oww oonnoo chase dem?
duppy qwestian
When I was in Jamaica recently, a cousin told me that when he was growing up duppies used to bother him, pull covers off him when he was trying to sleep and all kinds of things. He would see people living under my grandmother's house that no one else would see.
So my grandmother burned Frankincense and something else...I forget what else one other thing.....and that got rid of them.
First I heard that story.
Originally posted by blugiant View Postplease cum widd sum bible verses
Just checked....my Mom said it was also done in the country. She does not know what verse. The Bible was open to protect the baby from duppy from birth until it was christened.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostWhen I was in Jamaica recently, a cousin told me that when he was growing up duppies used to bother him, pull covers off him when he was trying to sleep and all kinds of things. He would see people living under my grandmother's house that no one else would see.
So my grandmother burned Frankincense and something else...I forget what else one other thing.....and that got rid of them.
First I heard that story.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostWhen I used to do home visits in West Kingston, there was a certain scripture that was open in the Bible on the bed above the baby's head to prevent duppy from troubling them. I don't recall what it was. Maybe some of the many boardites on here who told me they were raised in the ghetto would remember. Not sure if this is a Kingston thing or done all over the island.
Just checked....my Mom said it was also done in the country. She does not know what verse. The Bible was open to protect the baby from duppy from birth until it was christened.
plus clarendon awlso ave slave pitt wey dem choww latt aff enslaves peeps inna
I live about 45 minutes from Gettysburg, Pa. There were 50,000 casualties in 3 days of fighting during the Civil War in this town which is the size of a postage stamp (not literally). There are many sightings to this day of duppies and unexplained phenom. Most folks that live in Gettysburg are believers...I've walked the battlefields, strange feeling while doing same...hard to explain...wierd energy there I tell ya. Disbelievers may want to look at it at a scientific level.
Einstein — 'Energy cannot be created or destroyed, it can only be changed from
one form to another
E=mc2. Energy equals mass times the speed of light squared. The original statement is: If a body gives off the energy L in the form of radiation, its mass diminishes by L/c2.
The human body contains enormous quantities of energy. In fact, the average
adult has as much energy stored in fat as a one-ton battery.The human body contains enormous quantities of energy. In fact, the average adult has as much energy stored in fat as a one-ton battery. That energy fuels our everyday activities, but what if those actions could in turn run the electronic devices we rely on? Today, innovators around the world are banking on our potential to do just that.
[/QUOTE]
Never resided in JA Trops. BUT...I've spent well over a year there...spread out over many years. Mainly just outside of Mandeville and in the Steer Town areas. Also spent time in Kingston, St Mary, St Elizabeth, St James. I even 'did' Hanover a few times.
Used to play out a little with a small 'set' in Mandeville and St. Elizabeth. Easier to do so in Jamaica. People are WAY more particular about what they'll tolerate musically on the island. I used to attend the 'Rebel Salute' many a year until it moved over to St. Lizzy.
Sorry...forgot to answer your question. NO...I was never a teacher. Always worked radio, TV and spent most of my waking hours dealing with music of many shapes, sizes, styles and genres. I guess you could say I was a teacher of sorts when, as a radio station program director, I used to teach and guide new 'talents' regarding the nuances of broadcasting.
Oh...and...Lucy is really good...in spite of the man she's saddled with. Thanks for asking.Last edited by Reggae plus; 05-22-2014, 12:05 PM.