Don't care can't be bothered.
Nations most segregated schools in New York...not Deep South
This topic is closed.
mee see nuttinn wrang widd segregated schools cah goinn to school widd oyinbo yuths doan guarantee blakk yuths will be educated. thyme fe blakk fe stapp pushinn da intergratesham foolishness
blakk parents need fe bunn fiyah ann force da miseducation system fe educate blakk yuths
imagine school gittinn more segregated butt increasinn tandards fe miseducators leadinn to less blakk miseducators ann blakk yuths test score remain relativelee da same.
plus foolish blakk yuths demandinn more charter schools fe enriched more oyinbo at da xxpense aff moas blakk yuths
Originally posted by TropicanaAre you naive enough to believe that the powers that be will invest as many resources and as much funding in an all Black school as they will in an all-White or an integrated school. Surely you jest.
wen blakks tarted fe sue using separate butt equal dat was wat dem were suinn for ann winninn equal fundinn fe blakk ann oyinbo school. imagine more blakk politrixxstahs ann blakk fraid fe demand more fundinn fe blakk yuths.
den sum sellout blakks like naacp change da argument ann pushed for intergration instead aff equal treatment ann da equal fundinn aff blakk schools. dat bigg sellout w eb dubois sedd, mii parapharsinn, dat intergratesham woan lead to da better educatsham aff more blakks butt itt will lead to a few blakks woo ar bettar educated fe sellout blakks
ar yuh seyinn better ann more fundinn will lead oyinbo to better miseducate blakks. de onlee reason y oyinbo tryinn fe increase tandards iss dat dem now need more miseducated blakk to compete inn da global economy
nat niave butt iff blakk doan believe itt possible den dem nah push ar demand equal fundinn far da miseducatesham aff blakk yuths. tell mii y oyinbo public schools ave sum aff da moas educate oyinbo students inn da wurld butt eediat blakk parents begginn fe charter schools
While I agree with this:
"They don't train kids to work in a society that's diverse by race and class,"
NYC is pretty much comprised of many small cities. Go to Flatbush Ave and you would think you are walking in Halfway Tree. Go to some sections of Borough Park and you may wonder if you are in Israel.
Yes the schools are segregated, I don't recall seeing where the article said minority schools received less resources. Please point it out if I missed it.
Lower income areas probably receive less (I haven't researched, but that is usually the norm). However in NYC minority neighborhood does not automatically equal low income.
My son's first year of school was at an all black school. (West Indians) I did have concerns that if he continued at this school, he would not have interactions with other races. I did not have any concerns about the curriculum or academic expectations of the school.7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
Originally posted by TropicanaCommon knowledge. I am shocked that people don't know this.7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
Originally posted by Pepper View PostMy son's first year of school was at an all black school. (West Indians) I did have concerns that if he continued at this school, he would not have interactions with other races. I did not have any concerns about the curriculum or academic expectations of the school.
Originally posted by Pepper View PostWhile I agree with this:
I am not up in arms about segregation in NYC schools. Why? Because NYC school children usually attend schools in the neighborhoods they reside. Flatbush, Little Italy, China Town, Brighton Beach, etc.
NYC is pretty much comprised of many small cities. Go to Flatbush Ave and you would think you are walking in Halfway Tree. Go to some sections of Borough Park and you may wonder if you are in Israel.
Yes the schools are segregated, I don't recall seeing where the article said minority schools received less resources. Please point it out if I missed it.
Lower income areas probably receive less (I haven't researched, but that is usually the norm). However in NYC minority neighborhood does not automatically equal low income.
moas so-called minoritee school recieve less fundinn dan oyinbo school. wan aff da reason y doan ave more blakk students goinn too da top high school inn nyc iss cah moas aff dem minoritee schools doan ave science labs
Originally posted by Tropicanaor do you really believe a higher income shelters one from racism?
BTW, when people use the word minority, it usually is a reference to race.7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
Originally posted by blugiant View Posty wood yuh ave cancern bout yuh yuth natt avinn interaction widd yuths aff addar race iff imm being properlee educated fe compete?
Also, I wouldn't want him to grow up only interacting with one race.7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
Originally posted by blugiant View Postda realitee iss dat de so-called minoritee schools inn nyc ar moaslee blakks. plus da demographic aff school population raises qwestian y da majaritee aff da school student population ar being called minoritee7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
are you saying that science lab work increases ela/maths skills/scores ? by what percent ?
Originally posted by blugiant View Postda realitee iss dat de so-called minoritee schools inn nyc ar moaslee blakks. plus da demographic aff school population raises qwestian y da majaritee aff da school student population ar being called minoritee
moas so-called minoritee school recieve less fundinn dan oyinbo school. wan aff da reason y doan ave more blakk students goinn too da top high school inn nyc iss cah moas aff dem minoritee schools doan ave science labs
Tropicana,
Seems you are having difficulty comprehending, or maybe you are reading too fast and missing key words.
My comments have been in reference to NYC. That means New York City. I have not referred to New York State, although NYC is located in NYS, what happens throughout the rest of the state does not usually apply in NYC.
long Island is not in NYC, although very close, not NYC. Thanks for supporting my comment about blacks and Hispanics being the majority in NYC. 25.5 + 28.6 does add up to more than 44.0.
Stunned you would need this one article to say this when it is a well known fact and has been that way since before Brown vs Board of Education (1954, 1955).7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
Originally posted by Tropicana
I don't live in this area so I am not an expert but I happen to know 2 Black young people who are on track for the Olympics. (They are half Jamaica BTW.) Their mom (Jamaican) and dad have to drive them all over God's creation for practice leading to very long days for this brother and sister team and their parents.
The issue with the music and arts facilities are the same.If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Originally posted by TropicanaSo just who is reading too quickly or having difficulty with comprehension?
Go back and read my posts, I said AND both times.
And since you often quote the dictionary, here is a definition of the word AND.
and
[and; unstressed uhnd, uh
n, or, esp. after a homorganic consonant, n] Show IPA
conjunction1.(used to connect grammatically coordinate words, phrases, or clauses) along or together with; aswell as; in addition to; besides; also; moreover: pens and pencils.
2.added to; plus: 2 and 2 are 4.
3.then: He read for an hour and went to bed.
4.also, at the same time: to sleep and dream.
5.then again; repeatedly: He coughed and coughed.
7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.