Did anyone read the Gleaner guest columnist, Karen Lloyd, article on sexual harassment in Jamaica. A snippet is below. Based on some of the comments to the article by Jamaican women it seems it is really bad. When I was growing up much of the harassment was verbal and occasionally you would see the physical. Ladies have you experience any of this while growing up or visiting Jamaica?
My vagina isn't public property
Karen Lloyd, GUEST COLUMNIST
Source: Gleaner
TWO Thursdays ago, I left the comfort of my home to do some business. As I stood by the roadside waiting for a chance to get across the street, a man drove by and squeezed my breast. In my shock and anger, I slapped him across the face, only to be greeted with his equally shocked, "My girl, yuh serious, eeh? A ramp mi a ramp wid yuh 'cause yuh body look so good!"
Presumably my body is a toy - which he has given himself authority to play with at his whim and fancy.
This incident is not an anomaly. I have had men rub my thigh while using public transportation, touch me inappropriately, and then curse at me when I voice my objections to their 'caress'. The list of painful experiences goes on ad nauseam.
This is not only a personal issue, it is a societal problem. The vast majority of Jamaican women are harassed daily on the street by men who believe they have some inherent right to women's bodies. All my female friends share similar experiences on a regular basis. It is quite common for us to use a substantial amount of the time we spend together voicing our frustration and disappointment in how draining and dangerous it is to simply get from Point A to Point B.
Read the rest of the article here
My vagina isn't public property
Karen Lloyd, GUEST COLUMNIST
Source: Gleaner
TWO Thursdays ago, I left the comfort of my home to do some business. As I stood by the roadside waiting for a chance to get across the street, a man drove by and squeezed my breast. In my shock and anger, I slapped him across the face, only to be greeted with his equally shocked, "My girl, yuh serious, eeh? A ramp mi a ramp wid yuh 'cause yuh body look so good!"
Presumably my body is a toy - which he has given himself authority to play with at his whim and fancy.
This incident is not an anomaly. I have had men rub my thigh while using public transportation, touch me inappropriately, and then curse at me when I voice my objections to their 'caress'. The list of painful experiences goes on ad nauseam.
This is not only a personal issue, it is a societal problem. The vast majority of Jamaican women are harassed daily on the street by men who believe they have some inherent right to women's bodies. All my female friends share similar experiences on a regular basis. It is quite common for us to use a substantial amount of the time we spend together voicing our frustration and disappointment in how draining and dangerous it is to simply get from Point A to Point B.
Read the rest of the article here