Re: Sick of ignorant ,negative stereotypes about Jamaicans
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Marmac</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <span style="color: #FF0000"> </span> <span style="font-style: italic"><span style="font-weight: bold">I am a student in London and unfortunately there are a lot of ignorant people in the UK and I find that with England being extremely multiculural, there are a lot of cultures here who have a lot of negative stereotypical views about Jamaicans.The responses I get when I tell people I am Jamaican are so annoying.People who have never been to your country feel they know more about Jamaicans than you do. </span></span>
The following are some of the responses that I got from people in London when I told them I am Jamaican. All the responses were given by different people.
<span style="font-weight: bold">1) ' I would never guess you're Jamaican...I have two room mates who are Jamaican and they are loud and aggressive.' 'They are loud like the Nigerians' </span>.
Fortunately there was someone there who told the person that that was a misconception . I myself do not believe that all Nigerians are loud and aggressive,nor do I believe that all Nigerians are crooks.
<span style="font-weight: bold">2)'Are you sure you're Jamaican...you're different....,My hairdresser is Jamaican and she's loud.' </span>
My response was not all Jamaicans are loud and aggressive.The person then said ' Well 90% of Jamaicans are loud and aggressive'.
<span style="font-weight: bold">3)'You look too good to be a Jamaican... very aggressive,very aggressive people. I thought you were from Kenya' </span>
<span style="font-weight: bold">4) ' When you told me you are Jamaican,I said to myself you don't look like a Jamaican' </span>
<span style="font-weight: bold">5) ' I don't believe you are Jamaican' </span>
<span style="font-weight: bold">6) 'I thought Jamaicans are dark skinned' </span>
<span style="font-weight: bold">7)'Jamaicans that I have seen look big and tough' </span>
<span style="font-weight: bold">8) 'You don't look like you're from Kingston' </span>
<span style="font-weight: bold">9)' You don't look like a Jamaican'</span> This was a response I got from a Nigerian girl who looked on me, her face was contorted in confusion, like she was trying to solve the hardest possible of her life when I told her I am Jamaican.
<span style="font-weight: bold">10) 'In every country they are exceptions'</span>. This person stated this believing that well behaved and decent Jamaicans are the exceptions and are not the rule.
When people give these responses,I always try to defend my people and enlighten them.The question remains as to whether they believe you.
I hear you.
Yuh mussie buckup some real uncouth coarse and ruff folks who wuddah insult yuh lackah dat.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Marmac</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <span style="color: #FF0000"> </span> <span style="font-style: italic"><span style="font-weight: bold">I am a student in London and unfortunately there are a lot of ignorant people in the UK and I find that with England being extremely multiculural, there are a lot of cultures here who have a lot of negative stereotypical views about Jamaicans.The responses I get when I tell people I am Jamaican are so annoying.People who have never been to your country feel they know more about Jamaicans than you do. </span></span>
The following are some of the responses that I got from people in London when I told them I am Jamaican. All the responses were given by different people.
<span style="font-weight: bold">1) ' I would never guess you're Jamaican...I have two room mates who are Jamaican and they are loud and aggressive.' 'They are loud like the Nigerians' </span>.
Fortunately there was someone there who told the person that that was a misconception . I myself do not believe that all Nigerians are loud and aggressive,nor do I believe that all Nigerians are crooks.
<span style="font-weight: bold">2)'Are you sure you're Jamaican...you're different....,My hairdresser is Jamaican and she's loud.' </span>
My response was not all Jamaicans are loud and aggressive.The person then said ' Well 90% of Jamaicans are loud and aggressive'.
<span style="font-weight: bold">3)'You look too good to be a Jamaican... very aggressive,very aggressive people. I thought you were from Kenya' </span>
<span style="font-weight: bold">4) ' When you told me you are Jamaican,I said to myself you don't look like a Jamaican' </span>
<span style="font-weight: bold">5) ' I don't believe you are Jamaican' </span>
<span style="font-weight: bold">6) 'I thought Jamaicans are dark skinned' </span>
<span style="font-weight: bold">7)'Jamaicans that I have seen look big and tough' </span>
<span style="font-weight: bold">8) 'You don't look like you're from Kingston' </span>
<span style="font-weight: bold">9)' You don't look like a Jamaican'</span> This was a response I got from a Nigerian girl who looked on me, her face was contorted in confusion, like she was trying to solve the hardest possible of her life when I told her I am Jamaican.
<span style="font-weight: bold">10) 'In every country they are exceptions'</span>. This person stated this believing that well behaved and decent Jamaicans are the exceptions and are not the rule.
When people give these responses,I always try to defend my people and enlighten them.The question remains as to whether they believe you.
I hear you.
Yuh mussie buckup some real uncouth coarse and ruff folks who wuddah insult yuh lackah dat.