Back in 2006 i posted a thread with this title... I would like Blugaints impression on this report...and yes all others..
http://dukespace.lib.duke.edu/dspace...pdf?sequence=1
Above is s a academic dissertation that imho needs reading....
I asked with some style (if i say so my self) some fundamental questions about the repeated view of Jamaica posted in trip reports that seem to make Jamaica as a Nirvana filled with sexual athletes....who seemed to service women older women.... Now this academic report was submitted.... I glanced through it and found the questions i posted caused discomfort so i decided to read the dissertation...... To me the relationship is simple middle aged women world weary women go to Jamaica to be serviced by younger men who are attracted simply to them for their economic benefit . ..Which was exactly what the men were though they were semi professional opportunistic sex workers.... I don't use sex workers , I have no moral compunction against others having sex with sex workers as i stated i had friends who were Rentas.. and when i am accosted by female sex workers i am respectful and gentle in my refusal of their services. I use to drink regularly in Amsterdam next to a brothel and at the famous Snakepit in Shekou which is located in Chicken alley...
As I read through the report and these women were simply seeking life validation; they have as many on here a veiw a yanki monolithic view on identity and were African American....they are attentions seekers....they would not glance at yanki men in the same economic circumstance in yanki dom....none seemed capable to attract Jamaican men in the same kind of economic circumstance as them selves.. yes not all Jamaicans are sufferas.. there are teachers, doctors, cost controlers, mechanics Jamaicans....
One (Jacqueline) was surprised that Jamaicans do not identity with them due to the commonality of their skin colour...but rather was hurt when Jamaicans told her she wouldnt be Jamaican...
The comments i made seemed to be treated with contempt as if they were posted ..yet the dissertation supported every single one of my points....To be honest my impression is that the writer of the dissertation was as much a participant in this group of females as much as an observer.. But she denies this, which does not make her ask the really hard questions to her observees...and she takes the observes comments as the starting point.....
To be honest there is some good stuff in it but only when she leaves the remit of her charges..,.
Jamaican women are mere asides in it a bit like the Zulu warriors in the film Zulu....
The writer also seemed confused as to my gender referring to me as the he /she in the third person.....come on... i am not a transsexual!
http://dukespace.lib.duke.edu/dspace...pdf?sequence=1
Above is s a academic dissertation that imho needs reading....
I asked with some style (if i say so my self) some fundamental questions about the repeated view of Jamaica posted in trip reports that seem to make Jamaica as a Nirvana filled with sexual athletes....who seemed to service women older women.... Now this academic report was submitted.... I glanced through it and found the questions i posted caused discomfort so i decided to read the dissertation...... To me the relationship is simple middle aged women world weary women go to Jamaica to be serviced by younger men who are attracted simply to them for their economic benefit . ..Which was exactly what the men were though they were semi professional opportunistic sex workers.... I don't use sex workers , I have no moral compunction against others having sex with sex workers as i stated i had friends who were Rentas.. and when i am accosted by female sex workers i am respectful and gentle in my refusal of their services. I use to drink regularly in Amsterdam next to a brothel and at the famous Snakepit in Shekou which is located in Chicken alley...
As I read through the report and these women were simply seeking life validation; they have as many on here a veiw a yanki monolithic view on identity and were African American....they are attentions seekers....they would not glance at yanki men in the same economic circumstance in yanki dom....none seemed capable to attract Jamaican men in the same kind of economic circumstance as them selves.. yes not all Jamaicans are sufferas.. there are teachers, doctors, cost controlers, mechanics Jamaicans....
One (Jacqueline) was surprised that Jamaicans do not identity with them due to the commonality of their skin colour...but rather was hurt when Jamaicans told her she wouldnt be Jamaican...
The comments i made seemed to be treated with contempt as if they were posted ..yet the dissertation supported every single one of my points....To be honest my impression is that the writer of the dissertation was as much a participant in this group of females as much as an observer.. But she denies this, which does not make her ask the really hard questions to her observees...and she takes the observes comments as the starting point.....
To be honest there is some good stuff in it but only when she leaves the remit of her charges..,.
Jamaican women are mere asides in it a bit like the Zulu warriors in the film Zulu....
The writer also seemed confused as to my gender referring to me as the he /she in the third person.....come on... i am not a transsexual!
this re-stating of Wallie's positions. i thought the point/question in Wallie's post was more like, "why unu wont beleive me when me talk?", directed to the author of the dissertation.