I am new in this group, and may be you throw me out, after I say what I have to say...!- First time I came to Jamaica was fourty yrs ago...I saw the beach in Negril with coconut trees and almost no tourism! Just wonderful for visitors....but I also saw the harbor of Kingston, where young jamaican boys were asking the tourists to throw money into the water and they were diving after the money in the oily stinky water of the cruise boats! My father did the same...the first discussion I had with him!- 40 yrs later I came with my two sons as a tourist to Jamaica by the mistake of the travel agency! I wanted to spend an all-inclusive vacation in the Domenican Republic just to relax...so I went to Jamaica with my boys 7 yrs ago, and since then we are coming back again, together or me alone! Since then I had been in Jamaica at least 16-18 times! -I love Jamaica.....though it concerns me a lot what is going on in your country! I am a flight attendant of an international airline for 26 years, I have seen so many places in the world with richness and poverty, I have seen children in other places in the world dying in front of my eyes, I have seen african women, starved to death, not having milk in their breasts for their babies...there are problems in the world, and what I read here in the forum is for 80 % only about having sex! Sex....in any place in the world, you can have it at every corner! Sex is cheap, making love a different story! I personally think that this world is completely oversexed! - I had been to the International Tourism Fair in Berlin this year, I had played the role of somebody who had never been to Jamaica....do you want to know, how your country was presented...by three jamaica women not dressed properly to gain respect and they suggested me the " Hedonism" in Negril! That's how your country is looked at in the world! - And now let me tell you, because you probably don't know, another thing.....in no place in the world and I have seen a lot of countries, my favourite place is definetely Africa, I had never faced that much racism! Already when I come to Jamaica I am asked very funny questions, immigration treats me as a slut, I have to defend myself! -I want to go to a country where women are my sisters and do not treat me as an enemy! In Ghana, in Nigeria, in Ethopia, in Tansania, in kenia, in South Africa I have female friends....why this is not possible in Jamaica?- I had been physically attacked by a woman in Ocho Rios, because I did not wanted to have my thin hair folded....she attacked me with the worst words and I had tu run! - In Jamaica I found a couple of good friends who never asked me for money....I love them, that's the reason I am coming back! You have a wonderful island, and as I say, I love jamaica...jamaican woman, work on your self esteem, education is the key for liberation, work hard, don't look for sex, for love yes! Become an african woman again and loose the chaines of slavery threehundred yrs ago! You are worth it!
Jcans how u react to dis
Hard to say.....it reflects some ones opinion and experience....Originally posted by evanovitch View PostI am new in this group, and may be you throw me out, after I say what I have to say...!- First time I came to Jamaica was fourty yrs ago...I saw the beach in Negril with coconut trees and almost no tourism! Just wonderful for visitors....but I also saw the harbor of Kingston, where young jamaican boys were asking the tourists to throw money into the water and they were diving after the money in the oily stinky water of the cruise boats! My father did the same...the first discussion I had with him!- 40 yrs later I came with my two sons as a tourist to Jamaica by the mistake of the travel agency! I wanted to spend an all-inclusive vacation in the Domenican Republic just to relax...so I went to Jamaica with my boys 7 yrs ago, and since then we are coming back again, together or me alone! Since then I had been in Jamaica at least 16-18 times! -I love Jamaica.....though it concerns me a lot what is going on in your country! I am a flight attendant of an international airline for 26 years, I have seen so many places in the world with richness and poverty, I have seen children in other places in the world dying in front of my eyes, I have seen african women, starved to death, not having milk in their breasts for their babies...there are problems in the world, and what I read here in the forum is for 80 % only about having sex! Sex....in any place in the world, you can have it at every corner! Sex is cheap, making love a different story! I personally think that this world is completely oversexed! - I had been to the International Tourism Fair in Berlin this year, I had played the role of somebody who had never been to Jamaica....do you want to know, how your country was presented...by three jamaica women not dressed properly to gain respect and they suggested me the " Hedonism" in Negril! That's how your country is looked at in the world! - And now let me tell you, because you probably don't know, another thing.....in no place in the world and I have seen a lot of countries, my favourite place is definetely Africa, I had never faced that much racism! Already when I come to Jamaica I am asked very funny questions, immigration treats me as a slut, I have to defend myself! -I want to go to a country where women are my sisters and do not treat me as an enemy! In Ghana, in Nigeria, in Ethopia, in Tansania, in kenia, in South Africa I have female friends....why this is not possible in Jamaica?- I had been physically attacked by a woman in Ocho Rios, because I did not wanted to have my thin hair folded....she attacked me with the worst words and I had tu run! - In Jamaica I found a couple of good friends who never asked me for money....I love them, that's the reason I am coming back! You have a wonderful island, and as I say, I love jamaica...jamaican woman, work on your self esteem, education is the key for liberation, work hard, don't look for sex, for love yes! Become an african woman again and loose the chaines of slavery threehundred yrs ago! You are worth it!
