Re: Haunted Caribbean, duppy stories from de islands @ 4pm today
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Boopie2</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> You'd be the first one bawling if these same spirits invaded your house. </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">dere is nat a ting dat [censored] mi aff as when the caribean is reffered to by the condisending yanki term "deh Islands"!
Why you pickn on us Yanks so much? Where do you live in Scotland? I'm gonna kill myself and spirit my way over as duppy and haunt you....airline ticket to much money..It's cheaper to kill myself.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: lonrwolf</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">dere is nat a ting dat [censored] mi aff as when the caribean is reffered to by the condisending yanki term "deh Islands"!
Why you pickn on us Yanks so much? Where do you live in Scotland? I'm gonna kill myself and spirit my way over as duppy and haunt you....airline ticket to much money..It's cheaper to kill myself. </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: B_P</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: lonrwolf</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">dere is nat a ting dat [censored] mi aff as when the caribean is reffered to by the condisending yanki term "deh Islands"!
Why you pickn on us Yanks so much? Where do you live in Scotland? I'm gonna kill myself and spirit my way over as duppy and haunt you....airline ticket to much money..It's cheaper to kill myself. </div></div>
Now that's a plan. </div></div>
Hey, what's wrong man, you don't like my plan? Give me your address I'll haunt you second....or maybe first if your on the flight plan.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: B_P</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: lonrwolf</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">dere is nat a ting dat [censored] mi aff as when the caribean is reffered to by the condisending yanki term "deh Islands"!
Now that's a plan. </div></div>
Enough duppy deh wey mi live.. Dere is about 5 in next village ova...Plus all the dead fram Colloden Moor and the Battle of Mons Grampius....One more trans atalntic duppy cyan frighten mi!
(Mi nah pick pan yanki.. mi like yanki... but as a Taino mi cyan eat a whole one by mi self!!!!!) How would do you like being associated as a simplistic collective witjh say Columbians. The distance between Texas and columbia is the less than the distance across the Caribean nations ?????
My problem is this gives the impression when relflected the other way that we would see the yankis as a metropole.. (As if Trinis would call the US the Mainland...)
The countries in the Caribean have a number of less condessending nomenclaturesas a whole::::: West Indies, Antilles, Caribbean. that is simple geography.. or we are different based on Language. French Speaking Caribean, Spanish Speaking Caribean, French speaking Caribbean.. or the Democratic Caribean, the dictatorial Caribean, or the Indpendent Caribean or the colonial Caribean (Puetro Rico, Guardelope, Cayman Islands)Greater Antilles, Lesser Antilles, Windward Islands as opposed to Leeward Islands...Oil producers.. Cuba and Trinidad...Members of Caricom ? Non Members of Caricom ?????
So when a yanki says Islands: does he meean the Bahamas ?Turk and Caicos Islands ? English Speaking, Non Oil exporting ? Or how bout the Islands off the Carolinas ? or Hawaii ???
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: B_P</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Blouse and skirt. Just call "The Islands", man. </div></div>
lack of cultural empathy is a characteristic of low inteligence!!!!!
Question is this a reason why deh Bajan lef yu ?????
yu nuh tink mi want fi celebrate both the abstract and the real cultural imperatives of our closest neighbours ???? The urge to lump all neighbouring nations into a single entity is a characteristic of the Xenophobic tendencies of great empires... The Persians, the romans, the British empire did this.. It is a simplistic attempt to develop a cognative sterotype.... The them and us... I am saying I am equal to a Bahamian or a Bajan but our history, language, poltics is different... I am for the diversity of a Tans CAribean experiment...
Now how many times yu all been told by some tourist of their experiences in Bequia as if that was a Jamaican experience ?????
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.