With all due respect...
Entitlement = cost to taxpayer=American citizen. The misconception is that the US is a bottomless pit of money for others to feed on.
Immigrants, both legal and illegal, do not drain the federal budget. It’s true that states and localities have to spend money to educate them when they are children, but, over the course of their lives, they pay more in taxes than they receive in benefits.
WE ARE BANKRUPT!
The way out is clear more immigrants......
Increased immigration would boost the U.S. economy. Immigrants are 30 percent more likely to start new businesses than native-born Americans, according to a research summary by Michael Greenstone and Adam Looney of The Hamilton Project. A quarter of new high-tech companies with more than $1 million in sales were also founded by the foreign-born http://www.nytimes.com/2013/02/01/opinion/brooks-the-easy-problem.html?_r=0
U.S. NATIONAL DEBT CLOCK
The Outstanding Public Debt as of 29 May 2014 at 02:39:12 PM GMT is:
$17,498,964,330,549.24
The estimated population of the United States is 318,314,061
so each citizen's share of this debt is $54,973.90.
The National Debt has continued to increase an average of
$2.37 billion per day since September 30, 2012!
There are many ways to debate immigration, but when it comes to economics, there isn’t much of a debate at all. Nearly all economists, of all political persuasions, agree that immigrants — those here legally or not — benefit the overall economy. “That is not controversial,” Heidi Shierholz, an economist at the Economic Policy Institute, told me. Shierholz also said that “there is a consensus that, on average, the incomes of families in this country are increased by a small, but clearly positive amount, because of immigration. http://www.nytimes.com/2013/02/17/ma...pagewanted=all
One of the tenets of capitalism is the supply of abundant cheap labor. Billionaires have long pressured the Republican party in the U.S. to open its borders so that this supply will replace more expensive labor. In some cases, such as what happened at the world's largest pork processing plant in North Carolina, companies actively encourage divisions among its employees along race and cultural lines.
Oh boy talk about being in denial but then I would expect no less from you.
Trust me I have been to hotels and fast food places in Canada and the USA. Other than some of the young people with part-time jobs, the Jamaicans I see working there in housekeeping, banquets, the kitchen, etc. are not educated.
Some hotels even bring in seasonal workers form Jamaica and Haiti. I bet they are paid less than Americans.
I travelled back to Canada with a group of farm workers. They weren't educated either but some of them were really bright. Had some great conversations. They were well dressed and REALLY well groomed.
The Brain Drain is real and it cost the the developing Nations a whole lot whilst the develop nations only benefit from it after all......do you think they US is going to let uneducated and or unskilled individuals migrate. You have to fulfill various requirements in order to emigrate to the US
Referring to a study done by the Planning Institute of Jamaica and Dr. Pauline Knight, which concluded that over 82 per cent of Jamaicans with tertiary level education, that were living and working in the United States in the 1990s were trained in Jamaica. http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...business5.html
One of the tenets of capitalism is the supply of abundant cheap labor. Billionaires have long pressured the Republican party in the U.S. to open its borders so that this supply will replace more expensive labor. In some cases, such as what happened at the world's largest pork processing plant in North Carolina, companies actively encourage divisions among its employees along race and cultural lines.
da joke iss dat republikkans ar more favorable to immigration dan demonkkrat inspite aff dem rhetoric
dat y dem republikkan squash obama immigration reform
As Gerald Lenoir explained, Black immigrants are being racially profiled to be locked up in immigrant detention the same way African Americans are being racially profiled for mass incarceration. Lenoir explained how federal policies such as using Immigrations and Customs Enforcement Holds (I.C.E. HOLDS) and “Secure Communities,” programs ramped up in the Obama age have caused the detention and deportation of over two million undocumented immigrants. Such numbers are unprecedented causing Obama to be deemed by immigrants rights activists as the “detainer and chief.”
The housekeepers, bus boys and the kitchen helpers?
There is no way that telemarketers and customer service workers don't speak well.
mii guess canada doan gitt dem cheap customer service call center fram indian sundinn peeps widd bad iinglish skill yet. juss wait
Lenoir explained that contrary to the notion that immigrants are simply coming to the United States seeking the American dream, a better analysis shows how American policies around globalization destabilize the economic opportunities for immigrants in their respective countries through tactics such as destroying domestic agricultural production in those countries. Lenoir emphasises that the same way the African American community lost jobs after the 60s Black Power era because of urban de-industrialization fostered by globalization and free trade agreements, the various poor countries where immigrants migrate from had their respective economies ravaged by those same policies. Therefore, BAJI understands the broader policy initiatives that are economically hurting Blacks in the United States and the immigrant community in their respective countries stem from the same problems caused by global capitalism.
“American policies around globalization destabilize the economic opportunities for immigrants in their respective countries.”
I specifically referred to Canad and the current immigration policy. I addressed legal immigration. as usual you are not interested in facts...your anecdotal experience overrides any realities
I know what I hear and what I see and you forget I used to work extensively in the Jamaican and Caribbean communities so I know of what I speak about the educational level of some of the immigrants....landed immigrants working in factories, housekeeping, fast food joints, and hotel kitchens.
african-americans & african-caribbeans live & work side by side & often inter-marry...
Yeah that's why Caribbean people have set up their own communities rather than living in African American communities. This is not saying that some don't inter-marry or live near each other but you do find pockets fo Caribbean people living apart.
mii guess canada doan gitt dem cheap customer service call center fram indian sundinn peeps widd bad iinglish skill yet. juss wait
Some call centres have outsourced to India but it didn't work out that well so they are again bringing the call centres home....this is not the same as immigrants. We are talking about immigrants not outsourcing to overseas workers.
On this one the lion's share of the blame belongs with the Jamaicans and other Caribbean people.
da ting iss da caribbean peeps ann blakk merikkans interact a latt soo dem more unified dan yuh tink cah dem share a commonalitee aff interests
Relentless forces, internal and external, seek to pit Black Americans and immigrants against one another. However, many immigrants are Black and subject to the same mass incarceration policies as African Americans.
Cynical anti-immigrant forces sometimes try to use the issue as a wedge to cause division between communities of color who all share the common enemies of racism and economic exploitation.
Some call centres have outsourced to India but it didn't work out that well so they are again bringing the call centres home....this is not the same as immigrants. We are talking about immigrants not outsourcing to overseas workers.
tropi iff yuh read da artikle yuh wood see dat de writa was linkinn immigration ann globalization. globalization oww wat appen inn wan place ave consequences inn annadda countree
In discussing the prospects of comprehensive immigration reform Lenoir stated that the last proposal which came out of the U.S. Senate was horrible. The proposals did not view immigration justice as a family based issue but a merit based issue. Moreover, the focus on reducing immigrants to temporary workers who could be recycled back in and out of the country violated the spirit of true immigration reform.
yuh see wear richd pint bout temporary worker natt immigrants cum inna da argument
Lenoir emphasises that the same way the African American community lost jobs after the 60s Black Power era because of urban de-industrialization fostered by globalization and free trade agreements, the various poor countries where immigrants migrate from had their respective economies ravaged by those same policies. Therefore, BAJI understands the broader policy initiatives that are economically hurting Blacks in the United States and the immigrant community in their respective countries stem from the same problems caused by global capitalism.
“American policies around globalization destabilize the economic opportunities for immigrants in their respective countries.”
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.