In the first quarter of 2014, renewable energy sources met a record 27 percent of the country’s electricity demand, thanks to additional installations and favorable weather. “Renewable generators produced 40.2 billion kilowatt-hours of electricity, up from 35.7 billion kilowatt-hours in the same period last year,” Bloomberg reported. Much of the country’s renewable energy growth has occurred in the past decade and, as a point of comparison, Germany’s 27 percent is double the approximately 13 percent of U.S. electricity supply powered by renewables as of November 2013.
E.P.A.(U.S.) Plans Stricter Limit for Sulfur in Gasoline=higher gas prices
In the first quarter of 2014, renewable energy sources met a record 27 percent of the country’s electricity demand, thanks to additional installations and favorable weather. “Renewable generators produced 40.2 billion kilowatt-hours of electricity, up from 35.7 billion kilowatt-hours in the same period last year,” Bloomberg reported. Much of the country’s renewable energy growth has occurred in the past decade and, as a point of comparison, Germany’s 27 percent is double the approximately 13 percent of U.S. electricity supply powered by renewables as of November 2013.If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Originally posted by Wahalla View PostRenewables 3% of Germany with 25% renewableby 2050 is the goal......there renewables are extremely subsidised...German hydrocarbon production is also heavily subsidised by the state..and German energy companies such as Wintershal and RWE are part of the German strategic energy policy with massive tax breaks to develop production......And renewable is defined to include nuclear...Since Fukushima the gol has shifted as they have removed nulear....
Price of petrol is seriously taxed in Germany to encourage conservation as it is in the rest of Europe....Germany lost the last war principally because it ran out of oil, and oil dictated its military strategy of both its north Africa adventure and the southern thrust during the invasion of Russia.........and its current policy is to ensure energy security.
... Thus Germany is dependant on energy from Russia which is why German reluctance to condemn Russia...
German attitude towards energy is identical to China and Japan.pragmatism, not morality........in fact co2 emissions in Germany went up the last two years...compare to the US which it has fallen....
The reason for German hike is because of its closure of its renewable energy source,....yesnuclear with a shift back to coal....while US has fallen because of the Fracking revolution a shift from coal.. And the shift to natural gas...also the cO2 associated with oil production has taken..due to BushJunior energy policy...which Obama has followed and expanded...
It is hard to explain tax breaks are nessesary to energy companies... But it takes 10 years to get a energy project producing....during that time the energy company will invest billions of dollars....energy company borrow this money from banks...if they don't get tax breaks they won't invest... No private money would invest if u sink three billion over a 10 year period without a return for a decade. No business can run on that paradigm...zero cash flow on any project for 10 years.......
Norway gives 75% tax back on all costs to oil companies.....yet its tax rate for its citizens is 45%....Norway which has the highest RBIt for oil companies of a mere 25%....knock off corporation tax that is 15%.….. So cost of money is 3% last time I tried to raise money'.
I don't work do business in the US....
So unno know wahalla is a not too smart..but I lived two decades without the benefit of electricity....and I want afordable electricity for all....at the moment renewables cannot compete with hydrocarbons....now even at 100 dollar oil.. Oil is cheaper than avian water... Think on that....If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Originally posted by kia027 View Posthttp://thinkprogress.org/climate/201...nergy-records/
In the first quarter of 2014, renewable energy sources met a record 27 percent of the country’s electricity demand, thanks to additional installations and favorable weather. “Renewable generators produced 40.2 billion kilowatt-hours of electricity, up from 35.7 billion kilowatt-hours in the same period last year,” Bloomberg reported. Much of the country’s renewable energy growth has occurred in the past decade and, as a point of comparison, Germany’s 27 percent is double the approximately 13 percent of U.S. electricity supply powered by renewables as of November 2013.
As distasteful as this may be given that the US is a 17 times the energy consumption as india and a emerging india demands more energy the main source wlll be hydrocarbons for the next 50 years for
renewables to compete the costs of hydrocarbons have to go back to 130dollar mark per barrel.... and the Saudis want to keep oil at round 100 dollars a bbarrel...So they swing production accordinly....
As distasteful as this may be given that the US is a 17 times the energy consumption as india and a emerging india demands more energy the main source wlll be hydrocarbons for the next 50 years for
renewables to compete the costs of hydrocarbons have to go back to 130dollar mark per barrel.... and the Saudis want to keep oil at round 100 dollars a bbarrel...So they swing production accordinly....
Many well know colleges were funded by wealthy industrialists and robber barrons, their very existence is in part do to industrialists.
Ask the average Chinese worker what life that they prefer, the life before China's rise as an industrialized nation, or the present day China with a much higher standard of living for the average Chinese.
As I said, there are trade offs...some need to be careful what they wish for.