Originally posted by Peasie
Is Freedom of Speech Dead in the USA?
'I think there's a gay mafia, if you cross them you get whacked': Bill Maher sparks controversy with talk show comment
Real Time host made comments to guests on program
Group were discussing resignation of Mozilla CEO
Talk show host and comedian Bill Maher sparked controversy during his Friday night show when he warned against crossing the 'gay mafia'.
His comments, made on the online-only segment of Real Time, were made as the panel discussed how the Mozilla chief executive had been forced to stand down over his support of a ban on gay marriage.
Maher responded to the discussion on the HBO show by saying: 'I think there is a gay mafia. I think if you cross them you do get whacked.'
His warning of a 'gay mafia' came as guests on the show discussed how a donation Brendan Eich had made to a group campaigning against Proposition 8 led to him having to leave Mozilla.
'So this guy apparently does not want gay people to get married, and he had to step down. What do you think of that?' Maher asked the panel.
Republican Tom Davis, a guest on the show, replied: 'I guess he gave $1,000 eight years ago, and it's come back to haunt him.'
Footage of the show, shown on Blaze, showed the guests laughing as Maher made his 'gay mafia' comment, but on Twitter there was shock that the host had referred to the LGBT community as the 'gay mafia'.
While some tweets appeared to back Maher's claims, others saw it as a sign of the inequality still faced, with many tweeting 'the struggle continues'.
Eich's abrupt departure from Mozilla has stirred the debate over the fairness of forcing out a highly qualified technology executive over his personal views and a single campaign contribution six years ago.
And it raises questions about how far corporate leaders are allowed to go in expressing their political views.
The National Organization for Marriage, which backed California's same-sex marriage ban, called on consumers to boycott the Firefox browser.
Organization president Brian Brown said Eich had been the 'target of a vicious character attack by gay activists who have forced him out of the company he has helped lead for years'.
Mozilla chairwoman Mitchell Baker touched on the delicate balancing act in her Thursday post announcing Eich's resignation.
'Mozilla believes both in equality and freedom of speech. Equality is necessary for meaningful speech. And you need free speech to fight for equality. Figuring out how to stand for both at the same time can be hard,' she wrote.
Originally posted by blugiant View Post
Talk show host and comedian Bill Maher sparked controversy during his Friday night show when he warned against crossing the 'gay mafia'.
That is what it has come to. Soon it will be illegal for pastors to preach from the Bible about passages that speak of homosexuality as a sin and marriage as being an ordinance between a man and a woman.
Dr. Laura got kicked of radio in Canada because she had the guts to stand up for Judeo-Christian principles.
These people need to get over themselves.Originally posted by blugiant View Post
His warning of a 'gay mafia' came as guests on the show discussed how a donation Brendan Eich had made to a group campaigning against Proposition 8 led to him having to leave Mozilla.
'So this guy apparently does not want gay people to get married, and he had to step down. What do you think of that?' Maher asked the panel.
Republican Tom Davis, a guest on the show, replied: 'I guess he gave $1,000 eight years ago, and it's come back to haunt him.'
Footage of the show, shown on Blaze, showed the guests laughing as Maher made his 'gay mafia' comment, but on Twitter there was shock that the host had referred to the LGBT community as the 'gay mafia'.
While some tweets appeared to back Maher's claims, others saw it as a sign of the inequality still faced, with many tweeting 'the struggle continues'.
Eich's abrupt departure from Mozilla has stirred the debate over the fairness of forcing out a highly qualified technology executive over his personal views and a single campaign contribution six years ago.
And it raises questions about how far corporate leaders are allowed to go in expressing their political views.
The National Organization for Marriage, which backed California's same-sex marriage ban, called on consumers to boycott the Firefox browser.
Organization president Brian Brown said Eich had been the 'target of a vicious character attack by gay activists who have forced him out of the company he has helped lead for years'.
Mozilla chairwoman Mitchell Baker touched on the delicate balancing act in her Thursday post announcing Eich's resignation.
'Mozilla believes both in equality and freedom of speech. Equality is necessary for meaningful speech. And you need free speech to fight for equality. Figuring out how to stand for both at the same time can be hard,' she wrote.
Mozilla has no guts. If I had Firefox, i would uninstall it.
bakklash cumminn cah more peeps aggoo tart speakinn out against homo censarshipOriginally posted by Tropicana View PostThat is what it has come to. Soon it will be illegal for pastors to preach from the Bible about passages that speak of homosexuality as a sin and marriage as being an ordinance between a man and a woman.
Dr. Laura got kicked of radio in Canada because she had the guts to stand up for Judeo-Christian principles.
These people need to get over themselves.

Mozilla has no guts. If I had Firefox, i would uninstall it.
so the homo controlled media a go gi dem a voice? or dem was speaking before and is jus now yuh a hear dem?Originally posted by blugiant View Postbakklash cumminn cah more peeps aggoo tart speakinn out against homo censarshipWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Reminds me of Damian Goddard.Originally posted by Tropicana View PostIf the CEO made a statement like this I could understand why he would have to resign.
All he did was uphold Judeo-Christian standards of marriage. Unflippin believable.
wan aff de reason y mii awlway chatt bout homosexualitee iss a oyinbo ting iss cah oyinbo societees ave been pushinn itt fe a lang thyme. greek, romans, etcOriginally posted by Tropicana View PostThey have moved into positions of power and they are using equity legislation intended to protect the rights of visible minorities to their advantage and trying to censor everyone else.
wat dem usinn iss da civil rang playbook by buyinn awf a latt aff dem civil wrang peeps
Blu I have been sounding the alarm about the racism and slackness in Canada ever since I lande don this board.
Why do you think so many people here hate my guts? People are not happy with the fact that I have spoken out boldly about these issues and the challenges Black women face. I have had people contact me privately and beg me to stop airing our dirty laundry. When I wouldn't they started to attack me on the board.
When I started to speak out against blondes and black women with blonde hair and weaves, I had no idea some here were into that. As for my speaking out against random

, again, when I speak I am not taking aim at anyone here. I have no control over someone's choices but my contacts are not intended as an attack on anyone here.
Extend this to the society at large. When people defend sexual morality and the Judeo-Christian standards of marriage, others hate them for it and attack and try to censor and destroy them. As we descend into the abyss and become like Sodom and Gomorrah, anyone who defends morality will be attacked.
Do you know that on Gay Pride day here in Toronto there are men who let it all hang out and the powers that be do nothing about it? Avoid downtown Toronto on those days.
Much as Mayor Ford is a pappy show in many requests, I support him on this:
Deputy Mayor Norm Kelly attended the flag-raising and said there was nothing "un-Canadian" about flying the Pride flag.
Imagine the gay pride flag is flying at city hall in Toronto.
Did you realize there was so much slackness up here? I bet you are shocked. It's taking place in our Jamaican community up here too. Yes, divorced Jamaican women with children who are into this slackness. One notorious Jamaican chi-chi ooman in Toront had a child because she wanted one but said she will never give up this lifestyle. I could name names but I won't.
Anyway, this is censorship is nothing new.
Look at this from 2000:
Everytime she would speak out against homosexuality, her programme was not broadcast in Canada.
Protesters in the United States haven't been able to "Stop Dr. Laura," but it looks as though Canadian radio stations will have to censor some of the controversial talk show host's remarks.The Canadian Broadcast Standards Council agreed with a complaint that Dr. Laura Schlessinger is abusive towards gays and lesbians.
Stop Dr. Laura
Schlessinger is a popular American radio host who gives advice to listeners. She calls herself Dr. Laura, but her biography says the Ph.D was earned in physiology, not medicine or psychology.
Her syndicated talk show is said to reach almost 1 million listeners in Canada and some 20 million in the U.S.
Schlessinger has repeatedly described gays and lesbians as "abnormal," "aberrant," "deviant," "disordered," "dysfunctional" and "an error." She's also linked homosexuality to pedophilia, comments that outraged gay groups and sparked widespread protests in the U.S.
There's a website and e-mail campaign demanding that stations pull her long-running radio program off the air and cancel the launch of her new TV show in the fall.
"Those kinds of comments go to the nature of gays and lesbians that's a part of their being," says Ron Cohen, National Chair of the CBSC, "and those comments in the view of the council are abusively discriminatory."
The council is an independent, not-for-profit organization established by the Canadian Association of Broadcasters (CAB).
Schlessinger hasn't commented on the decision but the managing director for CFYI TALK 640 in Toronto says he would soon issue on-air apologies for Schlessinger's comments, in light of the council's ruling. Canadian radio stations say that in the future, they'll use tape delay to delete any discriminatory comments from the Los Angeles-based broadcaster.
wat
wat a ting
toronto a fly homosexual pride flag pon city hall
realitee iss fe a lang thyme mii kno sum funnee peeps poas pon yah ann dem attackk peeps woo bunn fiyah pon dem slackness.
few aff dem even defend funnee peeps adoptinn blakk yuths
mii awlway mekk dem kno dat afrikkan kulcha doan support ar defend homosexualitee ann iff dem studee afrikkan historee dem will admit dat itt da trooth mii chattinn
tropi mii tell da storee dat wan ooman pon yah asked bout iff anneewan pon yah joined a blakk social website wen mii went tekk a look itt was wan funnee ooman seekinn ooman. mii cum pon yah ann tell ar mii neva kno a so shi tand ann shi quicklee deleted ar page. iff mii didd wicked, mii wood ave pm peeps da link butt mii nuh inna dat. wat a ting iff ooman tunn lesbian ann tink dat okay fe dem yuths fe see dem slackness
yu even ave sum j-flag peeps pon yah. mii wandar y mii say wan funnee artikkle pon jam.com homepage butt mii neva see wan artikkle written by a yaawd person woo apposed homosexualitee pon jam.com homepage. still mii fell dat wan aff da reasons fe chubble pon yah iss funnee bugs