Bwoy you blonde fe true....look at the context. I was responding to blugiant's dissing of people with certain last names. I have family connections on both sides of the JA political spectrum...some more direct than others.
did busta mash up jamaica?
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostBwoy you blonde fe true....look at the context. I was responding to blugiant's dissing of people with certain last names. I have family connections on both sides of the JA political spectrum...some more direct than others.Originally Posted by RichD
sound like is a comrade version of the story yuh get....
the party blood run deep.
Originally Posted by Tropicana
...and it runs deep in my veins. I am descended from one of the founding members of the PNP.
Originally Posted by RichD
it took more dan one man to bring Jamaica to where it is now.
Originally Posted by Tropicana
Yes, yes, we know that. Mi talking about how the decline started particularly de gun business. I wasn't there so I have to rely on reports from those who were.
Last edited by RichD; 03-18-2014, 03:28 PM.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Context mi RichD context.
Originally posted by blugiant View Postlook att imm furst wifee lass name ann look att busta grandparents name
Originally posted by Tropicana View Post....hey watch it...busta's grandparents had perfectly good names.Originally posted by Tropicana View Post
Never mind RichD...you are much too blonde to figure this out. Don't worry about it.Last edited by Tropicana; 03-18-2014, 03:57 PM.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostNever mind RichD...you are much too blonde to figure this out. Don't worry about it.
it does get much too complicated for me when somebody quotes me and appear to respond to me when in fact they are responding to somebody else
carry onWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by Tuff Gong View PostI read the Jamaica Observer's feature on the aged diligently on Sundays.
Two old ladies at different times mentioned Busta.
One said she was working at a job and Busta came to visit. He asked her how much she earned. When she informed him of her earnings, he told her to leave the job and he used his contacts to get a better paying one.
The other old lady had a similar story.
Little wonder Comrade clowns tried to discredit the man, just as they did to Eddie Blinds.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by RichD View Post
When you want to hear about PNP History it from the POV of Comrade Revisionists, who always paint their subjects as pure and clean as the driven snow.
One gets the impression that Comrades have something to hide as such, they cannot let the facts of history speak for itself.
Originally posted by Tuff Gong View PostWhat is interesting is that when you need to hear about Labourite history most of the time it through the beaks Comrade Revisionists, who invariably paint their targets as flawed human beings.
When you want to hear about PNP History it from the POV of Comrade Revisionists, who always paint their subjects as pure and clean as the driven snow.
One gets the impression that Comrades have something to hide as such, they cannot let the facts of history speak for itself.
A more interesting perspective of history is macro economic History.... looking at the all the economic drivers both internal and external not hiding behind cliches...Last edited by Wahalla; 03-18-2014, 06:21 PM.
Originally posted by Wahalla View Postunfortunately the natural left leaning of the history acedemics make them biasesd against Busta...Because he never subscrbed to socialism poltically despite being a Trade Unionist.(think of another single case where Trade Unionist were not left leaning_??????? They exist but are hard to find i only recently learnt there was Conservatie Trade Union Club in NE England)... and did not spout the cliches
A more interesting perspective of history is macro economic History.... looking at the all the economic drivers both internal and external not hiding behind cliches...
neva barned yet butt busta policies impoverish jamaicans yuh like da policies dat norman pushed. dem two cousins set ja pon a downward spiral. two cousin woo ovatand da politrixx aff separate ann rule
mii bunn fiyah pon awl ism even dough mii bigg upp afrikkan socialisn ann afrikkan capitalism
Originally posted by Wahalla View Postthe problem is that Busta does not appeal to the intellectual pen dragons because of the issue of race in Jamaica, as well as his instintive rejection of socialism... He saw race differently to those interlectuals closer to the PNP of the 70s who are now writingcurious to hear more of your pov on this. i believe that part of busta's appeal as well was because he looked the whitest of the leaders, and fed into that mentality that white leaders were better. i don't know if he deliberately capitalized on that or not, or whether he truly identified with the poor black masses.
my dark-skinned grand aunty who raised me was a staunch jlp supporter, and her lighter skinned sister a pnp supporter, so my mind still makes that correlation of colour and party.
Lets face it we had a sweetie named after Busta not Norman!
from Holness--- posted by RichD
one of the proudest boasts of Jamaicans has been that of our democratic tradition and peaceful transitions of power.
A true democracy cannot be based on a oneparty system, which can only succeed where differing views are suppressed by an oppressive state machinery,” Holness said.
“In a world which has largely demolished socialist and one-party doctrines, the thought that such a society would be, or would have been, a better model for Jamaica and Jamaicans, seems so far-fetched and out of date with our modern appreciation of what democracy means to us, one can only wonder at the intentions of the author to publish such statements in this day and age,” Holness added.
Seventy-six persons, including a policeman and a solder, were killed in that effort by the security forces to arrest then Tivoli Gardens strongman Christopher ‘Dudus’ Coke, who was wanted by the US Government.
I think this is what mashed up Jamaica
Inter-island bickering ensued and the federation lasted only four years. In addition, Bustamante’s opposition to the body diminished Jamaica’s participation in that body. However, Manley used has political influence and called for a referendum – unused in Jamaica at that time – to let the voters decide. And they decided against Jamaica’s continued participation in the federation and hastened its demise.
After Jamaica’s withdrawal from the federation, Manley began to focus on independence for his country. He chaired a joint committee set up specifically for that purpose and led it to London to negotiate independence for Jamaica. (Bustamante was a member of that committee).
Manley’s PNP lost the next election to JLP, so that when Jamaica gained its independence, Bustamante was in charge and thus became the country’s first prime minister. Thereafter, Manley again became the leader of the opposition party. He retired from politics in 1969 and was honored as a ‘National Hero of Jamaica’ along with Bustamante, Marcus Garvey and others.
Manley died in September 1969.
Originally posted by mountaingal View Postcurious to hear more of your pov on this. i believe that part of busta's appeal as well was because he looked the whitest of the leaders, and fed into that mentality that white leaders were better.
Where is the evidence?