so what about Usain shoes and kartel shoes?
what a ting ..no patois translators
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostIf shoes lean it means they are mashed up usually on the side.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by CeaBee View Postthey need smaddy that immersed in the culture. new slang....old words get new meaning and all them ting.
but i would still tek the jab and gwaan like me undastand everything tho
the job pays $30 an hourWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
A few years back i met ah patwa interpreter... wouldnt want the job.....
She told a story of a juggla who was too smart for scotland yard.... They had bugged his phone and they coulnt catch him.... He was on the phone to a idrin and said... mi get stap bya a bigga forde.....
Now she had just been brought in and she went over the tapes and pointed out he had been had been stopped by the police... that is the first and only time i have ever heard the police collectievely been reffered to as tge senior superitendent..... they use that stop which he talked him self out of to identify him for a murder....
The other thing in RM courts in Jamaica a lot of guys get off or lighter sentences when asked to plead they say Guilty wid explanation... this is an informality that is not available..she had to explain to the judge this was a informal thing in Jamaica...
Take for instance shoes.... as Rich D mentioned i have heard them refered to as irons, machine, bucky, barras, showers, rain, cutta, machete.... it is too changable to be proficent......
Originally posted by RichD View Postask you cousinspicked us up and dropped us at the airport. I asked him about straight/lean in the context of gay/straight. He has never heard of it. He did talk about the word "fish" used to describe someone gay and the fact that some Rastas now say swim around instead of fish as fish has the connotation of chi-chi.
So RichD, methinks you is making things up as you go along.
My patois comprehension is good enough for a $30 an hour freelance job....after all, that is not a lot of money, just pocket money or money to enrich savings plan.
I am practicing my patois translation skills here: