One hundred and one.
That’s not Dalmatians but the number of stocks in the U.S. benchmark S&P 500 index now trading for less than $10 a share.
In fact, Reuters notes, $10 would get you 10 shares of online broker E*Trade, now the cheapest stock in the index at 98 cents a share. At the other end of this low-ball spectrum you can get a small slice of the garbage business with a share of Allied Waste at $9.90.
<span style="font-weight: bold">In between lies a raft of household names, many formerly held up as blue chips, including Citigroup ($6.40), Alcoa($8.16), Xerox ($5.58), Motorola ($3.44), Starbucks ($7.97) and Yahoo ($9.14), not to mention beleaguered automakers Ford Motor ($1.26) and General Motor ($2.79).</span>
In all, the group makes up the greatest number of sub-$10 stocks in the index in at least 28 years, Howard Silverblatt, senior index analyst at Standard & Poor’s, told Reuters. Mr. Silverblatt told the news service it could be the most in the post-World-War II era, though he cautioned that his data reaches only as far back as 1980.
depression
<span style="font-weight: bold">all mi can seh is</span>
That’s not Dalmatians but the number of stocks in the U.S. benchmark S&P 500 index now trading for less than $10 a share.
In fact, Reuters notes, $10 would get you 10 shares of online broker E*Trade, now the cheapest stock in the index at 98 cents a share. At the other end of this low-ball spectrum you can get a small slice of the garbage business with a share of Allied Waste at $9.90.
<span style="font-weight: bold">In between lies a raft of household names, many formerly held up as blue chips, including Citigroup ($6.40), Alcoa($8.16), Xerox ($5.58), Motorola ($3.44), Starbucks ($7.97) and Yahoo ($9.14), not to mention beleaguered automakers Ford Motor ($1.26) and General Motor ($2.79).</span>
In all, the group makes up the greatest number of sub-$10 stocks in the index in at least 28 years, Howard Silverblatt, senior index analyst at Standard & Poor’s, told Reuters. Mr. Silverblatt told the news service it could be the most in the post-World-War II era, though he cautioned that his data reaches only as far back as 1980.
depression
<span style="font-weight: bold">all mi can seh is</span>
to buy or not to buy is the question