Re: ar mzungu jamaicans racist?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Diabolical_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Eventually, things did open up in the civil service and banking sector. However as late as the
1990s, I was SHOCKED to hear some older BLACK Jamaicans say that when they go into a bank in Jamaica and see all of the Black faces, they're <span style="font-weight: bold">frightened</span>. The people I heard say this were in their 90s at the time and it wasn't one or two, trust me. </div></div> what did they mean by that? did they think their fellow black people were a threat? </div></div>
I think the term frightened was taken out of context, I know we (where I grew up) use "frighten fi si" to mean surprised not scared or afraid.
as in "lawd Miss Masie mi frighten fi si di one Tropicana tannup inna church inna trowsis"
Tropicana fi a scandal di ole people soh...but mi positive yu going to stick to your interpretation
The quotes were ...
<span style="font-weight: bold">
"When mi go a bank and see all de black people a wuk deh mi frighten".</span>
Are you saying that I misunderstood what the elderly people were saying?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Diabolical_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Eventually, things did open up in the civil service and banking sector. However as late as the
1990s, I was SHOCKED to hear some older BLACK Jamaicans say that when they go into a bank in Jamaica and see all of the Black faces, they're <span style="font-weight: bold">frightened</span>. The people I heard say this were in their 90s at the time and it wasn't one or two, trust me. </div></div> what did they mean by that? did they think their fellow black people were a threat? </div></div>I think the term frightened was taken out of context, I know we (where I grew up) use "frighten fi si" to mean surprised not scared or afraid.
as in "lawd Miss Masie mi frighten fi si di one Tropicana tannup inna church inna trowsis"
Tropicana fi a scandal di ole people soh...but mi positive yu going to stick to your interpretation
</div></div>The quotes were ...
<span style="font-weight: bold">
"When mi go a bank and see all de black people a wuk deh mi frighten".</span>
Are you saying that I misunderstood what the elderly people were saying?
dem frighten (surprised/amazed) fi si black people working in the bank same way dem prolly frighten fi si a black man as President of the USA
and mi nevah did understand WAH gwan or wha mek dem ax de question.