<span style="font-weight: bold">MTA Head Sander: Pilot Program To Begin In Spring, Hope Is To Cram 18 Percent More Passengers On Cars</span>
Many Wonder: Is Cash-Strapped NYC Transit Going Too Far?
Scott Rapoport NEW YORK (CBS) &#8213; Getting a seat on a New York City subway is not always easy during rush hour. But it will soon be impossible on some cars.
You're probably used to standing on a subway car anyway, but what if your subway car had no seats at all? You could find out soon. Hey... it's not like it's ever really easy to get a seat on the subway anyway.
"It's horrible," one commuter told CBS 2 HD. "It's horrible to get a seat."
But what about subway cars with no seats at all?
Behold what could be coming to your commuting future.
"Oh no, I don't think I would like that much," a commuter said.
Well, you may not have a choice. "Seat-less" subway cars are coming. <span style="font-weight: bold">The seats will be locked in the upright position during rush hour to squeeze in 18 percent more passengers.</span>
"I'm not in favor of cramming more people into the subway," another New Yorker said.
They're already trying this in Boston.
"Overcrowding remains," Metropolitan Transportation Authority Executive Director Elliot Sander said. "At least for NYC Transit, [this is] the single most challenging operational issue that we have."
As such, Sander says by late next spring the MTA will be rolling out a train where four of the 10 cars will have flipped up seats during rush hour as part of a pilot program to ease the overcrowding.
It's a program that some riders say they won't stand for.
"I'm 86 years old ... and what would happen to me if there are no seats?" one commuter said.
The idea comes at a time when the MTA is looking for fare increases and some say taking away seats is like paying more for less.
"In terms of the more for less ... we are working as hard as we can to improve our performance," Sander said.
If not their "standing" with commuters.
There is no word yet on which subway lines will be tested with the "seat-less" subway cars.
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/RCgxe_wS804"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/RCgxe_wS804" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
unu mek mi laaf.