Word has it that huge layoffs are in the very near future. No one knows exactly who is going to get the axe so today a few of my fellow coworkers and myself said our goodbyes as we don't know when we will see each other again after the fact. We exchanged personal email addresses and phone numbers. There was hugs
and tears and some laughter too. Just a sad yet fitting end to those of us who may be getting the boot over the next few days/weeks.
Very Emotional Day at Work
Re: Very Emotional Day at Work
Publishing - Quality control/pre-press tech.
I did have my own wedding videography business up and running for a few years and have kept my finger in it just enough to keep it an ongoing operation as not to lose touch.It was a good part time gig at the time. Not sure if the recession will dampen the need for such a business in the near future.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Milo Man*</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Publishing - Quality control/pre-press tech.
I did have my own wedding videography business up and running for a few years and have kept my finger in it just enough to keep it an ongoing operation as not to lose touch.It was a good part time gig at the time. Not sure if the recession will dampen the need for such a business in the near future. </div></div>
Milo -people are always going to get married and always going to want to document it. I suggest you start cracking on getting out your brochures/flyers whatever and get that going (as well as dusting off your resume). Hand out your business cards with samples of your past work on there and get moving buddy. dont wait till dem tell yuh fi leff
better to have some photo/video gigs lined up from now.
Totally agree with Gen...Milo man, in that business you can't lose if you market yu self well. Good luck and remember when one door close anedda one open.
Mi granni use to sey only salvation las fi eva..and when and if it's time to move on, just mek sure you know where to and how you moving on.
Thanks for your kind words.
I sure notice the difference in our business, even as it compares to one month ago. We had many steady and regular national accounts including the big three car makers
. The only companies that seem to be still advertising in a big way are the cell phone carriers. I guess no matter how bad the economy gets people will always crave a cell.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Hang tight, Milo.
Thanks Monutaingal!!!
I look forward to the day when we can look back on these times and chat bout the bumps and bruises we may have suffered that only served to make us stronger in spirit.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Milo Man*</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Hang tight, Milo.
Thanks Monutaingal!!!
I look forward to the day when we can look back on these times and chat bout the bumps and bruises we may have suffered that only served to make us stronger in spirit. </div></div>
fi real bredren. its a survival time now.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Milo Man*</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Hang tight, Milo.
Thanks Monutaingal!!!
I look forward to the day when we can look back on these times and chat bout the bumps and bruises we may have suffered that only served to make us stronger in spirit. </div></div>
boy, a nuff a dem day mi have areddy enuh, lol, weh mi look back on hard times. probly have a few more bumps and bruises ahead - part of the human condition. anyway, you are right, hard times strengthen you, if they don't destroy you (thinking of that triple murder-suicide in Scarborough last couple days :sad: ).
Thanks Monutaingal!!!
<span style="font-weight: bold">I look forward to the day when we can look back on these times and chat bout the bumps and bruises we may have suffered that only served to make us stronger in spirit.</span> </div></div>
So true...
This is truly survival of the fittest!!! You have to take on the survivor mentality in all aspects of life. And know that this too shall pass.....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Milo Man*</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Hang tight, Milo.
Thanks Monutaingal!!!
boy, a nuff a dem day mi have areddy enuh, lol, weh mi look back on hard times. probly have a few more bumps and bruises ahead - part of the human condition. anyway, you are right, hard times strengthen you, if they don't destroy you (<span style="font-weight: bold">thinking of that triple murder-suicide in Scarborough last couple days :sad: ). </span></div></div>
....that was simply over finances. Sad indeed!!!
Y
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: sagal</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
....that was simply over finances. Sad indeed!!!
Y </div></div>
wait deh , the murder suicide mi hear pon di news is a "woie-is-me! Kill-wife-pickeney-and-dog, and-blam-inna-di-head" thing ??!