mii affii bigg upp john mccain on oww imm runn imm campaign. awl de negatives racist strategy dat mii read de reepublikkan wanted fee use ann imm neva used dem. y oonnoo tink imm neva goo reallee negative ann racist?
mccain honorable campaign
Re: mccain honorable campaign
<span style="font-weight: bold">Blu... Thank you.... </span>.. I may not always agree with you but this time I u were spot on.....I thought too many people missed that aspect of it.. There was an oped peice on this in Newsweek 2 weeks ago by Farik...who pointed out that Mccain acted with honour and came under great pressure to do a willie horton.... I thought he picked Palin because he rather lose than have a republican victory based on horror... He once decribed Palin type views as idiotic...(BBC Reith lecture 2004)
If you recall there was a moment posted on here when a woman claimed in fromt of him that Obama was a terroist.. And I thought he recoiled in horror and I thought his voice was hurt.. He described I beleive Obama as a good man with whom he has difference of opnion as to how the country would be run...
What he did desvers kudos....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">true thing...very gracious concession speech </div></div> I havvent seen his speech...one of the things I like about Mcain was that he articulated an embrassment he felt at the 2000 debacle in Florida... He was clear that what happened was unacceptable.. Mccain for me until he ran brought in Palin as arunning mate was a bit like Willie Nelson.. Like alot of what he said, just dont like his friends....
<span style="font-size: 11pt">On the contrary,</span> McInsane ran a disgraceful, dangerous and dishonourable Campaign and paid the price for it. The fact that he vetoed some nasty stuff does not absolve him of all the nasty negative stuff that he allowed out of his Campaign.
Of course we know that this is kiss and make nice day, but he ran a very racist, negative ill thought of Campaign and his Veep pick showed exactly where his head lies.
I hope he dies a thousand deaths, hopefully this maybe the final time two grossly illiterate persons seek the highest office in the USA.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
hopefully this maybe the final time two grossly illiterate persons seek the highest office in the USA.
agree with dat,but with the popular vote so close it might not be
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
<span style="font-size: 11pt">On the contrary,</span> McInsane ran a disgraceful, dangerous and dishonourable Campaign and paid the price for it. The fact that he vetoed some nasty stuff does not absolve him of all the nasty negative stuff that he allowed out of his Campaign.
Of course we know that this is kiss and make nice day, but he ran a very racist, negative ill thought of Campaign and his Veep pick showed exactly where his head lies.</div></div>
I generally agree here. Mc<span style="font-style: italic">Cane</span> may have chosen not to go with the Willie Horton and all the Reverend Wright stuff, but I think it's because he knew that those attacks would invite attacks on him also - Keaton 5, his original sanction of the confederate flag on top of the state capitol in S. Carolina when he thought he needed the ignorant, racist vote (he later apologised for this stance after he lost that primary to W), and the fact that he left his crippled wife for a young 'ting' who had a ton of money.
Mc<span style="font-style: italic">Cane</span> used subtle racial codes to appeal to racists, and he pandered to the ignorance and bigotry of those whose votes he wanted to get - note the links to "shady characters" such as Bill Ayers, and last week, Rashid Khalidi, the distinguished Palestinian scholar at Columbia.
I think Mc<span style="font-style: italic">Cane</span> may be a decent man; he had the respect of a large cross-section of people, but after he locked up the nomination, his advisors convinced him that he needed the base in order to win. McCane decided to pander to this group - a segment of the republican party that feeds itself on intolerance, fear, bigotry, ignorance and stupidity. Their mascot in the last few days was a liar, a tax cheat, a fraud, an unlicenced plumber, and possibly a bigot. Intellectual dishonesty, stoking fear and playing to people's ignorance, are not the hallmarks of a honorable campaign.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Humano</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
I generally agree here. Mc<span style="font-style: italic">Cane</span> may have chosen not to go with the Willie Horton and all the Reverend Wright stuff, but I think it's because he knew that those attacks would invite attacks on him also - Keaton 5, his original sanction of the confederate flag on top of the state capitol in S. Carolina when he thought he needed the ignorant, racist vote (he later apologised for this stance after he lost that primary to W), and the fact that he left his crippled wife for a young 'ting' who had a ton of money.
Mc<span style="font-style: italic">Cane</span> used subtle racial codes to appeal to racists, and he pandered to the ignorance and bigotry of those whose votes he wanted to get - note the links to "shady characters" such as Bill Ayers, and last week, Rashid Khalidi, the distinguished Palestinian scholar at Columbia.