Yes Jamaicans can be a forcefully....I remembers the touts downtown south parade - Jamaicans do not handle rejection well
The word Hedonism is a word connoting pleasure - sex is one of nature greatest pleasures....so it is appropriate if they are on the payroll of Hedonism for them to dress risque
80% sex is she talking about this forum?
Yes sex is cheap but then there is making love....not love but lovemaking - that is not cheap and cannot be bought
Whats love got to do with it???
No..... that's not how Jamaica is seeing in the World not with the likes of athletes like Bolt and Ganja smoking reggae artist like Bob.....scantly clad women are dime a dozen.
Like I said Jamaicans are forceful and when in a position of authority some can be downright rude - like immigration and police officers.
Rasta has led the fight for our Men and Woman to embrace their African self and has been a beacon of this all over the world, so your advise will find a fertile place in Jamaica.
but is Rastafari being spread or is it that wearing locs is the latest fad
as to how Ja is being seen, i concur…as a Jcan woman i have had to correct some notion that we r an island of sexual hookups….have had it happen to me recently…a German male winking at me once he realized i was Jcan n saying that he had crossed over, wink , wink, since his first trip to Ja
not saying that my one experience is empirical proof BUT it is noteworthy that a complete stranger THOUGHT it was okay to make that comment n that connection with Jamaica
i have addressed the complicity with JUTA drivers and certain shops etc in Jamaica..they transport u from the hotel n have the cheek to tell u where u should shop
i have addressed the issue with the Minister of Tourism , on his site, the advent of being chastised wen i chose not to have a complete stranger handle my locs….ongle wen i could return in like, that it was realized i was a Jcan…actually heard the warning said aloud dat leave har alone, is a yaadie n she no fraid
Ja IS being sold via tourism to the least common denominator…..quantity vs quality…how else do u explain the dearth of quality food, even liquor in the all inclusives that r twinned to the various carriers…even di I who don't drink notice the no name booze, the bland food n the stereotyped ' amusements'
bad enuff dat odders pushed this on us but we , seemingly , have embraced n internalized it as the norm
Is Not a matter of being spread cause Rasta do not proselytize or evangelize....but set an life style example - most people just emulate the hair. The fact is the effects of Rasta on the minds of people can only be ascertain in talking with them or getting to know themOriginally posted by evanovitch View Postbut is Rastafari being spread or is it that wearing locs is the latest fad
as to how Ja is being seen, i concur…as a Jcan woman i have had to correct some notion that we r an island of sexual hookups….have had it happen to me recently…a German male winking at me once he realized i was Jcan n saying that he had crossed over, wink , wink, since his first trip to Ja
not saying that my one experience is empirical proof BUT it is noteworthy that a complete stranger THOUGHT it was okay to make that comment n that connection with Jamaica
i have addressed the complicity with JUTA drivers and certain shops etc in Jamaica..they transport u from the hotel n have the cheek to tell u where u should shop
i have addressed the issue with the Minister of Tourism , on his site, the advent of being chastised wen i chose not to have a complete stranger handle my locs….ongle wen i could return in like, that it was realized i was a Jcan…actually heard the warning said aloud dat leave har alone, is a yaadie n she no fraid
Ja IS being sold via tourism to the least common denominator…..quantity vs quality…how else do u explain the dearth of quality food, even liquor in the all inclusives that r twinned to the various carriers…even di I who don't drink notice the no name booze, the bland food n the stereotyped ' amusements'
bad enuff dat odders pushed this on us but we , seemingly , have embraced n internalized it as the norm
Yes....de people dem gravalicious so dem wil gwaan a way.......hunger and poverty makes people behavior strange.
Those in Government in Ja inherited a colonial set up, some of which has not changed, as a result most in power have a foreign mind mentality towards their own land/country.
Rasta knows that in order for all this to change we as Jamaicans must first Accept our African self, once you love all aspects of who you are certain behavior flow out from you naturally - self respect = self esteem.Last edited by franksterr; 07-03-2014, 07:23 AM.