". the fact as to what time it is has not changed.Originally posted by blugiant View Post
itt like yuh askinn two diffarant people wat thyme itt iss butt boat aff dem look att dem watches ann give yuh too diffarant thyme. since boat aff dem basinn awf dem watches dem boat right accardinn to dem watchesWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by Wahalla View Postrich D....one lesson i learnt over the years is that educated people simply cut and paste and are unable to look critical .. er the Descartes principle
icy mint economics... in 71 the price of an icy mint was 4 for 1 cent it went to 2 for 1 cent in 72) ....today one icymint costs twenty dollars... (icy mint is interesting to me because it taught me to share, one icy mint with 4 of your friends.. the reason y i beleive in Jamaicans....)
a middle income house costs 14000 Jamaican dollars (three bedrooms in Kilsome) today it costs 14 million... a tank of gas today for an SUV costs 14000 dollars....according to Chang in an oped peice last week in the Gleaner ...
JAMAL was a failure sorry.......it started we were told by Manley (and yes i remember the speech I wanted to go find a illiterate person and teach them i was about 11 then, literacy was 85% up from 63 % at independence and 50% in 1955... But take the numbers we were presented...63% in 74 because we know wahalla tell lies and since the numbers come from a cut and paste from the internet by a kanadian they must be true....now we have literasy rate of 85 %... But what is forgotten is that along with Jamal there was compulsory education compulsory.....
So given that every child born since 1962 should have had an education at some point the simple demographic is that only those age over 52 should be illerate...given that the i believe less than 20% of Jamaica is age over 50....that is 550000 people... if these 63% of these were literate before Jamal....27% of them are illerate....that is 148500 illiterate.... 5.4% of the total population...
so how do we have an extra 10% illiterate ? Either the claims of Jamal is a lie or the school system since independence is unable to even maintain the level of literacy....
We had Jamal we had compulsory education... but we have 15 % illteracy ????? my teadher friends tell me that a greater proportion schoolers placed in the second tier secondary schools (former Junior secondary are functionally illiterate)
according to the CIA we have a GDP growth of -0.50 this year better tjam italy and Finland so celebrate!!!!!! however both Finland and italy have better GDP's than Jamaica....
and we are 121 or 118 in terms of GDP where were we in 1962 ?
... We can blame Busta for that one ?
maybe my father and mother taught me wrong if u borrow money u have to pay it back at tghe agreed rate... the reason any country goes to the IMF is not for pleasure it is the borrower of last resort because you cannot get money any cheaper from private sources. ...in exchange for that money the IMF has to look at what you spend the money on....And they cut bloated civil service first then subsidies.....or should the IMF lend money and not expect payment back ?????
But historical numbers; GDP in this case per capita.....This is based on mean GDP in US Dollars not median..in 1980 1314 USD.. in 2014::::::::: 6339.31 USD.... These are world bank numbers quick search on the intenet on the IMF site....
Great better has come!!!!!!!!!!whopie we rich to ramgoat.. tings better!!!!! ====== lead us to the promised land.. push out unno chest... is not Busta fault!!!!!!
Just one minor fly in that ointment.... sum of the average inflation based on the consumer price index is 612%.... that would mean based on the average GDP for the equivalency in 2014 to 1980 in terms of our countries productivity... the GDP should have been 8041.00.. our productivity is falling! (it is actually worse than that, but for the sake of simplicity)
Actually my analaogy for the icemint economics makes alot of senses looking at these numbers!!!!!!! in 72 i cy mint cost 0.50 cents ok round up 1 icymint one cent , in 1994 one icy mint cost 100 cents, in 2014 one icemint cost 20000 cents... so 200000% inflation in the last 42 years! if we went back to 71 it would be 80000% inflation....
Note GDP is the goods and services produced by the country... more interesting should be the average (median not mean) salary numbers! if it does not reflect these changes then there is a lie within the macroeconomics..
But Wahalla is is a lying stupid miseducated warlock better has come......It strikes me we are screwed based on these trends... in fact Chang makes an interesting anaolgy in his oped peice following this tred does that means in 2044 a tank of gas will cost 20 million Jamaican dollars