I think Mc<span style="font-style: italic">Cane</span> may be a decent man; he had the respect of a large cross-section of people, but after he locked up the nomination, his advisors convinced him that he needed the base in order to win. McCane decided to pander to this group - a segment of the republican party that feeds itself on intolerance, fear, bigotry, ignorance and stupidity. Their mascot in the last few days was a liar, a tax cheat, a fraud, an unlicenced plumber, and possibly a bigot. Intellectual dishonesty, stoking fear and playing to people's ignorance, are not the hallmarks of a honorable campaign. </div></div>
I totally agree I was the first to say he was not racist himself but he encouraged and benefited enormously from the racist and divisive tactics employed by his handlers.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">true thing...very gracious concession speech </div></div> I havvent seen his speech...one of the things I like about Mcain was that he articulated an embrassment he felt at the 2000 debacle in Florida... He was clear that what happened was unacceptable.. Mccain for me until he ran brought in Palin as arunning mate was a bit like Willie Nelson.. Like alot of what he said, just dont like his friends.... </div></div> palin wass wan aff imm majar mistake.
itt wass att palin rally cah shii wass appeallinn too mzungu racist wear yu heard a latt aff dem negative racist tings
mccain add de decencee fii sumwat rein inn mzungu racism palin didd natt
Of course we know that this is kiss and make nice day, but he ran a very racist, negative ill thought of Campaign and his Veep pick showed exactly where his head lies.
I hope he dies a thousand deaths, hopefully this maybe the final time two grossly illiterate persons seek the highest office in the USA.
a latt aff de negative came fram billaree ann mccain juss rehash de demoncrats owwn dissinn aff obama. diss campaign wass natt as negative as past campaigns
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If you recall there was a moment posted on here when a woman claimed in fromt of him that Obama was a terroist.. And I thought he recoiled in horror and I thought his voice was hurt.. He described I beleive Obama as a good man with whom he has difference of opnion as to how the country would be run...
What he did desvers kudos....</div></div>
Are you referring to the instance when that woman said she was afraid of Obama because he was an "Arab?" Notice how Mc<span style="font-style: italic">Cane</span> handled it: he told the woman that Obama was <span style="font-weight: bold">not</span> an Arab, but was a <span style="font-weight: bold">christian</span> and a decent man who loves this country but with whom he (McCane) disagreed. Notice how <span style="font-weight: bold">Arab</span> is contrasted with <span style="font-weight: bold">christianity</span>, <span style="font-weight: bold">decency</span> and <span style="font-weight: bold">patriotism</span>. I thought Colin Powell said it best when he said that Mc<span style="font-style: italic">Cane</span>'s answer was <span style="font-weight: bold">correct</span>, but the <span style="font-weight: bold">right</span> answer was "so what if he is Arab/Muslim? Is there something wrong with being (Arab/Muslim) in America?"
Right on Humano.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Humano</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If you recall there was a moment posted on here when a woman claimed in fromt of him that Obama was a terroist.. And I thought he recoiled in horror and I thought his voice was hurt.. He described I beleive Obama as a good man with whom he has difference of opnion as to how the country would be run...
What he did desvers kudos....</div></div>
Are you referring to the instance when that woman said she was afraid of Obama because he was an "Arab?" Notice how Mc<span style="font-style: italic">Cane</span> handled it: he told the woman that Obama was <span style="font-weight: bold">not</span> an Arab, but was a <span style="font-weight: bold">christian</span> and a decent man who loves this country but with whom he (McCane) disagreed. Notice how <span style="font-weight: bold">Arab</span> is contrasted with <span style="font-weight: bold">christianity</span>, <span style="font-weight: bold">decency</span> and <span style="font-weight: bold">patriotism</span>. I thought Colin Powell said it best when he said that Mc<span style="font-style: italic">Cane</span>'s answer was <span style="font-weight: bold">correct</span>, but the <span style="font-weight: bold">right</span> answer was "so what if he is Arab/Muslim? Is there something wrong with being (Arab/Muslim) in America?" </div></div>
<span style="font-weight: bold">but the right answer was "so what if he is Arab/Muslim? Is there something wrong with being (Arab/Muslim) in America?"</span>
one of my friends said the same thing - what does this say to Muslim or Arab kids born in the U.S.? That they can never aspire to be president of the U.S. because of their heritage?
It is naive to think that Obama's win means that racism will fade away. If anything, I think things will get worse before it gets better because this campaign has shown how deeply entrenched racism still is in the U.S. fabric of life.
exactly. he departed from what was considered as his <span style="font-weight: bold">norm</span> stooping to dutty cruffism and hooliganism. had he stuck to his initial plan and remained focus he might have had a chance. anyway lessons learned for him. mi wish him a relaxing retirement in Arizona or wherevah him live