Re: What service(s) - exactly - do you expect......
It sounds like the wine was slightly "corked". . a one in 10 chance after 5 years with the chance increasing...
Proper procedure decant the bottle 20 minutes before drinking. then if it is really bad decant again... My mother taught me that in Jamaica! Yu duh deh same wid suga and wata when yu nuh want deh un dissolved suga fi tan a battam.... sophisticated yankis....that is standard practice for old wines, which may have sediment you lose uu pt 10 % of the bottle.. In Italy and Spain when we go to an old Resturant you called a head and they will decant the wine for you.... I however was struck bu the fact hat in wine drinking countries they make less of a fuss the showy sommilier is not nessisty......What we did in the past is take the last of the bottle to the lab.. put it through a high speed centrifudge at its lowest senting...
$75 dollar wine ??? Hell tuesday I enjoyed a 50 year old brandy...that was $100.00 a glass....(They bought out 25 year old brandy and me wid my big mouth guh sey mi only jink 50 year ole.. Deh waita guh ah im yard an bring back deh lass battle in deh wole af dat run!
waiters are an honarvble career. I think the anglo attitude to them stinks they are afford little respect adn are veiwed a simply automotons.... But the idea that some young minimum waged part time attractive student filling time has the gravitas to bring the service.... A queit word would have surficed... and twenty minutes later... bobs your uncle...
Having said that I find that conversing with the waitress is rather a pleasant method of relaxing them...
course Whichy will disagree with me... Yankis are always right, yardies could not possibly know anything. But my attitude is that alot of wine snmobbery is insecure affectation... But I hang out with Italians who drink wine on a daily basis ....
It sounds like the wine was slightly "corked". . a one in 10 chance after 5 years with the chance increasing...
Proper procedure decant the bottle 20 minutes before drinking. then if it is really bad decant again... My mother taught me that in Jamaica! Yu duh deh same wid suga and wata when yu nuh want deh un dissolved suga fi tan a battam.... sophisticated yankis....that is standard practice for old wines, which may have sediment you lose uu pt 10 % of the bottle.. In Italy and Spain when we go to an old Resturant you called a head and they will decant the wine for you.... I however was struck bu the fact hat in wine drinking countries they make less of a fuss the showy sommilier is not nessisty......What we did in the past is take the last of the bottle to the lab.. put it through a high speed centrifudge at its lowest senting...
$75 dollar wine ??? Hell tuesday I enjoyed a 50 year old brandy...that was $100.00 a glass....(They bought out 25 year old brandy and me wid my big mouth guh sey mi only jink 50 year ole.. Deh waita guh ah im yard an bring back deh lass battle in deh wole af dat run!
waiters are an honarvble career. I think the anglo attitude to them stinks they are afford little respect adn are veiwed a simply automotons.... But the idea that some young minimum waged part time attractive student filling time has the gravitas to bring the service.... A queit word would have surficed... and twenty minutes later... bobs your uncle...
Having said that I find that conversing with the waitress is rather a pleasant method of relaxing them...
course Whichy will disagree with me... Yankis are always right, yardies could not possibly know anything. But my attitude is that alot of wine snmobbery is insecure affectation... But I hang out with Italians who drink wine on a daily basis ....