The B-Side that helped shape my musical tastes
Re: The B-Side that helped shape my musical tastes
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Milo Man*</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Sitting here drinking my Sunday morning coffee and enjoying the tune Derek. Thanks for posting! </div></div>
Slim Smith one of the best vocalist ever in Jamaica, is washington Garden him dead, man tump out glass and cut him hand after fight wid him woman. Bwoy gone but never forgotten. The amount of talent that come out of Duhaney Park and washington Garden is a shame. Another tragic one from the old corners Dennis Brown...rip
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kingston20</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Slim Smith one of the best vocalist ever in Jamaica, is washington Garden him dead, man tump out glass and cut him hand after fight wid him woman. Bwoy gone but never forgotten. The amount of talent that come out of Duhaney Park and washington Garden is a shame. </div></div>
I read somewhere that during the talent contests, Slim Smith was asked to sing 'not so good,' to give others, such as The Wailers, a chance to get some recognition.
Is that true?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kingston20</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Slim Smith one of the best vocalist ever in Jamaica, is washington Garden him dead, man tump out glass and cut him hand after fight wid him woman. Bwoy gone but never forgotten. The amount of talent that come out of Duhaney Park and washington Garden is a shame. </div></div>
I read somewhere that during the talent contests, Slim Smith was asked to sing 'not so good,' to give others, such as The Wailers, a chance to get some recognition.
Is that true? </div></div>
Slim dead bout 1973 so it would have been possible, as dem seh in Jamaica if a noh soh, a close to soh. You see Derek, Slim was one of these Jamaicans whose head could not take the herbs, mi noh know why some people can smoke it and is not a big deal and others one puff and it mad dem.
Sharpest dressed man that back in the day still. Plus he hung around Lee Perry studio in Washington Gardens, so did the Wailers... they would have crossed path jamaica too likkle.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kingston20</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kingston20</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Slim Smith one of the best vocalist ever in Jamaica, is washington Garden him dead, man tump out glass and cut him hand after fight wid him woman. Bwoy gone but never forgotten. The amount of talent that come out of Duhaney Park and washington Garden is a shame. </div></div>
Slim dead bout 1973 so it would have been possible, as dem seh in Jamaica if a noh soh, a close to soh. You see Derek, Slim was one of these Jamaicans whose head could not take the herbs, mi noh know why some people can smoke it and is not a big deal and others one puff and it mad dem.
Sharpest dressed man that back in the day still. Plus he hung around Lee Perry studio in Washington Gardens, so did the Wailers... they would have crossed path jamaica too likkle. </div></div>
You have to take into consideration how beautiful his voice still was, despite the low-tech microphones and recording equipment!
How did he actually die?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kingston20</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Originally posted by Kingston20Slim Smith one of the best vocalist ever in Jamaica, is washington Garden him dead, man tump out glass and cut him hand after fight wid him woman. Bwoy gone but never forgotten. The amount of talent that come out of Duhaney Park and washington Garden is a shame. </div></div>
Sharpest dressed man that back in the day still. Plus he hung around Lee Perry studio in Washington Gardens, so did the Wailers... they would have crossed path jamaica too likkle. </div></div>
You have to take into consideration how beautiful his voice still was, despite the low-tech microphones and recording equipment!
How did he actually die?
1) Slim mad with him woman and punch out the glass door in anger cut him hand and bleed to death
2) Try to break into his parents house, cut him hand on the glass window and bled to death
3) high on the herbs and one year from him stint in Bellvue mental hospital, he was depressed and he commited suicide by punching throught the glass.
I believe 1. most accurate, cause is what people in Wasington Garden always talk bout when dem mention him name. But he did spend time in a mental hospital so 3 could be plausible too.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> From Mum and Dad's Collection
what a voice<span style="font-style: italic">born to love you</span>
One of the greatest vocalists ever to come out of Jamaica, from to the Techniques to the Uniques. His covers of Curtis Mayfield and the Impressions songs are classics
I got nuff Slim tunes, but I don't have a clue how to post them
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: uswe</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I got nuff Slim tunes, but I don't have a clue how to post them</div></div>
A few of them are on YouTube. Just highlight the URL, copy and paste
lissen or download here --->> Slim Smith - Everybody Needs Love ALBW
<span style="font-style: italic">TRACK LIST:
01. Everybody Needs Love
02. I've Been Terrorised
03. A Place In The Sun
04. Never Let Me Go
05. Slip Away